Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2010, 01:15 PM   #1
marcusriv
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
PhysXloader.dll

hi i get message after installing game "this program can't continue because PhysXloader.dll is missing from your computer".

i have a i7 920, ati5870 and windows 7 64-bit
marcusriv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 01:44 PM   #2
Scray
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Restart your computer.
Worked for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
bradlewis
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 8
Posts: 340
Its because the installer didnt install physx even if you have an ATI card you need it installed.

If an rr doesnt work then go into the game files C:\programefiles \THQ and you should be able to find a physx setup/installer in the metro2033 folder somewhere.
bradlewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 03:04 PM   #4
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradlewis View Post
Its because the installer didnt install physx even if you have an ATI card you need it installed.

If an rr doesnt work then go into the game files C:\programefiles \THQ and you should be able to find a physx setup/installer in the metro2033 folder somewhere.
+1 I saw it in there somewhere.
JK_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 05:58 PM   #5
rackley
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Posts: 17
I found it here:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\install
rackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 06:00 PM   #6
Viper114
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 87
I couldn't find it anywhere, so I went and downloaded the DLL from somewhere, put it in my Windows/system folder and it worked.
Viper114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 08:11 PM   #7
bullshizzle25
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 53
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by rackley View Post
I found it here:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\install
Correct.
I kept getting the error message even with a reinstall.
Finally went to the above location.
clicked on the Physx file, it opened and uninstalled itself.
I then installed the file again and I was good to go.

I'm not sure what the deal is here, but I have ATI GPUs so that might be an issue.

Nonetheless, I had to reinstall the program by the above method before the darn game would work.
bullshizzle25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:26 AM   #8
{XF} GT500
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Odd, I have an NVIDIA video card with the latest drivers and PhysX installed, and I still had the issue.

Thanks for the info on where to find the PhysX installer thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 11:29 PM   #9
T3CH
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Reinstaleld the game, Ive replaced the physX, updated my drivers...

My computer should be fine,

9800 GT card. It runs COD MW2 fine. The game doesn't even have the courtesy to supply me with a proper error message- just a damned windows error report. <.< Keep the help coming, there's gota be a magical cure somewhere...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:46 AM   #10
KG363
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 35
that app in the install folder only uninstalls it. It still doesn't work for me. I went to the nvidia website for it but It said i have newer ones already.I have crossfired 5770's, phenom II x3, win 7 64bit
KG363 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 02:58 PM   #11
Grudge
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 38
Posts: 272
Having the same issue here, just picked this game up for $25.

I'm running an i7 920 with a 5870, getting this same error.

I have downloaded physx directly from nvidia, and it says I have a more recent version already installed.

I'm annoyed that I can't uninstall this game without deleting all of the files, I have to re-download the entire game to try and reinstall it.
Grudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 03:46 PM   #12
Pamppu
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Started working for me when I reinstalled PhyX and then reboot my PC.

Machine Specs:

Nvidia GTX285
Intel C2Q Q9450
4Gb RAM
Pamppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:00 PM   #13
19snc89
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamppu View Post
Started working for me when I reinstalled PhyX and then reboot my PC.

Machine Specs:

Nvidia GTX285
Intel C2Q Q9450
4Gb RAM
this!

specs:
ATI 5850
intel i7-860
6GB RAM
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:12 PM   #14
SIFU
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 13
Posts: 758
I dont know if this will help but ive come across a few games here & there that for the game to work you need to acctually uninstall physix,then let that game install it,an then update from there if needed,just a shot inna dark,but same errors n crap
SIFU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:37 PM   #15
tOpOfThElInE
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
This worked for me:
After getting the error, go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\install
then hit the physx.exe, and it will uninstall. After it has uninstalled, hit .exe again and now it will install it. then restart your computer. after that go to steam and start the game there and it will work.
tOpOfThElInE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.