Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2010, 06:44 PM   #1
endoftheline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 3
Posts: 3,157
How good is the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470

How good is this card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470

In this laptop:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220699

This is one of the strongest ATI mobile cards I'm thinking, but does anyone know anything about what its performance might be yet?

Like how would it perform in games like starcraft 2, COD4 or even crysis. Remember these games will only be running at the laptop default rez, 1366 x 768
endoftheline is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:39 PM   #2
thomasng1989
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 45
Posts: 1,088
Notebook check to the rescue!
http://www.notebookcheck.net/ATI-Mob...0.23698.0.html

COD4 should run fine on high or medium, but crysis might be a slightly problem. It might be able to run Crysis on low, but I can't guarantee that. Btw, why do you want to run the game at the laptop default resolution? By lowering the resolution you can get a large boost in the Framerate.

If you want to play crysis, get ASUS N81V instead.
thomasng1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 08:12 PM   #3
SiMoNiZoR
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 102
Posts: 784
Why do you need to play crysis on your notebook? Sure, the campaign was fun once, but it's not like there's anything else entertaining enough to make it worth playing after you've beat it (not even the multiplayer).
SiMoNiZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:46 PM   #4
Igorsky
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 186
Posts: 410
heres a review of 5450 just add few more fps to 5470 lol

http://guru3d.com/article/radeon-5450-review/1
Igorsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:45 PM   #5
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Igorsky View Post
heres a review of 5450 just add few more fps to 5470 lol

http://guru3d.com/article/radeon-5450-review/1
That is a desktop video card. The OP is talking about the Mobility 5470.
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 02:49 AM   #6
BSPiotr
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 205
Posts: 1,006
See if you can find the 5740, its in a slightly better Asus (though slightly more expensive overall)
BSPiotr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 08:45 PM   #7
o_jogo
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Can it run ME and ME2 decently?
o_jogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:13 PM   #8
YahooElite
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 782
Posts: 6,942
Its a Low end card on a Laptop, dont expect too much from it, nice CPU though.
YahooElite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:19 PM   #9
Xebec
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 388
Posts: 1,386
Wow..This is an old thread....
Xebec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 11:45 PM   #10
YahooElite
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 782
Posts: 6,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xebec View Post
Wow..This is an old thread....
Hm... just noticed that
YahooElite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 01:15 AM   #11
joemtnbike
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1062
Posts: 2,426
x4xx series = don't expect much = not made 4 gaming
joemtnbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:20 AM   #12
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
had me tripping its that old lol 65000+ View's 10 post's

yeah any x4xx card isn't going to game well HDx7xx min IMO starting with 5770 lol.. although the x6xx can game if you don't like all the eye candy but that may not be true for Laptop part's
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:29 AM   #13
Fatimmortal
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 377
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by o_jogo View Post
Can it run ME and ME2 decently?
I'm not sure about ME, but ME2 ran great on medium-high settings for me.

And guys, it's either necroposting or making a new thread about the same thing over and over again. I think I'll go with necroposting as long as it isn't spam.
Fatimmortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 07:33 PM   #14
o_jogo
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatimmortal View Post
I'm not sure about ME, but ME2 ran great on medium-high settings for me.

And guys, it's either necroposting or making a new thread about the same thing over and over again. I think I'll go with necroposting as long as it isn't spam.
I call necroposting o.o i was googling about that question when I stumbled into this thread, cause I wanted to know since I'm moving some of my steam games over to my laptop.

So its not spam (in defense to my post)
o_jogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 01:03 AM   #15
hollinho
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quick question

Im looking to get a HP Pavilion dv6-3122sa Laptop, the only games that will be run on it will most likely be Football manager (for me) and The Sims 3 (for the missus... or is that the other way around.....)

Anyone know if the ATI Mobility Radeon 5470 (512mb) will have trouble running those? Im thinking Sims 3 will cause the most trouble as i hear Sims games are taxing on laptops.

Any help with this or any suggestions as to an alternative laptop (around the £350-£450 mark) would be highly appreciated.

Cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.