Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2 > Server Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2013, 01:36 AM   #1
fastgiga
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Question Can't update server

Hey,
I'am running a tf2 server on a dedi machine for a coule of years now. Normaly i update the server vie a bat file:

Code:
HldsUpdateTool.exe -command update -game tf -dir "C:\Server\TF2" -verify_all -retry
pause
Just like this time a promising message apears at the end:
Quote:
HLDS installation up to date
Now I restart the server via another bat file:
Code:
orangebox\srcds.exe -console -game tf -port 27015 +map koth_nucleus
But it says:
Quote:
Your Server is out of date. Please update and restart.
Whats wrong? what more can I do? I tried it once with seDirector but thats not working either. Is it the fault of any plugin? I dont think so...

I've talked to some other guys (tf2lobby, etc. ) and some have the same problem, but noone has a solution.

Thx for your help in advance,
fastgiga
fastgiga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:42 AM   #2
Blah91
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 42
I have same problem and I'm running srcds under linux.
Blah91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:04 AM   #3
urcadox
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Same problem for me.
Server received the first "MasterRequestRestart" at 2013-05-13 22:32:27 CEST
It restarted on map change at 22:46:45 CEST with "No files will be downloaded" for each depot.
And again at 23:36:45 CEST
And again at 2013-05-14 04:00:00 CEST (scheduled restart every night)

I tried once more just now, still nothing downloaded, still getting requests to restart.

Srcds running on Linux (Archlinux, kernel 3.0.x lts)
urcadox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:13 AM   #4
Blah91
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 42
Problem solved: I changed TF installion to steampipe.

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/SteamCMD
Use anonymous as login and appid 232250 to install TF2 dedi
Blah91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:39 AM   #5
urcadox
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
So I tried using SteamCMD, I get the same error using either anonymous login or my account:

Code:
Steam>login urcadox

Logging in user 'urcadox' to Steam Public...
password: ***********************
Login Failure: Account Logon Denied 

This computer has not been authenticated for your account using Steam Guard.
Please check your email for the message from Steam, and enter the Steam Guard
 code from that message.
You can also enter this code at any time using 'set_steam_guard_code'
 at the console.
Steam Guard code:*****
Success.

Steam>force_install_dir ./tf/

Steam>app_update 232250 validate
ERROR! Failed to request AppInfo update, not online or not logged in to Steam.
Btw, visible passwords in console doesn't feel really good. :/


EDIT: Hmph, it worked with anonymous login without specifying the directory
EDIT2: It worked but as far as I know it downloaded it into /dev/null, no trace anywhere. Anyway, tried again with force_install_dir with an absolute path and it's working

Last edited by urcadox: 05-14-2013 at 03:52 AM. Reason: update situation
urcadox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:17 AM   #6
| paperface |
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 70
Thank you for the info Blah91. It worked a treat
| paperface | is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 06:15 AM   #7
fastgiga
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
steamcmd doesn't work for me.

I tried to install tf2 dedi server in a new folder, but when i try to start it several errors occurs, among them:
Quote:
failed to load file public/steambootstrapper_english.txt

failed to load file public/steambootstrapper_german.txt

steam needs to be online to update but was set to offline mode.

failed to load steam.dll
I'm pretty sure the reason for this is the arma3alpha server which needs steam to be in offline mode.

So...how can i run a tf2 server via steamcmd if i have an arma3alpha server running at the same time.

Yesterday it was no problem....nice1 steampipe
fastgiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:19 AM   #8
Blah91
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by urcadox View Post
So I tried using SteamCMD, I get the same error using either anonymous login or my account:

Code:
Steam>login urcadox

Logging in user 'urcadox' to Steam Public...
password: ***********************
Login Failure: Account Logon Denied 

This computer has not been authenticated for your account using Steam Guard.
Please check your email for the message from Steam, and enter the Steam Guard
 code from that message.
You can also enter this code at any time using 'set_steam_guard_code'
 at the console.
Steam Guard code:*****
Success.

Steam>force_install_dir ./tf/

Steam>app_update 232250 validate
ERROR! Failed to request AppInfo update, not online or not logged in to Steam.
Btw, visible passwords in console doesn't feel really good. :/


EDIT: Hmph, it worked with anonymous login without specifying the directory
EDIT2: It worked but as far as I know it downloaded it into /dev/null, no trace anywhere. Anyway, tried again with force_install_dir with an absolute path and it's working
I had same problem at first, but then I opened ports from ufw and used the following command to update:
Code:
./steamcmd.sh +login anonymous +force_install_dir ./tf +app_update 232250 validate +quit
Blah91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 01:22 PM   #9
aaronhatton
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Exclamation Your server is out of date. Please update and restart.

I have tried to update using the new steamcmd and it still does not work, it says the following

'Success! App '232250' already up to date.

However when starting the server all I get is:

Your server is out of date. Please update and restart.

Any suggestions? Running TCAdmin on Windows Srv 2k8 R2
aaronhatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:04 PM   #10
spooncane
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 47
There are some reported SteamCMD issues of servers not updating. Valve is looking into this.

Via HLDS mailing list.
spooncane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:16 PM   #11
Filarius
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
I just updated my local server from SteamCMD for Team Fortress 2
Quote:
GetServer.bat
steamcmd +login anonymous +force_install_dir c:\server +app_update 232250 validate +quit
Server is starting but I can`t connect to it with old settings
Filarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:45 AM   #12
Hariyt
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
I have the same problem as above, used to use HLDS to update my server but seems that no longer works so I tried the SteamCMD.

I followed all the instructions, and then tried to reboot my server again using the same batch file I used to start the server when I used HLDS but it says that my server is out of date still?

This is the steamCMD batch file I used:

Code:
steamcmd +login anonymous +force_install_dir C:\HLServer\orangebox\tf\ +app_update 232250 validate +quit
Any help or updates on what to do?
Hariyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 01:29 PM   #13
UKCS-Alias
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 341
Posts: 3,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronhatton View Post
I have tried to update using the new steamcmd and it still does not work, it says the following

'Success! App '232250' already up to date.

However when starting the server all I get is:

Your server is out of date. Please update and restart.

Any suggestions? Running TCAdmin on Windows Srv 2k8 R2
Same situation, running windows 7.

Combined with the map compiles being broken (im aware of the workarround) its highly anoying.
UKCS-Alias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 02:09 PM   #14
Hariyt
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKCS-Alias View Post
Same situation, running windows 7.

Combined with the map compiles being broken (im aware of the workarround) its highly anoying.
+1 Same Problem
Hariyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:03 PM   #15
spooncane
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 47
There is NO WAY to update the HLDS servers to SteamPipe.

All Steampipe servers must be installed to a new folder and then re-install all you addons.

HLDS is DEAD.
spooncane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2 > Server Feedback


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.