Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Just Cause series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 02:53 PM   #1
cameronfootball
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Red face Just Cause 2 DirectX

Plz help me. I cant start Just cause 2 a directX error comes up saying this

Fatal DirectX Error!

Code 15

Result: 0x80070057:E_INVALIDARG

The game will now exit.

but i meet all the requirments
\please help
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:45 PM   #2
Soxmis-UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 3
Posts: 62
Hi Cameron,

What are your specs please? OS, Video Card, sound, CPU RAM etc.
Soxmis-UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:47 PM   #3
Saffire123
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 46
Posts: 1,375
My guess is you're running Windows xp ...
Saffire123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 04:53 PM   #4
cameronfootball
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
UMMMM......... no i have windows 7 but thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 04:53 PM   #5
cameronfootball
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
and Soxmis-UK idk what those are
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 05:06 PM   #6
Saffire123
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 46
Posts: 1,375
Soxmis-Uk was wondering the following:

Your videocard-
Ram-
Processor-
Operating system - Which you said is Windows 7, is that 32 bit or 64 bit out of curiosity?

This guy here, had the same problem as you. I would try reinstalling Direct X and see if that fixes the problem. Overall though, I didnt know much else to do.
Saffire123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 05:55 PM   #7
cameronfootball
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
This is what i could find




Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP G60 Notebook PC
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4300 @ 2.10GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3004MB RAM
Page File: 2193MB used, 3810MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 64bit Unicode

Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2A42&SUBSYS_360B103C&REV_09
Display Memory: 1309 MB
Dedicated Memory: 64 MB
Shared Memory: 1245 MB
Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id: SEC3451
Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (60.031Hz)
Output Type: Internal
Driver Name: igdumd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igdumdx32,igd10umd32
Driver File Version: 8.15.0010.1872 (English)
Driver Version: 8.15.10.1872
DDI Version: 10
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 06:27 PM   #8
cameronfootball
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
And also how can i uninstall directX 11 Then reinstall it??
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 06:52 PM   #9
Saffire123
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 46
Posts: 1,375
Not 100% sure, but I think its because you have a Integrated Video card. Dont worry bout reinstalling Direct x 11, its your chipset. I dont have enough experience to really point you in the right direction, but I believe I found your problem.

How does that card handle other games? Ones that don't run DX9? If you get a direct x error from a non DX9 game, then I can assume your integrated video card cant support Dx10/11. Dont quote me though.
Saffire123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 06:54 PM   #10
cameronfootball
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Well i bought this pc in december and it came with directX 11 already installed
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 07:54 PM   #11
Soxmis-UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 3
Posts: 62
I think that saff is saying it's your Chipset that looks like it cannot handle/process the game. You may need a PC and a suitably powerful enough graphics card to run it, a few people with these Mobil Intel chipsets are having problems and those that can get the game to run with them have ridiculously low framerates like 4 FPS which makes it effectively impossible to play.

Sorry to bring bad news but I dont think your chipset, or your CPU size/speed meets the minimum specs.

You can confirm this here.

Last edited by Soxmis-UK: 04-12-2010 at 07:59 PM. Reason: Info tip
Soxmis-UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:41 PM   #12
ChronoBodi
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 16
Posts: 291
well... it's a crappy intel chipset, you need to get a laptop with a ATI or Nvidia GPU.
ChronoBodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:42 AM   #13
Evolution'
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChronoBodi View Post
well... it's a crappy intel chipset, you need to get a laptop with a ATI or Nvidia GPU.
only alienware laptops will play this, ie 1300£ worth of machine

no games are made for mobile gpu's and if they work you can say ur lucky, ALWAYS check game requirements cuz im pretty sure jc2 dont have mobile gpu support

as for intel mobile gpu's LOL they struggle on HD movies and windows aero looks crap with em too
Evolution' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:43 AM   #14
Evolution'
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by cameronfootball View Post
Well i bought this pc in december and it came with directX 11 already installed
its not PC its a laptop, two very different things entirely
Evolution' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:40 AM   #15
mathesar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 15
Posts: 861
If im not mistaken those integrated Intel videocards use shared memory instead of there own. Just cause 2 needs a videocard with at least 256MB ram.

I guess the OP could also check the Can you run it? website and see what it says.
mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Just Cause series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.