Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2010, 10:29 PM   #1
nickwalnut
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 29
New Update Broke My Steam

Hi this may have been brought up but I haven't found it so...

The new steam update has broken both my GameUI overlay and some of my games. Their processes will be initiated but nothing will launch (everytime I start a new game, the UI is launched again so I end up having a crap load of processes running). This has happened in every steam game ive played since the update.

I have Kaspersky running and am fairly certain it's not the cause as everything was working fine before (and I turned it off just to be sure). The same effect occurs when I start some games like Serious Sam HD; The process will initiate but nothing will launch.

Keeping in mind all was fine a few days ago, and that I haven't changed any settings at all or installed any new software, what could the problem be?

Intel Quad Core Q9400
4GB RAM
Win7 32-bit
2x Nvidia 9800GT SLI

Last edited by nickwalnut: 01-20-2010 at 11:02 PM.
nickwalnut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:10 PM   #2
Fug-tm
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I am having the same exact problem and it all started with the Jan 18/19 Steam update.

We share a few common items....

I too run Kaspersky, I have tried completely disableing it and rebooting.

I have shut down my firewall.

No difference.

I have 2X 9800 GTX sli

I run Win Vista x64

I have a Quad Core extreme processer.


I have one other problem that started when this problem started.

All my L4D2 achievements are now gone.

Please help valve.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:28 PM   #3
ShadowZuki
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 44
I believe my overlay suddenly stopped functioning or at least showing it’s self since the last up date, I have tried a few things such as reinstalling steam and all of my games and removing all references in the registry of steam and the games. I have not installed anything recently and have tried different key combinations and have made sure that the overlay is turned on in-game. By coincidence I happen to be using Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 it has never interfered... Not since version 7 which was ages ago... Please help, I have posted my specifications and the GameOverlayRender.log

[DxDiag Specifications]

Quote:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/21/2010, 13:57:31
Machine name: ZUKI-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP Pavilion dv5 Notebook PC
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Turion(tm) X2 Dual-Core Mobile RM-70 (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 2814MB RAM
Page File: 1434MB used, 4189MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode
---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x9612)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9612&SUBSYS_30F2103C&REV_00
Display Memory: 1403 MB
Dedicated Memory: 252 MB
Shared Memory: 1150 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: LP154WX4-TLCB
Monitor Id: LPL3101
Native Mode: 1280 x 800(p) (59.976Hz)
Output Type: Internal
Driver Name: atiumdag.dll,atidxx32.dll,atiumdva.cap
Driver File Version: 8.14.0010.0716 (English)
Driver Version: 8.681.0.0
DDI Version: 10
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 11/24/2009 18:55:58, 3617792 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D552-11CF-4071-F810A1C2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x9612
SubSys ID: 0x30F2103C
Revision ID: 0x0000
Driver Strong Name: oem17.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.1:ati2mtag_RS780M:8.681. 0.0ci\ven_1002&dev_9612
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
DXVA-HD: Not Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
[GameOverlayRenderer.log]

Quote:
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Module file name: C:\Program Files\Steam\GameOverlayRenderer.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - AppID = 220
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - System page size: 4096
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Hooking SetCursorPos, GetCursorPos, ShowCursor, and SetCursor
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Detected a relative offset at byte two of a function to hook, old jump of 76825
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Detected a relative offset at byte two of a function to hook, new jump of -29037257
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Hooking GetRawInputBuffer calls
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Modules at GameOverlayRenderer.dll attach
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 01: hl2.exe
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 02: ntdll.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 03: kernel32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 04: KERNELBASE.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 05: USER32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 06: GDI32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 07: LPK.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 08: USP10.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 09: msvcrt.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 10: apphelp.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 11: AcGenral.DLL
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 12: sechost.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 13: RPCRT4.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 14: SspiCli.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 15: SHLWAPI.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 16: UxTheme.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 17: WINMM.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 18: samcli.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 19: ole32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 20: OLEAUT32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 21: MSACM32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 22: ADVAPI32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 23: VERSION.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 24: SHELL32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 25: sfc.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 26: sfc_os.DLL
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 27: USERENV.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 28: profapi.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 29: dwmapi.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 30: SETUPAPI.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 31: CFGMGR32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 32: DEVOBJ.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 33: urlmon.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 34: CRYPT32.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 35: MSASN1.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 36: iertutil.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 37: MPR.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 38: IMM32.DLL
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 39: MSCTF.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 40: mzvkbd3.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 41: kloehk.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - 42: GameOverlayRenderer.dll
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - ----------------------------
Thu Jan 21 21:38:33 2010 UTC - Found GetModuleHandleEx
Thu Jan 21 21:38:34 2010 UTC - Game is using D3D9 or D3D9Ex, preparing to hook.
Thu Jan 21 21:38:34 2010 UTC - hookDirect3DCreate9 called
Thu Jan 21 21:38:38 2010 UTC - IWrapIDirect3D9::CreateDevice hook called (type: 1, behavior flags: 52!)
Thu Jan 21 21:39:01 2010 UTC - Game is using dinput.dll (dinput7), preparing to hook.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:01 2010 UTC - DirectInputCreateW hook called
Thu Jan 21 21:39:05 2010 UTC - Trying to setup input hook...
Thu Jan 21 21:39:05 2010 UTC - Set input hook...
Thu Jan 21 21:39:36 2010 UTC - Disabling overlay for 2 seconds (31 seconds since last frame was seen)
Thu Jan 21 21:39:38 2010 UTC - Disabling overlay for 2 seconds (33 seconds since last frame was seen)
Thu Jan 21 21:39:40 2010 UTC - Disabling overlay for 2 seconds (35 seconds since last frame was seen)
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Releasing all resources for device: 10606c80
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - DeleteD3D9Renderer called for: 10606c80
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Detaching input hook...
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - Found a hooked function in now unloaded module, removing from map.
Thu Jan 21 21:39:44 2010 UTC - GameOverlayRenderer.dll detaching

Last edited by ShadowZuki: 01-21-2010 at 02:08 PM. Reason: Specs/Render log.
ShadowZuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 03:34 PM   #4
Fug-tm
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Seems we all have Kaspersky in common.

