Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2010, 01:10 PM   #1
antimyke
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
FFXI class not registered error

so I recently purchased ffXI and when I try to run it, steam says it's unavailable at this time. so I open the steamapps folder and run the .exe's and play online viewer tells me that the class is not registered. I tried running a different executable from the playonline site that works for vista. and it worked, however it told me that FFXI was not installed. any help would be appreciated
antimyke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 11:35 PM   #2
maestrodeclure
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I got this error after accidentally deleting the local game content; I'm running windows 7. After the installation got done putting ffxi back on, pol gives this error trying to execute. The issue seems related to the the new installation failing to utilize the old configuration files. I launched the ffxi and pol configs, and the settings were still exactly where I left them. But when you actually boot them, they don't follow the configuration each is set to whatsoever.

I thought I could trick pol by system restoring, and tricking it into thinking my registry was older than it was. It actually worked, it boots now, but doesn't get too far without network errors. I also tried right clicking the game in the steam window, choosing properties > local files > verify integrity of game cache. It spotted some cache errors and fixed them. Now the system almost get to booting ffxi, but it's still ignoring the config files, booting full screen, and crashing.

So as much as a pain in the butt as it was, I removed both ffxi and steam. Reinstalled the steam client again, and reinstalled ffxi from there. I guess the config files are still on my hdd somewhere, because the settings still haven't changed. However, now pol is updating itself and running like normal, and ffxi is doing the same. Seems to be fixed.

Last edited by maestrodeclure: 02-20-2010 at 02:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:01 PM   #3
ryanyhc
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
hey, had this error today.

here is how i fixed it:
steam thought it was running compatibility mode so i followed these instructions http://www.edugeek.net/forums/gaming...lity-mode.html and it ran correctly for me.

hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.