Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 03:50 AM   #1
xcmon3yx2
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 20
Steam "these setting are for advanced users" WTF come on are you serious!

this is just ridiculous, every time i go to launch options for a game this stupid message with a blank dialog box appears, I hit okay and it dissapears. I WASNT AWARE CHANGING BASIC SETTINGS, FOR A GAME WAS SO ADVANCED IM FOR SOME REASON NOT ALLOWED TO ACCESS THEM

Way to ruin something that wasn't broken, kind of reminds me of xbl when there were 5 easy categories, now there is 13 bajillion that all lead to the same thing
xcmon3yx2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 04:03 AM   #2
Slayer00
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 1139
Posts: 5,510
Umm... That is exactly what it was before too?
They didn't change launch options menu at all from older version to this 2010 version.
Slayer00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 04:17 AM   #3
Nisseman
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 131
Posts: 521
It´s called they made something good better.
Nisseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 04:57 AM   #4
Arctic Ice
 
Arctic Ice's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 1539
Posts: 5,927
The dialog box is not supposed to be blank. There is supposed to be an input field with "OK" and "Cancel" buttons. What game are you trying this for?

The sentence "for advanced users" is still supposed to be there though.

Do you have a font problem?
Arctic Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:09 AM   #5
Slayer00
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 1139
Posts: 5,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcmon3yx2 View Post
blank dialog box appears
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcmon3yx2 View Post
I hit okay and it dissapears.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arctic Ice View Post
The dialog box is not supposed to be blank. There is supposed to be an input field with "OK" and "Cancel" buttons. What game are you trying this for?

The sentence "for advanced users" is still supposed to be there though.

Do you have a font problem?
I think he means that the input field is blank and he can see the OK and cancel because he wrote he clicks OK and it closes like it should be.

_

Last edited by Slayer00: 04-28-2010 at 05:17 AM.
Slayer00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 07:42 AM   #6
in.meinem.turm.
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 387
Posts: 4,273
Are you hardcore enough to click on this message?
in.meinem.turm. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:25 PM   #7
Dragauss
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcmon3yx2 View Post
this is just ridiculous, every time i go to launch options for a game this stupid message with a blank dialog box appears, I hit okay and it dissapears. I WASNT AWARE CHANGING BASIC SETTINGS, FOR A GAME WAS SO ADVANCED IM FOR SOME REASON NOT ALLOWED TO ACCESS THEM

Way to ruin something that wasn't broken, kind of reminds me of xbl when there were 5 easy categories, now there is 13 bajillion that all lead to the same thing
If no one answered your question, launch options are manual commands that you enter into that blank dialog box. There is no interface or anything, you enter text commands here.

That's what its for. If you want to change game settings like video and audio,you need to launch the game and enter the settings menu.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:34 PM   #8
Matt
 
Matt's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator - I was on TV!
Join Date: Jun 2003
Reputation: 4718
Posts: 22,912
I don't get the problem. My options box looks exactly the same as always.

__________________
Steam Community and Forum Moderator
Have Fun!
Forum Rules: View
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:43 PM   #9
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3942
Posts: 17,602
This is why the sentence is included in the dialog box. Apparently you do not know what "Launch Options" are...

__________________
Nothing to see here
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.