Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Old 01-24-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
Omega Sandvich

The Valve Universe

Sorry if this is in the wrong section, I'm not exactly certain where this would go. I've been looking around on some websites that have a ton of crossover theories for certain Valve games (HL2XPortal, L4DXTF2, PortalXTF2, etc). However, I've never seen anyone attempt bringing more than about 3 of the game's plots together. And since most of the game's plots are pretty mysterious and vague, I think it could be interesting to come up with a way to tie all of these plots together, or at least a bunch of them, in some weird, convoluted way. I've always been into the idea of certain series existing in other series' worlds. However, I'm not very good at coming up with ideas for how they can stick together, so that's mainly why I'm posting this. Is there a point to this? No

Here's some things in each Valve game (that I've played) that could be used as plot connections to other Valve games:

The TF2 Engineer's teleporters, both in design and functionality, somewhat resemble the teleporter that Gordon and Alyx use in HL2, and even more so the prototype teleporters on Dr. Kleiner's desk in his lab (as seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlVBHvuSxyM ). Some connection could also be made with the teleporters and the Portal Gun

TF2, HL2 and Portal all have some form of turrets in the games

The Pyro in TF2 and the Combine Soldiers in HL2 are loosely reminiscent of eachother

The Announcer from TF2, GLaDOS from Portal, and the Combine Overwatch Administrator from HL2 all have very similar voices, implying that they're all the same or similar beings in some way or another. Each one of these characters also have some form of power over something as well (Announcer orders all the TF2 characters, GLaDOS runs Aperture Science Labs, and the Combine Overwatch Administrator...well duh)