Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Red Faction series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 06:13 AM   #1
OldGrumpy
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
RF:G, suddenly won't load.

So a few days ago, RF:G suddenly stopped working. When I double click the game in Steam, it just goes to a black screen that never goes away. It was working fine before (better than fine even, my computer runs the game smoothly at very high settings, so it is not a specs issue), I don't know what happened. I tried reinstalling the game, but the issue still persists. I don't get any helpful error messages, just "Red Faction: Guerrilla has stopped working" when I end the task.
Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone know what might be causing it?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:04 AM   #2
Navith
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Indeed

I think i have the exact same problem, just that i never actually got to play the game.

My game gets stuck at the intro screen, goes black and then i get the error message, very annoying.
I've tried every fixing solution i know, like reinstalling, downloading several fixes, looking into forums etc, but nothing..

It seems there's no fix for this yet, hoping for a "steamfixingpatch" though ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 11:07 AM   #3
ptrandel
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
ditto ditto -- same issue

I get the same thing. Not even an intro screen. Just a quick screen from Steam when I launch, and then the "stopped running" screen. Have not been able to figure out a workaround.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 07:04 PM   #4
Shadow_Man_PW
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 19
Posts: 658
Let me guess, you all have ATI cards?
Shadow_Man_PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 04:26 AM   #5
Digitalos
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 10
Posts: 1,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_Man_PW View Post
Let me guess, you all have ATI cards?
I do and same issue.

Was playing happily away, and then tonight got a notice about a GFWL Update for RF:G, so I installed it and now, can't play.

Love updates that stop me playing, more please, kthx. :/
Digitalos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 04:36 AM   #6
Digitalos
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 10
Posts: 1,512
Verifying local system files allowed me to load the game again, but GFWL still wants to update. Just, no. Why can't it get the update right first time around and I assume now I need to do a manual update? Joy.
Digitalos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 05:15 AM   #7
turkeyfiles
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 25
Posts: 423
Report your frustration here:

http://community.redfaction.com/forums/topic/7899

I also created a support ticket for Steam.
turkeyfiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 05:50 AM   #8
Digitalos
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 10
Posts: 1,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by turkeyfiles View Post
Report your frustration here:

http://community.redfaction.com/forums/topic/7899

I also created a support ticket for Steam.
Done, ty good sir.
Digitalos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Red Faction series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.