Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Flat Out series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2009, 04:24 AM   #1
lilsammy
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Play Flatout 1 Online - Guide -

OK this took me 2 days to figure out, I bought this game for all my friends all 5 of them without knowing its lan only. So i had to find a way to get it working online the biggest problem with the steam version is the fact that if you try to run flatout.exe directly you get "failed to find steam" this problem had me going for a while but if you follow these steps you will be online in no time.

1. Download patch 1.1 and put the files into your flatout folder. Steam only installs version 1.

Get Patch 1.1 here - http://flatoutjoint.com/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=38&func=fil einfo&id=290

2. The exe in that patch zip file will not work and give you a "please insert cd" error so you need to get flatout.exe from here - http://fo-online.net/?link=3

Using that flatout.exe means flatout will not be running from steam so incase you want that then you wont be able to use this guide.

3. Get flatoutnet.exe from the same page - http://fo-online.net/?link=3

4. To play online please make sure you have your firewall setup to allow flatout access to the internet. Also make sure ports 23756 and 23757 are open on your router.

5. Run FlatOutNet.exe and set your game path to your flatout.exe and refresh games list or host your own. Once you click join on a game this will start Flatout and you only need to select a profile and it should try to connect to the server.


I have only owned flatout since christmas eve (2 days ago) so if somthing i have put down here is wrong please feel free to correct me.

All Files Mirror - http://www.ebot-reborn.com/FlatOut%20Steam%20Version/

Last edited by lilsammy: 12-26-2009 at 04:30 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 10:59 AM   #2
freequebec86
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 16
Posts: 192
THX

THX I love you xD I thought nobody played.


Edit : Damn, i want to run it in stream xD Someone have a other fix?

Last edited by freequebec86: 12-27-2009 at 11:13 AM.
freequebec86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 11:51 AM   #3
err
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 4
1.1 patch also available in http://fo-online.net/ download section. And only host has to open ports in router. Everyone else just have to allow them in firewall. If any problems don't hesitate to ask help in http://fo-online.net/forum
err is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 09:49 AM   #4
blix2006
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 53
Posts: 1,078
i know this use to run pretty bad on hamachi does it run better through this network?if so i can gonna talk a few buddies into buying today
blix2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:13 PM   #5
err
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 4
there are some problems but definitely better
err is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:28 AM   #6
MadManniMan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Is there any way to use an in-lobby-chat? It is devastatingly boring sitting in the lobby without knowing why the game doesnt start.
MadManniMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:16 AM   #7
err
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 4
Just install FOv2 from http://fo-online.net/?link=3
only 2.4MB
err is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 12:33 PM   #8
Adenru
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 43
Posts: 541
Failed to find steam when using flatoutnet.
After installing patch I get error.

I hate copyprotection systems

Last edited by Adenru: 12-21-2010 at 02:24 AM.
Adenru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:45 PM   #9
cdoublejj
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 61
Posts: 123
i get that error with no mods and fresh install
cdoublejj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:11 AM   #10
err
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 4
what error?
err is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 10:55 PM   #11
Bloodmoore
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
Thanks so much man; I also bought this for some friends not knowing it was lan only! I would probably not be playing this if it weren't for you. Kudos!
Bloodmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Flat Out series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.