Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Linux)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2012, 09:26 PM   #1
R3DSH4RK
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Cstrike server works but TF2 dose not.

So I've become very frustrated trying to get my Team fortress 2 dedicated server to get running. It ran fine for 2 days and then suddenly stopped functioning.
The situation is as such, i start up the server and it may be up for a minute but then go offline, Sometimes my friends can connect then the issue is if i connect then the server goes offline, but most of the time the server doesn't even show up on favorites or any searches. All of the ports are forwarded and i'm fairly sure I've got my server.cfg correctly set up.

The kicker in all of this is that my cstrike server runs just fine and people can connect to it easily.

-os
Ubuntu Release 10.04 (lucid)

-hardware
4GB DDR2 RAM
AMD Athalon 64X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+
500 GB HD

-connection
ethernet (1000mb/s)

-Current ports
27000 - 27041 UDP/TCP (i ported all of them, it was the only way to get the server to show the few times it has shown)

-router
Type: Belkin N+ F5D8235-4 v2000
Firmware: 2.01.07

-ISP
Comcast

-plugins
Mani Admin Plugin
Dos attack Fix

Thank you for your time
R3DSH4RK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
M33CROB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 213
Posts: 1,096
You have too many ports open. SRCDS uses:

UDP 27015 - all game traffic, server requests.
TCP 27015 - used for rcon, such as with SourceBans.
UDP 27020 - sourcetv (if enabled). Use "-nohltv" in command line to disable.

UDP 27005 - This is OUTGOING traffic to clients and usually DOES NOT require you to open it in your firewall or router.

If your server is crashing after only a few moments, this is going to be an issue with a server mod, or corrupt files. First thing to do is to disable your addons. You can do this be renaming the addons folder, deleting the addons folder, or renaming/deleting the .vdf file in your addons folder. If you server starts correctly with addons disabled, please check the appropriate resource for updates to your addon.

If disabling your addons doesn't work, try updating your server AFTER deleting the install_record.blob file. If you are still having issues at this point, check your command line as you may be missing required options or have invalid entries. If your server crashes only after someone connects, and that person dies, this is an issue with the map not have observer points installed. This can be fixed with: https://www.sourcemod.net/showthread.php?t=81609
M33CROB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:26 PM   #3
R3DSH4RK
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
So i changed it to only have the ports you mentioned forwarded, and i disabled my addons.

The issue still happens-

I turn on the server,
Friends connect to the server,
Everything is fine until i connect to the server.

once i connect to the server it causes everyone else to time out :/

The issue now happens with css as well.

The dedicated server is not running on the same machine (dunno if that matters)
R3DSH4RK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:41 AM   #4
M33CROB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 213
Posts: 1,096
I think this will help... https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...6370-QPHJ-3567
M33CROB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:06 AM   #5
R3DSH4RK
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
So even after changing my clients port it still crashes the server when i log in :/
R3DSH4RK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:48 PM   #6
R3DSH4RK
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
So I can run nuclear dawn dedicated server and everyone can connect including myself and it runs fine.


but when i try to run any other game now including css everyone can connect, unless i try to connect and it causes everyone to time out.

I've altered my client port,
everything is up to date.
I've forwarded the proper ports and still i cant get it to work.

If anyone has an idea on how to fix this it would be great,
but it just seems i cant be on the local network of my dedicated server.
R3DSH4RK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Linux)


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.