Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Torchlight series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2010, 02:19 AM   #1
Golden Void
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 139
Binding the function keys

I have never managed to get this to work! I open my mini-skill panel, mouse-over a skill and press a function key (F3 it was). It then seems to map it fine, since "F3" now appears on the skill icon there (and also in my main skill tree where you spend points).

However, when I press F3, I hear a sound (one I've not heard the game make anywhere else before), but nothing happens. Unmapped function keys don't make this new sound, so it must mean something.

Any advice?
Golden Void is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:43 AM   #2
immensewok
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
The function keys should replace the skill on right mouse button with the bound skill, not actually cast/use the skill. I don't find that very useful but there it is.
You may also want to check that you're actually pressing F5 and not brightness down or whatever. Some keyboards have a function key to toggle between F1-12 and assorted special functions.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 09:42 AM   #3
Golden Void
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by immensewok View Post
The function keys should replace the skill on right mouse button with the bound skill, not actually cast/use the skill. I don't find that very useful but there it is.
Huh? While that would certainly explain my symptom, that is spectacularly useless functionality.
Golden Void is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:50 AM   #4
kyiori
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 8
Posts: 391
Yes, because it's useless to you means it serves no purpose to anyone else... I don't really use it either though.
kyiori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:06 PM   #5
unit335
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden Void View Post
Huh? While that would certainly explain my symptom, that is spectacularly useless functionality.
Don't worry. I was confused by this too. ("Why isn't the farkin spell casting...!?") It's an awkward system -- especially when used together with the TAB spell changey thingie. But you will get used to it after a while. Honest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 04:17 PM   #6
thinsoldier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by unit335 View Post
Don't worry. I was confused by this too. ("Why isn't the farkin spell casting...!?") It's an awkward system -- especially when used together with the TAB spell changey thingie. But you will get used to it after a while. Honest.
I still hate it.

This game (like most software) needs more options so people can configure it for maximum fun!
thinsoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 07:48 PM   #7
unit335
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinsoldier View Post
I still hate it.

This game (like most software) needs more options so people can configure it for maximum fun!
Well, your options are more than you might think if all you are looking for are in-game menus and such. For example, here is a keybinding guide.

You might also find a mod to change things better to your liking.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Torchlight series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.