Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Quantum of Solace

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2011, 03:26 AM   #1
Jaheebus
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 92
Posts: 1,183
Is it just me?

I've got everything on max settings and playing at 1920x1080, it runs at a solid 30 FPS (since that's the cap?) but...Every now and again it freezes for a split second then goes back to normal. Anyone else having this? it's not a problem, doesn't make the game unplayable but it does get annoying after a while, especially halfway through the game and you've stuttered on every level up to that point. It happens like 5 times in a level?


Is it the checkpoint saving doing this? Because F.E.A.R freezes for a second when saving a checkpoint.
Jaheebus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 03:44 AM   #2
uzobar
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I would assume it is because of the saving at the checkpoints. I have the same problem as you and only when the game saves at a checkpoint. Apart from that, the game runs smoothly
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 05:04 AM   #3
Zefar
 
Zefar's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 4310
Posts: 28,121
Same here, check points cause a small freeze even with a rather powerful PC.

So you're not alone on this. Luckily it usually happens after you're done with a battle. If you happen to die reloading doesn't take long at all.

__________________
Information on VAC and our Steam forum rules. Please follow the rules, it ain't hard.
Zefar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 05:07 AM   #4
lonewolfdon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 328
Posts: 3,101
Same here, but it doesn't happen too often and doesn't really interfere with the gameplay for me. I think it also happens sometimes when the game is busy loading in a new area/scenery/etc.. into memory as you transition from one area to another.
lonewolfdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:13 AM   #5
Yeowj
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 23
Posts: 663
Have the same problem with a quad core and Windows 7 x64. I imagine it's because the saves are so frequent. I find that after I die, I'm pretty much returned to just a few moments before I died, often where I was <30 secs ago.
Yeowj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 12:20 PM   #6
Jaheebus
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 92
Posts: 1,183
Alright, that's good then thanks guys&girls for the replies.
Jaheebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 04:24 PM   #7
Etherfast
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 325
Posts: 1,346
Hah, lucky I found this thread, I thought there was a problem with my computer.

Happens the same, I think I'll just try to ignore it.
Hopefully it won't get annoying once I advance through the story.
Etherfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 02:32 PM   #8
AlistairLock
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 11
Posts: 35
I think it also happens when it's loading the AI that are just about to jump out and shoot at you. It's a glitch, but also a useful warning.
AlistairLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 08:14 AM   #9
TheLastMikey
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I also get this but I never used to get this problem half a year back when I had it installed the first time I had no issuies with it and it ran smooth throughout.

Since reinstalling it now freezes for a second while saving checkpoints, terribly annoying when your taking aim at somebody then a cheackpoint hits so you miss the shot comepletely (Opera mission guy next to the container you need to drop down to walk accrosed for example)

I'm wondering if this is an issuie caused by a possible patch that I didn't know about due to not having it installed for a long time
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 01:38 PM   #10
Albinon01
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 74
Same here by the way it looks horrible for a 3A game.
Albinon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 12:22 PM   #11
BattleAxe_604
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 128
Posts: 254
This happens to me also. Like most of you, I think it has something to do with checkpoints, but it happens a bit more than just on checkpoints. It was happening to me alot on the train level.

This game isn't bad, but the cover system is a bit sticky, and while the graphics aren't bad, CoD4 and CoD: WaW still look alot better when comparing these games which came out around the same time period using the same graphics engine. Rainbow Six Vegas 1 & 2 did the cover system a bit better IMO.
BattleAxe_604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Quantum of Solace


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.