Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > DiRT series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2010, 12:13 AM   #1
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
FOr those people that are still crashing in DIRT2..

Ok im on an AMD/ATI quad-core system just so you guys know..

If you DIDNT try out the leaked 10.4b/10.5 ATI drivers you can try that aswell..

I seemed to have stopped any crashing issues by changing and deleting some simple files..along with installing those leaked ATI drivers..

THIS IS FOR QUAD-CORE SYSTEMS ONLY!...I remade this file...its based on the workerMAP8core file..

Directions:
go to--->Steam\steamapps\common\dirt 2\system--->find the XML files that say workerMAP and workerMAP2core and delete them(make a backup first)--->backup workerMAP4core---> then open up workerMAP4core---> select all and delete everything---> keep workerMAP4core open and copy this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<workerMap>

<workerThread name="core_0" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="core_1" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="core_2" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="core_3" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="gc_01" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="25600" />
<workerThread name="gc_02" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="25600" />
<workerThread name="gc_03" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="25600" />
<workerThread name="gc_04" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="25600" />

<workerSet name="generic_workers" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="collision" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<!-- solver cannot run on same threads as softbody -->
<workerSet name="solver" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="softbody" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="integrator" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="plugin_finalise" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="cloth" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="handling" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ai" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="vehicleSingleThreaded" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<!-- IMPORTANT - maximise thread usage for this workerSet as it is used only during the single threaded update, hence all threads are waiting for it -->
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pfx" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="visibility" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover_workers" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="gc_01" />
<worker name="gc_02" />
<worker name="gc_03" />
<worker name="gc_04" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="anim" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="build_crowd" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="in_car_characters" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="view_manager" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="storage" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pssg_storage" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="osdUpdateSet" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="audio" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="damageSkinning" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>
</workerMap>

then paste it in the open workerMAP4core file---> save and close it--->try to run your game..let me know if it works please..to make sure it REALLY works delete workerMAP8core also..

Last edited by bes: 05-05-2010 at 04:48 PM.
bes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
Come on people, 30views and none of you will tell me if it worked or not?

Ill be making one for a 6-core system also soon..

For dual core systems the workerMAP2 one should work fine, just have to delete the other worker maps..

If the config in the first post didnt work, try this one instead:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<workerMap>

<workerThread name="core_0" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="core_1" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="core_2" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="core_3" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="26000" />
<workerThread name="gc_01" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="25600" />
<workerThread name="gc_02" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="25600" />
<workerThread name="gc_03" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="25600" />
<workerThread name="gc_04" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="25600" />

<workerSet name="generic_workers" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="collision" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<!-- solver cannot run on same threads as softbody -->
<workerSet name="solver" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="softbody" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="integrator" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="plugin_finalise" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="cloth" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="handling" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ai" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="vehicleSingleThreaded" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<!-- IMPORTANT - maximise thread usage for this workerSet as it is used only during the single threaded update, hence all threads are waiting for it -->
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pfx" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="visibility" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover_workers" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="gc_01" />
<worker name="gc_02" />
<worker name="gc_03" />
<worker name="gc_04" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="anim" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="build_crowd" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="in_car_characters" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="view_manager" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="storage" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pssg_storage" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="osdUpdateSet" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="audio" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="damageSkinning" jobpoolsize="1024" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>
</workerMap>

Last edited by bes: 05-05-2010 at 05:29 PM.
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
Budden
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
It worked

Well it worked, I played for over an hour no crash, I did keep the ATI 10.4 driver and it worked out fine. I did have 1 crash after over an hour of play, but I was also overclocking my card so could be that but thank you after 4 days of no help you fixed it for me
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:12 PM   #4
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budden View Post
Well it worked, I played for over an hour no crash, I did keep the ATI 10.4 driver and it worked out fine. I did have 1 crash after over an hour of play, but I was also overclocking my card so could be that but thank you after 4 days of no help you fixed it for me
Cool, NP.. I have been still testing it out, I seem to have it down to the two I posted above, it seems to use less CPU now than before due to the smaller stack size..

I still get crashing, but I can play longer before it happens, im guessing the memory settings need some tweaking also, since codemasters got lazy and left XBOX and PS3 settings in the files along with the PC settings..

It will take me a bit to go through it all..
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:44 AM   #5
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
This version of the workerMAP4Core seemed to work the best, game ran for 5hours without crashing.. try it if you want..

CPU usage on my 955BE@3.4ghz was just under 50% all cores(about 35/40%)..

