Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2010, 02:49 PM   #1
picary
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 46
Posts: 852
Steam Overlay - Punkbuster Kicking Problem - Disallowed program/driver [125140]

Problem:
Steam overlay is causing Punkbuster to kick us out of the game.



Users who purchased any Punkbuster enabled games, like Call of Duty on Steam are all getting this problem.


You get this error when you get kicked:
Disallowed program/driver [125140]


Whole thread with all users reporting the same problem:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1093061



A user sent this ticket in:
Quote:
01/02/2010 17:12:51 - "Adam D"
Note #4: This isn't an error on our part. Steam overlay is performing a function we do not allow. We apologize for the inconvenience.

01/01/2010 20:39:32 - "Sparra"
Note #3: May I ask if solving this problem is known to the Evenbalance team, and that steps are taken to address this issue? And if so, how long about would it be until this fix is deployed? World at War was recently on sale on steam for 1/2 off, so I'm sure a LOT of people are having issues with being kicked from severs with a relatively generic error message.

01/01/2010 18:33:50 - "Adam D"
Note #2: Steam overlay will need to be disabled while playing on PB enabled servers.

01/01/2010 14:48:24 - "Sparra"
Note #1: Ticket submitted to support staff.

(original ticket)
Punkbuster is kicking me from World at War games while I have the steam overlay activated. Is there anyway to have both punkbuster AND the steam overlay active at the same time? It's quite a handy thing, and I don't want to go through the hassle of disabling it just for one game, then forgetting to enable it on different games...

Could we please get this looked into?




Thanks
picary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 03:13 PM   #2
SquareDisc
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Reputation: 17
Posts: 210
evenbalance probably dont wish to help as cod6 switched to vac
SquareDisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 03:47 PM   #3
Mangr0v3
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 4313
Posts: 13,608
1) How is this related to Steam Community?

2) Disable the overlay.
Mangr0v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 03:54 PM   #4
picary
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 46
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareDisc View Post
evenbalance probably dont wish to help as cod6 switched to vac
This happens to all games that use punkbuster, including Battlefield on steam.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangr0v3 View Post
1) How is this related to Steam Community?

2) Disable the overlay.
1. Isn't Steam overlay part of Steam community?
2. Avoiding the problem doesn't fix it.
picary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:10 PM   #5
Mangr0v3
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 4313
Posts: 13,608
1) No.
2) Steam Overlay does something as part of it's functionality. Punkbuster doesn't allow that. Talk to punkbuster. People want more functionality from the overlay, not less.
Mangr0v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:16 PM   #6
picary
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 46
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangr0v3 View Post
Talk to punkbuster. People want more functionality from the overlay, not less.
You're not Valve staff, sorry.
picary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:50 PM   #7
Scared
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Reputation: 1961
Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by picary View Post
You're not Valve staff, sorry.
No, but he has been around long enough to see VALVe staff say the same thing. VALVe is improving the services they provide (overlay) and EvenBalance need to update their software to allow the service (which is not a cheat) to work properly.
Scared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 07:18 PM   #8
picary
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 46
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkDamo View Post
EvenBalance need to update their software to allow the service (which is not a cheat) to work properly.
Which is why I posted it here, so Valve can work with EvenBalance to resolve this issue.
picary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:25 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #9
MikeBlaszczak
 
MikeBlaszczak's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 4662
Posts: 5,061
We've worked on it, and come to an impasse. There's nothing we can do for it; the fix has to come from EvenBalance.
MikeBlaszczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 09:52 PM   #10
Shock_wave
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 103
Posts: 183
Thats odd because ive played world at war (retail) added as a non steam game and also quake wars (steam) with the overlay active on both games and i have never been kicked at all
Shock_wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 10:00 PM   #11
nlessvenom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 175
Posts: 3,405
Are you sure it's punkbuster? I just played quakelive with no problems at all.
nlessvenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 12:25 AM   #12
relaxeder
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1630
Posts: 2,790
Doesn't disabling the ingame overlay solve the problem? Its not the ideal solution but its easy to do from the settings panel and then you can just play your game.
relaxeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 04:48 AM   #13
SquareDisc
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Reputation: 17
Posts: 210
i've only experienced this problem on my old pc, well the problem just started to happen after a year or so of playing cod4 but on my new pc i have yet to experience this problem but no doubt it'll happen again
SquareDisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 05:04 AM   #14
Darth Rong
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeBlaszczak View Post
We've worked on it, and come to an impasse. There's nothing we can do for it; the fix has to come from EvenBalance.
The other party doesn't want to do anything about it.
Darth Rong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 05:30 AM   #15
Royale
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeBlaszczak View Post
We've worked on it, and come to an impasse. There's nothing we can do for it; the fix has to come from EvenBalance.
I've contacted the EvenBalance support and linked them to this statement, the answer was this:

Quote:
02/20/2010 04:41:52 - "Hendrik T"
Note #2: You'll have to disable Steam overlay for now. These kicks appeared after a Steam update. Nothing has been changed on our side. It's up to them to take back the changes they made.

Last edited by Royale: 02-20-2010 at 05:34 AM.
Royale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.