Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Half-Life

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2010, 11:52 AM   #1
Falleax
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 34
Half life keeps freezing.

Whenever I play Half life 1 or Blue Shift, it freezes alot when I get to a checkpoint or loading area. Opposing Force doesn't have this problem though. What do I do?
Falleax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 12:40 PM   #2
erb1054
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Posts: 142
It would help if you posted your computer's specs.
erb1054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 12:48 PM   #3
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5255
Posts: 22,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by erb1054 View Post
It would help if you posted your computer's specs.
This. And, whether you've been able to play the game before now without freezing, and what might have changed on your rig (including any running programs/firewalls) since then.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 11:47 PM   #4
Falleax
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by erb1054 View Post
It would help if you posted your computer's specs.
I'm sorry I don't really know anything about my specs or how to figure out what they are. If it helps, I'm using Windows 7. But what do I exactly do to see my specs?

I'm sorry, I'm new to Steam and Ive barely used it, so its confusing.
Falleax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:14 AM   #5
erb1054
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Posts: 142
Click on the start pearl, in the start menu type dxdiag.exe, then press enter. When the program comes up click save all information. It will save it to your desktop. Now go to your desktop and double click on the file. Copy everything that is in that file and paste it in a post. I should also be able to see from that a couple of things that may be causing this problem. Let us know if you need more help
erb1054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 07:11 AM   #6
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
And easier way is open Steam, and click on System Information in the Help menu.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 12:19 PM   #7
erb1054
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Posts: 142
I didn't know you could do that. I learned something new.
erb1054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:00 PM   #8
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by erb1054 View Post
I didn't know you could do that. I learned something new.
I only discovered it a few weeks ago.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:51 AM   #9
Falleax
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 34
Processor Information:
Vendor: AuthenticAMD
Speed: 2907 Mhz
2 logical processors
2 physical processors
HyperThreading: Unsupported
FCMOV: Supported
SSE2: Supported
SSE3: Supported
SSSE3: Supported
SSE4a: Supported
SSE41: Unsupported
SSE42: Unsupported

Network Information:
Network Speed:

Windows Version:
Windows 7 (32 bit)
NTFS: Supported

Video Card:
Driver: ATI Radeon 2100 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM)
DirectX Driver Name: atiumdag.dll
Driver Version: 8.56.1.15
DirectX Driver Version: 8.14.10.630
Driver Date: 24 Apr 2009
Desktop Color Depth: 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Refresh Rate: 59 Hz
DirectX Card: ATI Radeon 2100 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM)
VendorID: 0x1002
DeviceID: 0x796e
Number of Monitors: 1
Number of Logical Video Cards: 1
No SLI or Crossfire Detected
Primary Display Resolution: 1366 x 768
Desktop Resolution: 1366 x 768
Primary Display Size: 18.98" x 10.67" (21.73" diag)
48.2cm x 27.1cm (55.2cm diag)
Primary Bus Type Not Detected
Primary VRAM: 128 MB
Supported MSAA Modes: 2x 4x 6x


Sound card:
Audio device: Speakers (Realtek High Definiti

Memory:
RAM: 1918 Mb

Miscellaneous:
UI Language: English
Microphone: Not set
Media Type: DVD
Total Hard Disk Space Available: 305142 Mb
Largest Free Hard Disk Block: 271954 Mb
Steam Hard Disk Usage: 6499 Mb
OS Install Date: Feb 11 2010
Installed Packages: Firefox,Windows Firewall


Heres my specs, I hope it helps.
Falleax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 07:12 AM   #10
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
Try using one of the following game launch options to force your video mode: -d3d or -gl or -soft. See this Support article if you need help.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 09:15 AM   #11
Falleax
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorpie View Post
Try using one of the following game launch options to force your video mode: -d3d or -gl or -soft. See this Support article if you need help.
That works, thanks so much!
Falleax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Half-Life


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.