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<workerMap>

<workerThread name="core_0" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_1" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_2" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_3" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="gc_01" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_02" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_03" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_04" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="51200" />

<workerSet name="generic_workers" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="collision" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<!-- solver cannot run on same threads as softbody -->
<workerSet name="solver" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="softbody" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="integrator" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="plugin_finalise" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="cloth" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="handling" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ai" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="vehicleSingleThreaded" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<!-- IMPORTANT - maximise thread usage for this workerSet as it is used only during the single threaded update, hence all threads are waiting for it -->
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pfx" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="visibility" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover_workers" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="gc_01" />
<worker name="gc_02" />
<worker name="gc_03" />
<worker name="gc_04" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="anim" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="build_crowd" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="in_car_characters" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="view_manager" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="storage" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pssg_storage" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="osdUpdateSet" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="audio" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="damageSkinning" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
</workerSet>
</workerMap>
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 01:53 PM   #6
Mully(kng)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
Going to try tonight, will post result
Mully(kng) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 07:46 AM   #7
Mully(kng)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
I'm running i7 860 processor with hyper threading so I disabled hyper threading and tried your latest 4 workermap4core. I deleted all the other workermaps. Game ran well for 90 minutes until I got the black maps as per usual.

btw 2 x HD5750 crossfire set up

Thanks for the post
Mully(kng) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:45 PM   #8
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mully(kng) View Post
I'm running i7 860 processor with hyper threading so I disabled hyper threading and tried your latest 4 workermap4core. I deleted all the other workermaps. Game ran well for 90 minutes until I got the black maps as per usual.

btw 2 x HD5750 crossfire set up

Thanks for the post
Since ill be working on one for a 6-core CPU maybe you can try that one...since now I have a 6-core to try it on..
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 01:42 PM   #9
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by bes View Post
Since ill be working on one for a 6-core CPU maybe you can try that one...since now I have a 6-core to try it on..
I made the 6-core one, but it must be put in the workerMap4Core file or the game wont run..
I just tested this on my Phenom II X6 1090T, works perfect:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<workerMap>

<workerThread name="core_0" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_1" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_2" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_3" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_4" priority="abovenormal" core="4" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="core_5" priority="abovenormal" core="5" stacksize="52000" />
<workerThread name="gc_01" priority="abovenormal" core="0" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_02" priority="abovenormal" core="1" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_03" priority="abovenormal" core="2" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_04" priority="abovenormal" core="3" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_05" priority="abovenormal" core="4" stacksize="51200" />
<workerThread name="gc_06" priority="abovenormal" core="5" stacksize="51200" />

<workerSet name="generic_workers" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="collision" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<!-- solver cannot run on same threads as softbody -->
<workerSet name="solver" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="softbody" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="integrator" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="plugin_finalise" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="cloth" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="handling" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ai" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="vehicleSingleThreaded" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<!-- IMPORTANT - maximise thread usage for this workerSet as it is used only during the single threaded update, hence all threads are waiting for it -->
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pfx" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="visibility" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover_workers" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="gc_01" />
<worker name="gc_02" />
<worker name="gc_03" />
<worker name="gc_04" />
<worker name="gc_05" />
<worker name="gc_06" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="anim" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="build_crowd" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="in_car_characters" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="view_manager" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="storage" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="pssg_storage" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="osdUpdateSet" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="ground_cover" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="audio" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
<worker name="core_6" />
</workerSet>

<workerSet name="damageSkinning" jobpoolsize="2048" >
<worker name="core_0" />
<worker name="core_1" />
<worker name="core_2" />
<worker name="core_3" />
<worker name="core_4" />
<worker name="core_5" />
</workerSet>
</workerMap>
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:18 AM   #10
Lethean.Tears
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Which one of the workerMap4s would work best for an i5, do you think?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 03:03 PM   #11
enterthedar
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Well I tried the thrid edition of the code and it went for a whole hour without crashing! Thats much better. I was dual screening whilst also watching the Simpsons sooo that could have made it crash quicker, maybe. I'll try without dual screening later. Cheers anyway, a crash every hour ain't too bad.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:16 AM   #12
Da Trini Man
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 38
Posts: 479
so i got quadcore...b4 i was able to start the game randomly even tho it crashed ONLY at the beginning...now i was able to start only after deleting that map8 file (and doing everything above) and while in lobby it crashed...never crashed ingame b4 tho...
Da Trini Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 06:34 AM   #13
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 577
Posts: 3,592
Its weird you guys are STILL crashing after trying these..

Ah well, least I tried..

Havent had a single crash while playing it on my new 6-core... It could be because I did a fresh install of Windows7 64bit when I rebuilt the computer with a new motherboard and CPU..
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:35 AM   #14
oli4579
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
lol, read the title and was expecting advice on crashing the cars less in game

fail
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:03 PM   #15
Da Trini Man
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 38
Posts: 479
ok so i played again and i didn't crash....let's hope it continues...
Da Trini Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > DiRT series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.