Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Spellforce series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2011, 03:53 PM   #1
Janitor_308
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 173
Posts: 337
Spellforce Option crashes

In the first Spellforce, if I select the "Options" button on the main menu, Spellforce.exe crashes. I know at least one other user has seen this. Does anyone know anything about the issue?


Core I7 2600k
8GB RAM
ASUS Z68 motherboard
HCI - AMD 6950 video (Catalyst 11.12 drivers)
Janitor_308 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:45 AM   #2
Ansive
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 60
Posts: 762
I don't know what's wrong with the game... I played it just fine in 2008 and 2009, running Vista 64bit. Working options menu, and 1600x1200 32bit.

Now if I want to edit the options I need to run the game in a window, or else it will crash.
You do this by adding
-window
in the properties window (steam) > set launch options...

After you changed the options with the game running in that tiny window, you can remove the launch parameter and start the game normally.

Sadly you might also get this for some resolutions:
"Desired resolution not found. Please reinstall latest drivers."

Now I can't run 1600x1200 at 32bit...

You can try lower resolutions.

Don't know what broke these... maybe Windows 7, maybe the video drivers, who knows.
Ansive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
Ansive
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 60
Posts: 762
So, I did some testing with the drivers.

This applies to Radeon Cards (possibly only HD4000 series)

The options menu works with
9-4_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_wdm_enu.exe
9-8_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_wdm_enu.exe

Maybe also with (I had 50% success)
9-12_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_wdm_enu.exe

As for the last resolution (number 9 in config.lua) 1600x1200x32bit, I only had a few cases where it didn't work.

I'm currently running 12.1, and the resolution works.

To be honest, not being able to access the options in full screen mode isn't all that terrible. You can set up the game while in window mode, then just stick with those settings.

Note:
To actually uninstall video drivers you need to use 'Driver Sweeper', otherwise you're only removing the driver control panel...

The game looks good when it matches your vertical resolution (1600x1200 or 1440x1080 if it's supported), add anti-aliasing in the mix and you can even call it pretty. (texture quality and polygon count is quite good for 2003)
Ansive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:27 AM   #4
franx1508
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 98
same problem here
franx1508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:47 PM   #5
poanoi
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 36
Posts: 158
Your best bet is official forum
http://forum.spellforce.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3
poanoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Spellforce series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.