Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Doom series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2010, 12:20 PM   #1
SinanDira
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 124
Doom 3: RoE Key - Huh?

Can anybody tell me what to do with this? When launching Doom 3 it asks me about something called "the RoE Key", I can't pass without it. While I never heard of this shortform, I also don't have any numbers associated with the game (talking about the Steam version of course), there isn't even an option to view the CD key. What should I do to play the game?

EDIT: Fantastic, I've just figured out that the shortform stands for Resurrection of Evil. However, that doesn't help at all. Steam doesn't give me the option to view any of the CD keys of the two games.

Last edited by SinanDira: 03-21-2010 at 12:25 PM.
SinanDira is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 01:44 PM   #2
gambler
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 28
Posts: 159
Open regedit.exe (If you're on XP, Start->Run then type regedit.exe, if on Vista/7 just type regedit.exe into the search box)

Go to: "Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Valve\TestApp 9070" (no spaces or ")

The value SteamKey is your CD key. (It might also be 9050, because 9050 is Doom 3, 9070 is RoE)
gambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 01:49 PM   #3
spyrochaete
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 369
Posts: 3,813
Run Doom 3 once, and then run the expansion pack once. That will solve your problem.
spyrochaete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 08:19 PM   #4
MADDOGGE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 11817
Posts: 26,223
Run RoE first. Bring it up walk, save, exit. Start up Doom 3 and it should run then without asking for the key. This was an old problem supposedly fixed!
MADDOGGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:30 AM   #5
SinanDira
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 124
What a weird problem! The second solution solved it. Thanks guys.
SinanDira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:12 AM   #6
OptimusHun
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 12
Posts: 574
Hi! i just planning to buy Doom3 pack, but I want to be sure: that solution is really helps? 75% sale is a rarity for this game, but if it's don't work.
OptimusHun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:16 AM   #7
spyrochaete
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 369
Posts: 3,813
The game works fine. All you have to do is run the base game and then run the expansion pack.
spyrochaete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:39 AM   #8
OptimusHun
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 12
Posts: 574
Thanks!
OptimusHun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Doom series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.