I had already done the workaround to fix this with Kaspersky and in fact, steam and the steam folder are excluded as per those instructions. It has been working fine for well over a year...until this update.

And I have tried totally disabling the software, rebooting computer and still no overlay.

Getting rid of Kaspersky is not an option, I paid good money for it, its a great anti virus program.

Please help us valve.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 05:10 PM   #5
ForgottenOne
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 25
Posts: 416
Kaspersky?

I'm running KIS 2010, and until the last update everything was fine. I'm with Fug, I shouldn't have to run without AV protection just to play a game in this era. Valve, any suggestions?

i7 940
ASUS p6t dlx v2
3x2gig Corsair XMS3 1333
nV GTX 295
Win7 U64

Could having my Steam games installed on another drive than C: have something to do with this situation? Also, Borderlands and DOW 2 won't start either, now.
ForgottenOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 05:18 PM   #6
ShadowZuki
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 44
Red face

Yes, I have steam totally excluded via monitoring not in exclusions and kaspersky never gave any alerts as to issues in the logs, I do believe it may be related but it could be coincidence, whatever the case may be Kaspersky at this point could not be interfering in that way... Perhaps it's something that valve changed and that kaspersky dosn't like? I'm not sure I think it's just coincidence but I could be wrong, On an unrelated note I am unable to play Audiosurf or Killing Floor in general because questviewer freezes up. Oh and since reinstalling all my games and steam last night which solved nothing... I've been having issues getting my team fortress 2 list to show any servers...
However following a friend into a tf2 game works so I know it's not an issue with my firewall and I am directly connected in to my DOSIS 3.0 and at 24 mps it's not like I am on dial up or anything.)

Last edited by ShadowZuki: 01-21-2010 at 06:04 PM.
ShadowZuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 05:47 PM   #7
ForgottenOne
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 25
Posts: 416
Speaking of logs, my router doesn't show any attempted traffic when I try to start MW2.
ForgottenOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 06:15 PM   #8
ShadowZuki
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 44
We just have to be patient, We all have similar circumstances perhaps Kaspersky must be causing this some how since we all have 2010... I do agree we should not have to go without anti virus... However if someone would please look at my render log and tell me what's happening...
ShadowZuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 07:24 PM   #9
wingers17
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Posts: 969
I am having the same problem and I don't have Kaspersky. I'll start Steam and every things fine. play a game, then come back later and no games will launch. In order to play again, I have to restart steam and then everything works for awhile and then starts all over again.

I too, have had this problem since the last update.
wingers17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 07:24 PM   #10
Fug-tm
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
For the record I don't run Kaspersky 2010 I am still using the 2009 version.

Worked good with steam for all of 2009!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 07:34 PM   #11
ShadowZuki
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 44
You are reffering to our secondary issues but our main problem is the in-game steam community not showing what so ever no matter what combination of keys and it IS on and I have tryed repairing the installation and have removed and reinstalled completely all games and steam with a fresh install and steam and it is excluded under kaspersky but I am seeing a pattern here we are all having issues with the new up date... I wish I could some how rollback to a previous update and not have restarted steam when it asked because of the update... that's when this all started for me. But it is inparative that everyones game launch proper... and that we can speak and recieve messages in game. I hope they release an update to fix steam soon. this issue seems to be only effecting a hand full of people? Correct me if I am wrong.

Last edited by ShadowZuki: 01-21-2010 at 07:37 PM.
ShadowZuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 07:43 PM   #12
wingers17
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Posts: 969
Yeah, I am not having the GameUI overlay problem, that works fine when I can get the games to launch. I agree though, there is something screwy with the last update.
wingers17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 07:48 PM   #13
ShadowZuki
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 44
I agree perhaps we just have to wait for an update to fix these issues we are all having, such as games not launching, game-ui inssues and even serverlists not populating... I hope someone official will come a long and perhaps comment at least, it would be nice to know if others are experiencing these issues wrather than just a hand full... I posted my log on my first post in the thread but no one has read it and told me what it means... But I am guessing either way we do and don't have things in common over diffrent os's and av's and hardware, so just by weighing all of this... I am now for the most part 89% sure IMO that it is the update. If this is true I am sure it will all be repaired soon.
ShadowZuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:12 PM   #14
Jakey741
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I am having the same problem I try to start Call of Duty MW2 it goes to the load screen and then just stops. I have to Ctrl Alt Delete to get out of it and then I get and error iw4mp stopped resonding. I am running Kaspersky to and have had no problems until the update. Now I can still play all of half life game just MW2 will not load. Currently I am zipping the apps folder to move it and do a fresh install of steam. I got a bad feeling I am wasteing my time. I also sent a ticket to Steam about this but still have not heard any thing yet. Hopefully they will fix this soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:26 PM   #15
nickwalnut
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 29
Kaspersky has been dodgy with Steam in the past, it's probably flared up again because of this update. But I agree, I'm not uninstalling Kaspersky; this is a problem with Steam, not the AV software.
nickwalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.