Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Torchlight series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2009, 02:40 PM   #1
Skintrade
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Torchlight won't start up

Hey,

Just bought Torchlight on Steam on Thursday.
Had my first playsession on Friday.
Worked fine, great game btw.

On Saturday i wanted tp play again, Steam starts up, then it says "starting up Torchlight" and then i get a Windows Error stating there is a fault in Torchlight.exe.

Have searched these forums and tried all the suggestions (safemode - reinstalling).
All don't work.

I am running Windows XP - SP3.
Geforce 7800 GTX.
AMD Athlon 4200+.
Game was running fine in first playsession - only changed the resolution.

I am really bugged now, like the game, wanted to play.
Bought the game (well thats unusual these days) and then i am getting this ...
Hope there is a solution.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 04:39 PM   #2
damaged
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 8772
Posts: 7,275
Did you try verifying TL's game cache?
damaged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 05:12 PM   #3
magus
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Try running the game in safemode.

Right click on the game in steam and click "Properties", then click "Set Launch Options...". In the field that pops up type "SAFEMODE=1" without quotes. Then press ok.

See if the game runs with that setting. If it does exit out and remove the safemode=1 command we just issued from steam.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 07:40 PM   #4
Shagsbeard
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 97
I've been awaiting Support on this one. I've tried everything suggested, and more. I've even uninstalled and reinstalled Steam. My thinking is that Steam and the Windows 7 patch that came out Thursday are incompatable. Something is up though. I can't get any of my games to start.
Shagsbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:51 AM   #5
Rumtruffle
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 38
Posts: 1,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shagsbeard View Post
I can't get any of my games to start.
just out of curiosity, what are the other games you cant get working?
Rumtruffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:27 AM   #6
Shagsbeard
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 97
Borderlands... that's the only one I've tried. I just installed windows 7, so don't have anything else installed.
Shagsbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:15 AM   #7
Skintrade
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Well seems my problem is different.

For one, I am running Windows XP and all my other games (currently Team Fortress 2) are working fine.

Only can't get Torchlight to start.
And i did verify the cachefile - tried safemode - uninstalled Torchlight and then reinstalled - all to no good.

The game just doesn't work anymore.
Hope this will be fixed soon.
Don't like to see 16 euro go down the drain.

Will be me last game bought on Steam if this will not get fixed.

This is the message i get :
AppName: torchlight.exe AppVer: 0.0.66.202 ModName: ogremain.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 001cb0f9

Last edited by Skintrade: 11-01-2009 at 11:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 04:02 AM   #8
Skintrade
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Bump.
Still no fix.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 05:11 AM   #9
Shagsbeard
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 97
Me neither. Still no word from support. I filed my ticket Thursday.
Shagsbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 05:52 AM   #10
Skintrade
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Didn't file a ticket yet.
Thought that maybe posting here was enough.
Guess i am wrong.

Dunno if ill wait for patch to come out or just fill in a ticket and ask for a refund.

Shame though, really liked the game for the short time i was able to play it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:14 AM   #11
Skintrade
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
And .... FIXED !!!!

U were right.
There still remained a folder - which was a hidden file - that was why i didn't find it, which contained a folder for torchlight including settings and save.
After deleting that folder and reinstalling the game ... IT WORKS !!!

Yoehoe !!!

Thanks for the help all.
Gonna play some ... (and dont make any changes to the settings lol).
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 11:34 AM   #12
Rumtruffle
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 38
Posts: 1,636
*claps* well done bud. enjoy the game.
Rumtruffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 02:06 PM   #13
Shadow71
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skintrade View Post
And .... FIXED !!!!

U were right.
There still remained a folder - which was a hidden file - that was why i didn't find it, which contained a folder for torchlight including settings and save.
After deleting that folder and reinstalling the game ... IT WORKS !!!

Yoehoe !!!

Thanks for the help all.
Gonna play some ... (and dont make any changes to the settings lol).
I'm still having trouble, can you tell me what you did?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 05:05 PM   #14
Sir_Shaggy
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

My problem was a little bit different. I installed Torchlight on both of my computers, Tower PC and Laptop. Both versions were running fine up until a week ago. Then my laptop version would crash giving the window error "APPCRASH" torchlight.exe.

I tried safemode and reinstalling and removing the runic games folder in "C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Roaming\runic games", nothing worked.

So I started up my tower PC and made sure I had the latest sync'd file from steam and then copied the entire runic games folder over to my laptop. It works!

Both my machines are running Windows 7 x64. I hope runic looks into this bug soon.

BTW the AppData folder is hidden.

Last edited by Sir_Shaggy: 02-05-2010 at 05:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:50 PM   #15
Swixel
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 164
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Shaggy View Post
BTW the AppData folder is hidden.
If you're worried about the hidden status, hold the Windows Key (actually the 'Super Key') then press R. This opens the 'Run' Prompt. Just type in %APPDATA%\runic games\torchlight and you're there.

For anyone who already has Torchlight installed try the following before removing the whole folder (as I had this bug and didn't want to lose my saves!)

1. If you've got the editor installed, open it. Make sure NONE of the mods are enabled. Try launching. If it goes to a black screen, exit it (CTRL+ALT+DEL or CTRL+SHIFT+ESC and terminate it if needs me).
2. Remove %APPDATA%\runic games\torchlight\mods
Then try launching Torchlight.

I found my bug was mod related (after any Torchlight updates). It probably won't solve it for many people, but it's worth a shot.

Yes, I know, removing the whole torchlight folder removes the mods folder, but it also removes other things (e.g. save data) for anyone who already has it installed. If it's not working from the beginning it may be worth giving it a shot, as the sample mod was blocking me launching (I had nothing else there).
Swixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Torchlight series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.