Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 12:44 AM   #1
gt24
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 40
Steam won't exit, something still running

(1) Windows 7
(2) Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 and an Nvidia Geforce 9600 256 Mb
(3) Cable internet, not sure of speed, no proxy
(4) http://steamcommunity.com/id/goldentiger24

Quote:
One or more Steam applications are currently running.
To exit Steam, you must close all Steam applications.
Go to Task Manager, look around, don't see any Steam game running. Steam doesn't want to close.

Ok, today I played Team Fortress 2. It was fun. I used in game chat to talk with somebody once during that session. However, TF 2 is not running right now, it exited correctly.

Task Manager shows a GameOverlayUI.exe running... that's interesting. I don't have any games running right now... wonder why that is running? Ok, I am going to End Process on that...

Nope, Steam doesn't want to close.

Fine, I will just End Process Steam...

Can't the dialog box indicate what process is preventing Steam from closing at least?
gt24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:51 AM   #2
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 748
Posts: 7,385
It's better to go to "processes" and "End Process Tree"
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 12:30 PM   #3
pandaking
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I get this same bug. Can't close steam without opening task manager and killing GameOverlayUI.exe

For example, currently I'm not in a game and in my task manager I see two instances of this. :S

---
http://steamcommunity.com/id/pandaking

Windows 7 (64bit)
AMD Phenom II x4 955
4GB G.Skill RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5700
---

Last edited by pandaking: 03-07-2010 at 12:38 PM. Reason: Adding PC specs/setup...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:26 PM   #4
pandaking
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Just wanted to add this is happening for Counter-Strike:Source and Battlefield: Bad Company 2
I haven't tested more games but these two both cause this very annoying bug...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:31 AM   #5
pandaking
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Any news on this bug? It's really annoying having to open up task manager after every game...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:19 AM   #6
michael89
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 256
Posts: 3,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaking View Post
I get this same bug. Can't close steam without opening task manager and killing GameOverlayUI.exe
This happens to me constantly in GTA4.
(has happened even before the beta.)

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1191428
michael89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:49 AM   #7
OldManJenkins
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 384
Posts: 1,479
This is happening to me as well. I also notice when I click "VIEW FRIENDS" at the bottom-right, it reports my status as "In-game", even though I'm obviously not playing anything. This obviously seems pretty related, are any of you experiencing this???
OldManJenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:07 AM   #8
Aegis88
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i am experiencing this same issue
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:31 PM   #9
DarkerMark
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hi,

needed specs:
(1) Windows 7 64bit Professional
(2) AMD Athlon II X2 240 with Ati HD4850
(3) DSL 16Mbit, no proxy
(4) http://steamcommunity.com/id/darkermark

I have the same issue, although only with Source powered games, I have found out that it is related to a Software tool that came with my new soundcard. Whenever I add a game to Creatives ALchemy and I play the game and exit it, Steam will claim than it cannot be closed because a game is still running.:

http://i814.photobucket.com/albums/z...steamerror.png

If I look in the task manager, I can see that a program called gameoverlayui.exe is running (or multiple instances if you start and end more than one game). Killing these processes allows Steam to close.


http://i814.photobucket.com/albums/z...rk/steamui.png

This only happens with the new UI not the old one, I have switched 4 times to make sure of that

Last edited by DarkerMark: 04-12-2010 at 01:40 PM. Reason: spelling and additional info
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:52 AM   #10
uberground
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I have experienced this too (steam refusing to close claiming an app is still open), it's happened with TF2. I'm XP SP3, geforce 9600 GT, intel core 2 quad Q6600. It happened several times last week, no times this week so far.
uberground is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 01:38 PM   #11
nattylife
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 67
count me in as experiencing this too.
nattylife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 02:12 AM   #12
Malachi4
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Its painfully annoying. It only happens to me in CSS, I bring up the overlay in game once, then it refuses to work for the remainder of the time I'm in game. After I've finished the game and try to exit Steam I get the same error shown by DarkerMark.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 11:00 AM   #13
Mikeedude
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 46
Posts: 442
Me 2 although not all the time,note only when my UI is the new one, sometimes when I load steam old one comes up and it all works ok.
This happens with various games as well.
Mikeedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 12:20 AM   #14
hellotyler
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 36
Add me to the list of people who can't close Steam.
hellotyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:53 PM   #15
thewelshbloke
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
No processes other than Steam.exe The problem I suspect is linked to Steam not handling a resume from sleep mode. This never used to be an issue it is now and has been for about a month or so.

Problems exhibits in a number of ways.
1. Cannot close steam exit application first
2. Application appears to start but hangs at starting app notice. Select cancel and normally you can start the app although you will almost certainly receive an error with regards to authenticating with steam some 5 or so minutes later.

Only solution currently is to force steam to close via Task manager and restart. This normally takes longer than it should about 1 or 2 minutes. Restart and everything is fine.
thewelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.