Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > UFO: Afterlight

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2010, 06:06 PM   #1
horrid74
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 25
sizing/resolution issue

I downloaded Afterlight a day or two ago and encountered a problem with the display on my notebook. The default graphic setting is 800x600 so when I open the program the display is cropped cutting access to the lower part of the screen and not utilizing the right hand side of my monitor; I can see my desktop. As far as I can tell the function of the program (parts viewable) is normal. In the options screen I can change the resolution but can't OK my changes because I can't get at the button off my monitor.

I've checked around the web for solutions but the forums at the ufo:al are down and the graphic fix briefly suggested on their support page assumes I can open the program in a window and scroll the screen to get at the button. If I was running XP I think I could but my current system runs win7 and is so "helpful" it won't allow me to do much of anything. Compounding this is my lack of familiarity with steam file configs. If anyone would share a workaround so I could launch the program in a window or change the default display in the exe. file or really easy provide me with a saved game file with higher resolution settings effected that would be great. There was one poster at strategy core who had the same problem but nobody there had replied. Any suggestions/ assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
horrid74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 11:34 AM   #2
horrid74
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 25
last night I sorted it out

The win7 OS must be making me stupider (that's not a word). It took me a while to remember playing with dos setups to make the second fix a go;
Quote:
change the default display in the exe. file
What I should have said was .cfg file. If you are having the same problem I was go into afterlight/profiles and open the options .cfg file with wordpad. The command line;
Quote:
GKEY 12 "fullscreen" BOOL TRUE
needs a tweak. Just type false in place of true, save, then open the program and you should be able to scroll down inside the window the program opened in and adjust those elusive settings.
horrid74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:31 AM   #3
TempestArcher
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
This was a big help! I was having the same problem and despaired of every finding the solution, but it works now!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:50 PM   #4
poopdeck_pete
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I can't tell you how much headache you just kept from being in vain. Consider this a digital high five
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 12:02 PM   #5
kjenny4265
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
ufo afterlight

I have the same thing as above!! I dont know how to get into ufo files to change graphics, when I run game then I can only access top half of screen and so cant ok any changes as the ok tile is in bottom half that I can't see!!!!
kjenny4265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 12:51 AM   #6
revolverXD
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
in my computer it's located in:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\ufo afterlight\Profiles
running win 7
revolverXD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 08:07 AM   #7
Threesixtyci
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 265
Posts: 2,879
What I did was put -H 640 in the startup options for the game. Doing that allowed me to select Okay for Options, which allowed me to select 1600X900 and select the 16:9 option, and okay it.

Then I went back into the startup options and removed the -H 640 text that I added.

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...1040-JWMT-2947

But your way looks to be a better solution, in that it's likely a more permanent thing. Where as my way, you'd have to do the above again if the game ever crops the bottom again. Which will likely happen if you change the option resolution settings back to 4:3 mode.
Threesixtyci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:52 PM   #8
Vera Lynn
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 21
Posts: 2,107
Alright, I'm able to change settings now, but I can't get a proper aspect ratio. I had to bring it down to 720P from 1366x768 but now the text is slightly distorted to where it seems it would hurt my eyes if I read it for too long. At my native resolution(1366) the 16:9 ratio gives me a 4:3 ratio, whereas a 4:3 ratio gives me 16:9 but everything is stretched.
Vera Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:57 PM   #9
FuryFlex
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 346
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vera Lynn View Post
Alright, I'm able to change settings now, but I can't get a proper aspect ratio. I had to bring it down to 720P from 1366x768 but now the text is slightly distorted to where it seems it would hurt my eyes if I read it for too long. At my native resolution(1366) the 16:9 ratio gives me a 4:3 ratio, whereas a 4:3 ratio gives me 16:9 but everything is stretched.
Same problem here--I just want to run at my native 1360x768, but it looks crappy. Has anyone manged to fix this?
FuryFlex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:24 AM   #10
Threesixtyci
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 265
Posts: 2,879
1366/768 = 1.77864583
1360/768 = 1.77083333
16/9 = 1.77777777777

See what's happening there? Neither 1366 X 768 nor 1360 X 768 equal 16:9. I suggest choosing either 1600X900 or 1280X720 from the list.

or

Try putting:
-h 1360 -w 768
on the set launch options.
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...1040-JWMT-2947
Although, I don't know if it'll work or not.

Last edited by Threesixtyci: 05-04-2012 at 08:29 AM.
Threesixtyci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:18 AM   #11
Mike JezZ
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 10
Posts: 394
I cant get this to work.

I tried the false thing, but its still 4:3. Tried to edit the resolution but the game doesnt give a about it.

Should the game look like this?

http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/...3A5FF2AE251B5/
Mike JezZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:43 AM   #12
Memphix
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 132
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike JezZ View Post
I cant get this to work.
Should the game look like this?

http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/...3A5FF2AE251B5/
The UI scales independent from the 3D graphics, which scale to your res regardless. If you went into options and set the aspect ratio as 4:3, the UI will stretch to fill the screen, else it just sits in the middle. At higher resolutions, there's some UI artifacts with lines showing on various parts of the UI (ie: the message box).

That said, I have no idea why the contrast seems to be through the roof in that pic. Maybe try turning HDR off in the options?

Last edited by Memphix: 08-09-2012 at 02:45 PM.
Memphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:01 AM   #13
inubaka64
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Works, but then I have another problem, which is another story altogether. UFO seems to be kind of broken. Any reason why?
inubaka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 12:57 PM   #14
eformo
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Just bought this game and I've having the issue described here. The problem is that I cannot find the options.cfg file. I've got no problem finding the directory (Windows 7, so it's the same as mentioned above) yet there isn't any file here titled "options.cfg"

I've also tried changing the starting settings through steam, but the -h 640 command doesn't seem to be doing anything.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by eformo: 01-18-2014 at 01:05 PM.
eformo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:58 PM   #15
shade270
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 56
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by eformo View Post
Just bought this game and I've having the issue described here. The problem is that I cannot find the options.cfg file. I've got no problem finding the directory (Windows 7, so it's the same as mentioned above) yet there isn't any file here titled "options.cfg"

I've also tried changing the starting settings through steam, but the -h 640 command doesn't seem to be doing anything.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Hey, had the same issue.
I started a new game and made a save file and after that the profile was made, with a options.cfg file inside.
shade270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > UFO: Afterlight


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2015, All Rights Reserved.