Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Saints Row 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2013, 01:18 PM   #226
DoubleD
 
DoubleD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 7539
Posts: 32,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheThreeLaws View Post
So every time I finish the tutorial mission it immediately crashes. I've installed Gentlemen of the Row. Any advice? I went ahead and am playing SR3, but I'd like to play 2.
Have you also asked in the discussion area? You may have better luck with help there.

__________________
Tripping the Light Fantastic


Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can't Lose..
DoubleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:14 PM   #227
Cunin
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 191
Posts: 1,316
Hi idolninja, and thanks for the faq, that's a big work.

I just wanted to add something that is already known in other places, and may be included in this faq.
In the section "Why is the game crashing when I start a new game?", you should add "Try to disconnect one USB device at a time, especially gamepads, until the game finally works", or something along those lines.
I had that problem just today, and spent an hour finding out what was causing it, and it was my gamepad. Disconnected it (I like to play SR with mouse+keyboard anyway) and now the game works.
Cunin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:38 AM   #228
Mr.Gore
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Cool custom patch issues

I was trying to build my own custom patch. When I selected everything I wanted, I hit "P" like it said to in the readme file -- there was nothing in the custom patch folder.
Mr.Gore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 02:56 PM   #229
truckbark
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Reputation: 4
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by IdolNinja View Post
Is there a fix for Saints Row 2 crashing on startup?

[...]

* You can download a windowed 800x600 settings.dat here:
http://idolninja.saintsrowmods.com/s...t_windowed.rar
Often, SR2 crashes fullscreen, and needs to be run windowed first. After the first time run successfully, you should be able to switch it back to fullscreen in the video options without an issue.
Wow, what an oversight. Valve could just throw a settings.dat like that in with the game download/install because from a clean install there is no settings file and the game just crashes to desktop.
truckbark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 08:03 AM   #230
Minimaul
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by IdolNinja View Post
How can I fix Saints Row 2 running too fast at 1.5x speed?

IMPORTANT! Many players have reported that the speedup bug is now fixed with Windows 8, and Minimaul confirmed it as well on his test box! DO NOT USE POWERTOOLS OR CHEAT ENGINE IF YOU HAVE WINDOWS 8!
This has been discussed elsewhere, but it's not quite right. Some machines now operate much better with SR2 on Windows 8 but there are still bugs in the way the game handles timing - bugs that are very difficult to fix/work around.
Minimaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Saints Row 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2015, All Rights Reserved.