Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Borderlands

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2009, 01:45 PM   #1
DasOtto
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Red face Borderlands CD Key?

Hi guys. I bought Borderlands in a Retail Store in my near. Now I wanted to activate it on Steam but... There's no friggin' CD Key on my Case! Not in the Booklet, not in or on the case.
I need help with that! I want to add this Game to Steam but I need a damn CD Key for that...
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
iTech64
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 566
you dont need a cd key for it, in fact there are none anyways
if you bought it retail go to the steam thing, near the bottom there are two buttons, one says add a non-steam game. add borderlands.
now there will be a shortcut on there for you to use to start borderlands.
you dont really need to add it to steam anyways i think.
iTech64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 01:57 PM   #3
bloodypalace
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 367
Posts: 4,807
You CANNOT add your retail copy of borderlands to steam.
bloodypalace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 02:06 PM   #4
zerok0ol
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
if you wanted a steam copy you should have bought it from steam.


sorry, but you got the retail version which means 'don't lose the discs'
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 02:08 PM   #5
Weasle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
You could add it as a non-steam game to get the overlay, though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 02:51 PM   #6
iTech64
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weasle View Post
You could add it as a non-steam game to get the overlay, though.
thats what i said

and to the other posts, do they even read the post before theirs or just the OP?
iTech64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 06:04 PM   #7
Psamathos
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 48
Posts: 707
Sigh, I've already answered several posts by people wanting to activate Borderlands to steam. Where do they get this idea? Is it because you can do it for UT3? It's not that hard to check this list: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...USF-3601#which
Psamathos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 11:26 PM   #8
YahooElite
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 782
Posts: 6,942
But the thing is you can do it with UT3 because 1: UT3 has a key, and 2: UT3 is automatically connected to Steam, Borderlands is neither.
YahooElite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:58 AM   #9
JabaPR
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 55
Borderlands: GOTY does have keys fyi..
JabaPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:31 PM   #10
Cirutron
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabaPR View Post
Borderlands: GOTY does have keys fyi..
Neither Borderlands GOTY... I've received it today, It just came with the key for download the DLC from gearbox webpage.

But GOTY retail version costs 19.99€ instead of 49.99€, I prefer play with disc, I'am not going to lose it.
Cirutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 04:08 PM   #11
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 736
Posts: 7,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by JabaPR View Post
Borderlands: GOTY does have keys fyi..
Borderlands does NOT have a CD-key. Only the first two DLC. Borderlands and Borderlands GOTY are different. One has all the DLC, the other does not.

This thread is old and has had the question answered already.
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Borderlands


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.