Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 02:13 PM   #1
KevinBacon
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy FATAL ERROR: Steam must be running to play this game

This is the message I get every time I try to play Modern Warfare 2 (sp and mp). This, of course, is total bull, as I'm starting the game from steam (also tried the main directory).
I've uninstalled, reinstalled and validated the game numerous times (in different orders) without success.
Everything worked fine a couple of months ago.

Please help! I payed good money for this game...

NB. I searched the forum, but could not find any solutions.

Windows 7 64 bit, 4 gb ram, Intel E8400, Radeon 5770, P5n-E SLI.

Last edited by KevinBacon: 02-21-2010 at 02:45 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 02:17 PM   #2
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 2833
Posts: 16,038
Which game are you talking about? There are more than thousand games on Steam.
Nekomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 02:44 PM   #3
KevinBacon
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nekomancer View Post
Which game are you talking about? There are more than thousand games on Steam.
Sorry about that.
The game in question is Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

**fixed

Last edited by KevinBacon: 02-21-2010 at 04:59 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 06:26 PM   #4
puffader
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 193
Posts: 1,969
Do you get this angry when you make movies JK
puffader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:48 AM   #5
ICantShoot
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 415
Posts: 5,897
Delete ClientRegistry.blob from Steam folder, restart steam. Works 99,5% of the errors Steam gives.
ICantShoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:25 PM   #6
KevinBacon
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by puffader View Post
Do you get this angry when you make movies JK
No, not usually, but when I pay 60$ for a game, i expect it to work... Or at least have a valid reason to not work. Steam telling me steam must be running, is absolutely NOT a valid reason.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICantShoot View Post
Delete ClientRegistry.blob from Steam folder, restart steam. Works 99,5% of the errors Steam gives.
Doesn't work.


Come on guys! Please help
Is it at least a way I can get in touch with steam? I live in Scandinavia and figured this pretty much was the only way to get some help without having to make a ridiculously expensive phone-call.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:28 PM   #7
Fish-E
 
Fish-E's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 5991
Posts: 5,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinBacon View Post
No, not usually, but when I pay 60$ for a game, i expect it to work... Or at least have a valid reason to not work. Steam telling me steam must be running, is absolutely NOT a valid reason.



Doesn't work.


Come on guys! Please help
Is it at least a way I can get in touch with steam? I live in Scandinavia and figured this pretty much was the only way to get some help without having to make a ridiculously expensive phone-call.
https://support.steampowered.com/

Use steam support, it's all internet based so no ridiculously expensive phone calls
Fish-E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:40 PM   #8
KevinBacon
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks bro
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:02 AM   #9
KevinBacon
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
They don't seem very interested in helping me... And are just referring to the FAQ, witch I've already read.
I downloaded the crack and now the singleplayer works, but not the multiplayer of course. It's sucks to have to do this on a game I've payed good money for.

Luckily Bad Company was just released...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:42 AM   #10
hachach
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 249
Posts: 1,794
Did you buy the game from steam? Not just add it by the "Add non-steam game" ?
You can also try to browse to the folder and launch it from there. Perhaps rightclicking the .exe and "run as administrator". What about running it in windows XP or vista mode?
hachach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.