Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 12:50 PM   #1
Flashpoint Gold
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Can I get an outside copy of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat to work with Steam?

I bought CoP from Gamestop(oh noes! gamestop!), it was also a collectors edition, so I could download it quickly and not wait forever and not be able to play any online games for a while. But, I want it to work with Steam so I can get the in-game overlay to work with it. So I do the add shortcut thing cause it has worked for every one of my games so far, but it keeps coming up with an error when I try to get it to run from Steam. The error says: Cannot open file "fsgame.ltx". Check your working folder. I've tried using the product code to just register it with Steam, but Steam tells me it is invalid even though it is not.

So I was kinda wondering: Wut do?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 01:07 PM   #2
Dragunovhun
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 413
Posts: 1,515
No, the game cannot be registered on Steam.

Don't worry though, the Steam overlay doesn't work with stalker games at all anyways.
Dragunovhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:15 PM   #3
wazups 2x
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1248
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragunovhun View Post
No, the game cannot be registered on Steam.

Don't worry though, the Steam overlay doesn't work with stalker games at all anyways.
I haven't played COP yet, but in SOC the Steam overlay works.
wazups 2x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 02:28 AM   #4
Firefox_gb
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello
you can add most of your games to the 'MY Games' tab in Steam overlay, and play them from there. But you are not runing them 'under' Steam as such.
Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 05:57 AM   #5
lordfrikk
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 18
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragunovhun View Post
Don't worry though, the Steam overlay doesn't work with stalker games at all anyways.
Hmm...

http://i43.tinypic.com/rhprps.jpg

http://i42.tinypic.com/zxpeoi.jpg
lordfrikk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:29 AM   #6
Dragunovhun
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 413
Posts: 1,515
That's the beta UI you smug git. It could very well have the promised fix already.
Dragunovhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:43 AM   #7
lordfrikk
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 18
Posts: 476
I don't see how that does make any difference. OP didn't state if he's using the beta UI or not. Moreover, I've been using it without a problem for quite some time now. It's faster due to the Webkit integration and if the overlay works in games that it didn't before, that's even more reason to use it.

Name calling isn't neccessary, Dragunovhun.
lordfrikk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:45 AM   #8
Dragunovhun
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 413
Posts: 1,515
Why are you calling my name then? :P Anyways, no harm intended

Last edited by Dragunovhun: 03-27-2010 at 07:48 AM.
Dragunovhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:16 AM   #9
Flashpoint Gold
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm using the beta UI btw, only problem with it is the in-game overlay likes to shut off on me in the middle of typing so I get like 2 or 3 words and then it closes... But I'm already addressing that in the bugs forum.

I just wish I could get the overlay to work with Stalker. Its a pain to have to get out of game to check my messages and then it takes forever for the game to load back up. I've also learned to make sure I'm paused first, you don't want to load back up and then a bloodsucker appear like 2 inches infront of your face. Those eyes...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.