Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 07:11 PM   #1
Coach McGuirk
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 228
Posts: 409
Sea of Red in my console?

well, I'm tired of checking my console and seeing stuff is missing, or not loading, or is unable to load an effect, so does anyone know how to fix this? I'll paste some examples.


-Cannot update control point 6 for effect 'cig_smoke'.
-Cannot update control point 11 for effect 'doublejump_puff'.
-Cannot update control point 2 for effect 'medicgun_beam_red'.
-Model '(null)' doesn't have attachment 'backblast' to attach particle system 'rocketbackblast' to.
-Cannot update control point 2 for effect 'medicgun_invulnstatus_fullcharge_red'.
Coach McGuirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:29 PM   #2
CloudCover
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 76
Posts: 957
Yep, I get some error about not being able to load "rocketbackblast," whatever that is.

Yes, I am a good little TF2er and always validate my files whenever I have problems.
CloudCover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:32 PM   #3
AznBoiZ
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 21
Posts: 522
well it is pretty common now since the other TF2 updates broke the particles stuff
AznBoiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:32 PM   #4
Yeow
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 17
Posts: 206
I get so many of these, I don't think I could even begin to keep a log of them.
Yeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:13 AM   #5
Automaton458
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 80
Posts: 505
I have these red messages too when I'm playing.
And since a recent update, I've also got this message when starting TF2:
ERROR Memory corruption: CDmxElement::UnpackIntoStructure memcpy buffer overrun!
Automaton458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:44 AM   #6
Cronieock
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 269
Posts: 1,305
The consoles shall run red with blood.
Cronieock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:31 AM   #7
kara_bulut
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 792
Posts: 7,358
Well this is common with Source engine games.

Everything is fine by me as long as I get a playable frame rate.
kara_bulut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:34 AM   #8
R2SS
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 130
Posts: 860
AFAIK its the particles that get messed up in every update. I've long known this sea of red, I consider it a friend to me at this point.
R2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:49 AM   #9
Bat_Tom
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 102
Posts: 425
This kind of thing only really happens to me on pure servers, like MGE or something.

D'you have custom textures or altered kill icons or something? It could be that the servers you're on aren't letting you load them.
Bat_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:36 PM   #10
Hartisen
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 458
Posts: 3,598
Is there a way to turn off error messages?
Hartisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:51 AM   #11
Davjo #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Reputation: 422
Posts: 1,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartisen View Post
Is there a way to turn off error messages?
le necro

Also, I don't think so.
Davjo #2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:52 AM   #12
Danikah
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 322
Posts: 1,013
Try parting it.
Danikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:55 AM   #13
ToastTheMoast
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Reputation: 283
Posts: 902
I get this so much I can't select a spam from HLDJ, and considering I'm forced to validate TF2 every time there's really no excuse.
ToastTheMoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:15 PM   #14
Hartisen
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 458
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davjo #2 View Post
le necro

Also, I don't think so.
Guess I'll also quote a post to get +1 postcount.

Oh, "le" postcount.

Last edited by Hartisen: 03-17-2013 at 03:45 PM.
Hartisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:17 PM   #15
Alexander Bell
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1328
Posts: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davjo #2 View Post
le necro

Also, I don't think so.
A few days isn't a necro.
Alexander Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.