Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
XrmFuSioN
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Unable to find steam

Whenever I try to launch Civilization IV (the only steam game I own), I get an application error "Failed to find Steam", even though I get the message from Steam initially saying "preparing to launch Civilization IV." Also, steam is in fact running and has me logged in when I try to launch the game. It's visible in the Task Manager and the task bar. It has been almost a month since I've played the game but nothing about my hardware or software has changed, minus the latest Steam update from April 28th. I have a pretty cruddy internet connection so I haven't attempted to reinstall anything yet, thought I'd look around for a solution first.

My specs:
Windows 7 64bit
AMD 64 X2 4400+ CPU
4GB RAM
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 260
Auzentech HDA Xplosion 7.1 sound card

*edit meant to say "Failed to find steam" in the title

Last edited by XrmFuSioN: 05-01-2010 at 07:56 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 11:17 AM   #2
XrmFuSioN
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Update: I uninstalled everything, removed the registry entries associated with Steam, deleted the Steam folder, and reinstalled everything. Still get the application error "Failed to find steam" when I try to launch Civ4 from both my desktop shortcut and from within steam.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 02:17 PM   #3
XrmFuSioN
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Update 2: Fixed the problem, of course the solution turned out to be something simple. Turned off Spyware Doctor and the game runs just fine now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:05 AM   #4
Fruityjoy
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I have the same problem. Anyone who posts and has any idea of a solution would be very apreciated. I have about 30 steam games, and only civilization gives this problem.
Fruityjoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:16 AM   #5
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5230
Posts: 11,033
http://forums.steamgames.com/forums/...33&postcount=4

Try the fix here, it's due to a hard coded pathing issue that doesn't handle 64 bit OS well.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.