Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2010, 07:22 AM   #1
chaotic_uk
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 350
physXloader.dll missing ?

i cannot get the game to start due to it saying the physXloader.dll is missing , i have reinstalled it from the disk but still will not load . please help

edit : nevermind sorted it

Last edited by chaotic_uk: 03-30-2010 at 08:09 AM.
chaotic_uk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:16 AM   #2
d3stroyer427
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 13
Update your graphics drivers. Go to Nvidia's website (assuming you have an Nvidia tech. based graphics card), and update to the LATEST GRAPHICS CARD DRIVER. Hope that helps =)
d3stroyer427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:18 AM   #3
chaotic_uk
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 350
running crossfired 5770's so i don't need it ?
chaotic_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:50 AM   #4
JXF
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 24
Posts: 380
I am glad to see you got this error sorted.

But instead of just editing your OP with "edit: Nevermind sorted it" maybe you could explain how you fixed if for anyone with the same problem my have help to fix it for them.

~JXF.

Last edited by JXF: 03-30-2010 at 09:21 AM.
JXF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:00 AM   #5
Edward To
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 227
I had this problem as well, and the problem was due to the uninstallation of Nvidia's PhysX drivers upon installing my new ATI card I purchased just for Metro 2033. You can reinstall the PhysX drivers from Nvidia at http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx_9.10.0129.html.
Edward To is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:05 AM   #6
chaotic_uk
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by JXF View Post
I am glad to see you got this error sorted.

But instead of just editing you OP with "edit: Nevermind sorted it" maybe you could explain how you fixed if for anyone with the same problem my have help to fix it for them.

~JXF.
reinstalled it from the steam folder then it still gave me the error , restarted steam and it worked lol
chaotic_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:06 AM   #7
JXF
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 24
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward To View Post
I had this problem as well, and the problem was due to the uninstallation of NVidia’s PhysX drivers upon installing my new ATI card I purchased just for Metro 2033. You can reinstall the PhysX drivers from NVidia at http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx_9.10.0129.html.
Indeed I know the error and fix myself but I wanted to give the OP a chance to help others.
I guess I should have just added the Fix to my post... Never mind.

For people that may not wish or are unable to download the quoted fix you can find the required (possibly not latest] PhysX drivers in your Metro 2033 folder.

Windows Vista / 7 x64 (64bit)
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\install\PhysX_10.02.22_9.10.0222_SystemSoftwa re.exe
Windows Vista / 7 / XP x86 (32bit)
  • C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\install\PhysX_10.02.22_9.10.0222_SystemSoftwa re.exe
These are if your Steam install is in the default location!

Thanks.
~JXF.

Last edited by JXF: 03-30-2010 at 09:10 AM.
JXF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:12 AM   #8
JXF
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 24
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaotic_uk View Post
reinstalled it from the steam folder then it still gave me the error , restarted steam and it worked lol
Good to here.

Isn't it odd how sometimes the simplest fix is the one you don't really think of.
I kind of wish others would try some of these fixes more oftern.
Oh well.

~JXF.
JXF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:02 PM   #9
xan.kriegor666
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaotic_uk View Post
reinstalled it from the steam folder then it still gave me the error , restarted steam and it worked lol
Dude i love you right now. lol; just built my new gaming rig and was having problems with this stupid physxloader !!

i had it running on my old pc but brand new install etc i was ready for giving up, great advice either way
xan.kriegor666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 07:26 AM   #10
chaotic_uk
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by xan.kriegor666 View Post
Dude i love you right now. lol; just built my new gaming rig and was having problems with this stupid physxloader !!

i had it running on my old pc but brand new install etc i was ready for giving up, great advice either way
glad it worked for you , adding a rep point would be good
chaotic_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 06:31 PM   #11
Metanar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Hello, I have this error except I seem to be in the minority of this fix not changing anything. To this moment I have tried the following:
-Using the PhysX install file included in the Metro 2033 steam folder
-Downloading PhysX_10.02.22_9.10.0222 and installing it
-Manually placing the .dll in System32

No idea what to do now, as I've tried every suggestion I've seen. Any help would be appreciated.

EDIT: Nevermind, I restarted my PC and it works.

Last edited by Metanar: 04-09-2010 at 06:59 PM.
Metanar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 07:40 PM   #12
SmOkE-EaTeR
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
I have also tried the listed fixes and even reinstalled the game and I am still getting this physx dll crap wtf
i hope they patch this it seems to be a few of us ATI card owners, I see I have the latest phsx installed on my machine idk what else to do
SmOkE-EaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 01:11 PM   #13
SmOkE-EaTeR
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Fixed

I forgot to uninstall the old physx from my pc and went to nvidea got the latest physx drivers and the game works fine now
Thanks for the info guys it has helped alot!
SmOkE-EaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:30 PM   #14
Dirty Hipsters
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I just had the same problem with Metro 2033 (running an Ati Radeon HD 6550 graphics card), and restarting steam worked to fix my problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:54 PM   #15
werewasstw
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
yep fixed by restarting steam
werewasstw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.