Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2009, 06:46 PM   #1
Triggsy109
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Steam error: 1327 Invalid E: Drive

Ok so,
I recently downloaded assassins creed to an external Hard Drive... Silly me didn't realise it would only work if steam was on my computer, and seeing as how i was running steam directly from my external hard drive, i had a problem. I thought i would just.. download steam onto this computer, then move the 6.72 gb of assassins creed files and folders over to this computer. When i went to download steam, everything was fine, but then when i went to install it, it came up with error: 1327 Invalid E: Drive, or something like that. I searched around and figured it was because i had a cloned C:\ Drive from a program my friend gave me, alot like Power ISO. i deleted this program, then tried to install steam again, the message: Error 1327 invalid E: Drive again!!! I used cmd to substitute E: for C:/ and then tried installing it again, this time it said, error 1320 the specified path is too long. E:/ Steam
I dont even HAVE an E:/ drive anymore
so it shouldnt be saying that...
what i figured is:
steam is dead-set to install directly into an E: drive. I want to make it so it install into the C:\ drive.. I think it maybe has something to do with my external Hard Drive..
If anyone has had this problem before PLEASE tell me how you fixed it
I really just wanna play this game, it was a christmas present from a friend, and while he is off playing the game I got him, and rubbing it in -.- im off NOT playing assassins creed...
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 07:15 PM   #2
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3946
Posts: 17,602
If you have Steam on the external drive, you should be able to copy the whole Steam directory to your c:/ and fix your shortcut.

__________________
Nothing to see here
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:38 AM   #3
silverhawk187
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i have the same problem does anyone now the fix or have u figured it out yet
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:31 PM   #4
nubseeeE
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
SOLUTION

1. Download the "steaminstall.msi" file from steampowered.com.

2. Use 7-zip (www.7-zip.org) to extract steaminstall.msi to a folder "steaminstall" on your desktop (as an example).

3. Rename this folder to "Steam" -> Right-click the folder -> Click Rename -> type in Steam and press <enter>

4. This folder is now your new Steam-folder, but you wouldn't want your Steam-folder to stay on your desktop.
Move it to any folder or non-removable drive on your computer -> Right-click the new "Steam" folder -> Click Cut -> navigate to your destination drive or folder and right-click and click Paste.

5. In this new "Steam" folder, there's a file calles "steam.exe1". Rename this file to "Steam.exe" and run it.

6. Let Steam do it's update routines and log-in and let it update the Steam-interface.

7. Close down Steam and replace the entire "steamapps" folder within your new Steam-folder, with the "steamapps" folder on your external drive or where your previous installation of Steam was.

8. Restart Steam and set your particular games to "always keep this game uptodate". Re-install your games via Steam if necessary and you will only have to download very minor stuff and they'll be working again.


I got this error-1327 as my harddrive with Steam on it, died. It wasn't possible to re-install, uninstall or do anything, but I found out that the solution above works with no problems.

I did try with Registry Mechanic to clean up the leftovers from Steam, but that didn't help either.

Windows Install Cleanup (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301) did remove the installation from the control panel's "add/remove programs" / "programs and features" list but it still wouldn't let me re-install Steam.
nubseeeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 02:43 PM   #5
syphen_017
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Here's a much easier fix.

Use the 'subst' command, which makes a sort of artificial directory that points to another directory.

1) open up the command prompt (search your computer for command.com)

2) type:
subst F: c:\

(f being whatever drive it can't find, C:\ being any directory)

There you go, done.

I'm pretty shocked it worked so well -- I did this to get a game going in DOS in like the early '90s
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 11:20 PM   #6
cwc3
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry to bring a old post a live. After searching for hours, I decided to be less lazy and go through my registry.

This is started when one my of raptor's died (Had steam on D

Here was my fix for this issue: (Windows 7 x64)


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Valve]

Back it up, delete it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:38 AM   #7
Poikachoika
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by syphen_017 View Post
Here's a much easier fix.

Use the 'subst' command, which makes a sort of artificial directory that points to another directory.

1) open up the command prompt (search your computer for command.com)

2) type:
subst F: c:\

(f being whatever drive it can't find, C:\ being any directory)

There you go, done.

I'm pretty shocked it worked so well -- I did this to get a game going in DOS in like the early '90s
Sorry to bring up an old topic, but this worked great; thanks a ton!
Poikachoika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:12 PM   #8
7FoX
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 54
plz Helpz!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by syphen_017 View Post
Here's a much easier fix.

Use the 'subst' command, which makes a sort of artificial directory that points to another directory.

1) open up the command prompt (search your computer for command.com)

2) type:
subst F: c:\

(f being whatever drive it can't find, C:\ being any directory)

There you go, done.

I'm pretty shocked it worked so well -- I did this to get a game going in DOS in like the early '90s
Man, i did this but In my situation, it was with a drive named "I:"
now, I found the reason why the steam client had a problem with a drive named "I:"

I did what u typed, but I want to UNDO that, now i open my pc and I see like a cloned drive, is the same as "D:" buta new one named "I:"

look http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/9690/...padebitsvw.png

how to remove that cloned one ?

I'd like to go back as it was originally suposed to be, just C: drive and D: drive, plzplzplz :P


EDIT:

hey sorry, I solved my own mystake, I couldnt figure those DOS command lines, so I found this software, it worked :P

http://www.ntwind.com/software/utili...ual-subst.html

Last edited by 7FoX: 02-09-2011 at 11:26 PM.
7FoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:45 PM   #9
B33 ENN
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5463
Posts: 5,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7FoX View Post
...how to remove that cloned one ?

...hey sorry, I solved my own mystake, I couldnt figure those DOS command lines, so I found this software, it worked...
Good, but you could also have reversed it by typing:

subst I: /D

B33 ENN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:59 PM   #10
7FoX
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by B33 ENN View Post
Good, but you could also have reversed it by typing:

subst I: /D

imma n00bzor
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7FoX View Post
I couldnt figure those DOS command lines
7FoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:14 AM   #11
B33 ENN
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5463
Posts: 5,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7FoX View Post
imma n00bzor

No matter, I was just saying for next time, or anyone else who looks up this thread. Important thing is you got it sorted. We are all n00bz in something.
B33 ENN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 04:53 AM   #12
Lasphere
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you nubseeeE!! Your solution worked perfectly!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:25 PM   #13
ooo0
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwc3 View Post
Sorry to bring a old post a live. After searching for hours, I decided to be less lazy and go through my registry.

This is started when one my of raptor's died (Had steam on D

Here was my fix for this issue: (Windows 7 x64)


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Valve]

Back it up, delete it.
Thanks man, this actually works.
ooo0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #14
Evilkiey91
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Reputation: 27
Posts: 72
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by syphen_017 View Post
Here's a much easier fix.

Use the 'subst' command, which makes a sort of artificial directory that points to another directory.

1) open up the command prompt (search your computer for command.com)

2) type:
subst F: c:\

(f being whatever drive it can't find, C:\ being any directory)

There you go, done.

I'm pretty shocked it worked so well -- I did this to get a game going in DOS in like the early '90s
It working.Thanks bro u save my life
Evilkiey91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.