Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Wings of Prey

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 09:53 AM   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #1
DerrickG
 
DerrickG's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 422
Posts: 338
Exclamation DRM Information for Wings of Prey

The DRM for Wings of Prey has a 3 limit activation. However, if you hit your 3 limit activation you can contact Gaijin's support and receive up to 10 more activations.

Please do not contact Steam Support to receive these as they cannot assist with these requests.
DerrickG is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 03:24 PM   #2
Fozzy the bear
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 41
Posts: 782
If you don't want us to contact you, then please post the correct email address we need to contact them with.
Fozzy the bear is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:11 PM   #3
Murdats
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 196
Also you only apparently get 1 activation back according to the publishers, once you have used up your activations (keep in mind most people own more then one game and aren't going to remember to deactivate) then every time you format or upgrade hardware or switch machine you need to email this mystery address again and wait for russian business hours
Murdats is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 11:26 AM   #4
Morning
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 359
http://www.gaijinent.com/company/contact.htm

Only lists the webmaster, PR officer and CEO. Better off bugging the latter.

anton@gaijin.ru


Still incredibly stupid idea to implement this on a Steam title. What were they thinking.
Morning is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 11:40 AM   #5
fearlessfrog
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 96
Posts: 781
Quote:
Only lists the webmaster, PR officer and CEO. Better off bugging the latter.

anton@gaijin.ru
Um, is that email address _this_ Anton?

http://forum.yuplay.com/index.php?showtopic=968

If it is then I think I'll be a little scared to email him directly. He might shout at me - seems pretty angry...
fearlessfrog is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 12:38 AM   #6
Fozzy the bear
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 41
Posts: 782
"Yes, yuPlay is a bitTorrent client. I didn't buy the game from steam but I downloaded their client and the WoP demo through it (installed on a locked down Virtual PC).

The client is pretty crappy, feels amatuer, see screenshots below...

Login:
http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/1558/loginrs.png

Settings: just configure proxy for bitTorrent
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/3385/settings1.png

about: yuPlay = HTML Layout engine + open source torrent library
http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/9061/aboutwk.png

Plenty of spelling and grammar mistakes to go around, got this when I tried to download through HTTP (you have to buy premium accounts).
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/5553/upgrade1.png

Copyright: owned by Ganijin (surprise surprise) and copyright is misspelled...
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/9351/copyrightv.png

Uploading and Downloading:
http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/2604/uploading61.png

Seeding when download completes: WTF, upload speed says 0 but was actually going at about 100KB...
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/2377/seedingwth1.png

There is no way to turn seeding off, if you leave it downloading and go away from your computer then it will seed until you manually close their torrent client, even after download has been completed (happened to me, I went to eat dinner). Once the download was complete I had an exe file on my desktop, still had to manually install it if I wanted to play (no game list or anything like steam)...

Forum account and yuPlay account are the same, which explains how I got banned from their forum (asking about DRM/activations is dangerous there) but can still login and run the client.

As you can see it is pretty crappy, nothing at all like steam, just an open source torrent library combined with an HTML layout engine.
"

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...59&postcount=3
Fozzy the bear is offline  
Old 01-17-2010, 04:09 AM   #7
Doctor_Rob
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I presume deactivation preserves a DRM 'slot'.

How do you deactivate the game?
 
Old 01-17-2010, 02:31 PM   #8
jcohenx
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by derrickg View Post
The DRM for Wings of Prey has a 3 limit activation. However, if you hit your 3 limit activation you can contact Gaijin's support and receive up to 10 more activations.

Please do not contact Steam Support to receive these as they cannot assist with these requests.
Sorry, Steam, your response is not going to make others happy. As the provider of the digital hosting service for this game, I and others are probably a little upset that Steam is not sufficient digital protection for the game's publisher. I have about a dozen titles on Steam and can uninstall and reinstall any of them at will. What makes Wings of Prey special?
jcohenx is offline  
Old 01-17-2010, 05:50 PM   #9
Murdats
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcohenx View Post
Sorry, Steam, your response is not going to make others happy. As the provider of the digital hosting service for this game, I and others are probably a little upset that Steam is not sufficient digital protection for the game's publisher. I have about a dozen titles on Steam and can uninstall and reinstall any of them at will. What makes Wings of Prey special?
the developers are bigger [color="#FF66FF"]♥[/color][color="#FF66FF"]♥[/color][color="#FF66FF"]♥[/color][color="#FF66FF"]♥[/color][color="#FF66FF"]♥[/color] then any other developers for your other games
Murdats is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:36 PM   #10
Poks
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Well, seems to be a java made app.
 
Old 01-21-2010, 05:44 PM   #11
VooDooAddict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 4
Posts: 64
Thanks for the heads up on the DRM.

I won't purchase a game at or near full price that uses activation limit DRM.
If this drops to near 50% off then I'll give it a try and deal with the DRM.
VooDooAddict is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 12:14 AM   #12
Moxyz1
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 11
Posts: 75
just bought this game after originally getting the demo and making an account on yuplay, rather than activate the demo to full version by paying over at there site as they dont take paypal i bought here on steam and sat through download again as easyier to pay here. Anyway i made note of the code and typed it in when need to in setup, then it asks me to make account and login but it remembered me from the demo but wouldnt accept my password so i had replacement one sent (twice now) and each time it says it wrong password which isnt the case as i had copyed it down exactly both times. this is getting very frustrating as i can log on there site to my account ok without the game being used but it says its wrong when i enter it when asked to log in the game at the settings page. sorry for bad spelling its 7;10 am and ive been up all night. things arent off to a good start at all. if i'd of had this hasstle with the demo then i wouldnt of bought it. demo was great though looking forward to getting this working with all the patches as well.......finally got logged in ok ,the loggin screen kept on freezin and i was getting a this 'program is not responding, message from vista. nice game as well imo' hard though.

Last edited by Moxyz1: 01-26-2010 at 07:32 AM. Reason: working fine now
Moxyz1 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 01:07 PM   #13
thaoval
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 10
Posts: 132
activation limits, compulsory 3rd party software.. I joined steam so that I wouldnt have to put up with that rubbish, now steam youve shat on my perception of you as the perfect distribution service.


what did i get out of this bad purchase?-knowledge of what not to buy.
thaoval is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 07:59 AM   #14
globethrottle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
re

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor_Rob View Post
I presume deactivation preserves a DRM 'slot'.

How do you deactivate the game?
*bump*
 
Old 02-23-2010, 12:48 PM   #15
KSMF
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 513
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerrickG View Post
The DRM for Wings of Prey has a 3 limit activation. However, if you hit your 3 limit activation you can contact Gaijin's support and receive up to 10 more activations.
"up to 10 more activations" is that 13 activations and after using them, one need to buy the game again if one want to play it.

Sry, but I pass this game in silence.
KSMF is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Wings of Prey


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2015, All Rights Reserved.