Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 11:32 AM   #1
XxchainsawwxX
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Call of duty 4 KEYCODE IN USE!!!!

I bought Call of duty 4 yesterday,
And now i want to play, every time i want to join a server
it says
"Keycode in use"
When i go to multiplayer options and go to keycode
and then press apply it says "Keycode appears to be valid"
Then what is the problem???
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:40 AM   #2
Wolfpig
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,036
You are using Windows Vista or 7?

Try to run the Multiplayer with Adminrights, or else Punkbuster could produce failures ( like maybe this one ).
Wolfpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:38 PM   #3
XxchainsawwxX
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I am installing it again
but with every game i had PB problems
I downloaded the newest PB version
but it says
PB wrong version or something
But, if it wont working after the reinstallation
Then i will try to run it in adminrights
Because i have vista
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 01:34 PM   #4
klaymen_sk
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 6
Posts: 181
There is always a chance that some pirate prick could get your cd-key spewn off from a keygen. Since the CoD key is not one-use only (like retail key for Valve games), it is possible.
klaymen_sk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 01:35 PM   #5
BrianD000
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by klaymen_sk View Post
There is always a chance that some pirate prick could get your cd-key spewn off from a keygen. Since the CoD key is not one-use only (like retail key for Valve games), it is possible.
Like a one in a million chance it will generate the one you own
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 01:53 PM   #6
Wolfpig
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxchainsawwxX View Post
But, if it wont working after the reinstallation
Then i will try to run it in adminrights
Because i have vista
Or use it this way from the start.
I have had in another Board the same question, because someone there has had the same Problem, and it was gone after he started the Multiplayer as admin.

That is caused through Punkbuster, which only works correct when it is running whit Adminrights.
Wolfpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 02:12 PM   #7
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 748
Posts: 7,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianD000 View Post
Like a one in a million chance it will generate the one you own
It can and does happen
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 03:06 PM   #8
BrianD000
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes but if a keygen generates a key already in use it cant be used to play online
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 03:12 PM   #9
XxchainsawwxX
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I did everything
EVEN DEINSTALLED THE GAME!!
But still no results
My lvl has been resetted because i runned it in administrator
im banned from every server
and i cant GO to any server
Because my keycode is in use
Thanks steam
For Messing with my second acount
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 03:13 PM   #10
BrianD000
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Why not contact Steam Support? See if they can reset the key for you
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 03:40 PM   #11
Blaadjuh
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I contacted steam support yesterday for the same problem, their reply was:

Thank you for contacting Steam Support.

-If you are running in Windows Vista or Windows 7, please completely exit Steam, and right-click on the shortcut which you use to launch Steam and select "Run as Administrator."

(plus a whole bunch more, but thats not important)



so go to the steam exe in the installation folder and right click, click properties, go to the compatability tab and then click change settings for all users. click run as administrator.

this solved it for me, should work for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:53 PM   #12
XxchainsawwxX
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok it helped but
My playerstats have been resetted
im lvl 1 now
every time i start the game up
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 05:43 PM   #13
srvrsyde
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 328
looks like you downloaded a pirated copy
srvrsyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:53 PM   #14
klaymen_sk
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 6
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianD000 View Post
Yes but if a keygen generates a key already in use it cant be used to play online
The "cd key already in use" message actually means that someone with that key is playing right now. If he/she stops playing, you can start, though you can't know when is the key being used.
klaymen_sk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 02:16 AM   #15
XxchainsawwxX
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I've got no reason too play this game anymore
everytime i play im lvl 1
and a playerstats error
AND I BOUGHT IT THROUGH STEAM
ITS NOT PIRATED!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.