Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam for Mac > Steam

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 02:24 PM   #1
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Steam command line options?

Heya,

Just curious, but have the Steam.exe commandline switches not been integrated in the Mac version?

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w..._.28Windows.29

These came always quite handy (long time wine user, here ), at the moment i am trying to launch a mod through Steam with these options:

Code:
/Applications/Games/Steam.app/Contents/MacOS/osx32/steam -applaunch "AppID" "AppOptions"
Which just launches Steam, but does nothing else. Or am i doing something wrong/ something in the switches has changed?

Thanks in advance!

greetz,
gitano
gitano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:26 PM   #2
dirk0gently
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 200
looking at the hl2.sh file, it looks like you will have to use the hl2_osx executable binary to launch HL2 series and portal at the least. I imagine the command line options are the same or similar over both platforms, so if you applied them to the game in steam (right click>properties>general> launch agruments) it should work the same.
dirk0gently is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:37 PM   #3
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Hey dirk0gently,

Thx for the reply. I didn't mean the hl2_osx executable, though, but the steam executable itself. This has nothing to do with source games at all.

Anyone else has suggestions? I guess it seems not being implemented at all, mhm.
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:39 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #4
JoeR
 
JoeR's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 207
Posts: 185
From the command line, try:

Code:
open steam://run/[appid]
like: open steam://run/400

Would run portal. Do you need the AppOptions?

Joe
JoeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:39 PM   #5
dirk0gently
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 200
Oh, for launching apps you should be doing open steam://run/GAME_ID_HERE, I don't know if you can specify launch options off of that.
dirk0gently is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:46 PM   #6
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Hey JoeR!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeR View Post
From the command line, try:

Code:
open steam://run/[appid]
like: open steam://run/400

Would run portal. Do you need the AppOptions?

Joe
Thx, but yeah, the app options is what i need

greetz,
gitano
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:58 PM   #7
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Tried:

Code:
open "steam://run/AppID -SpecificGameOptions"
(Note: the whole block in "quotes")

as well, opens the game fine, but never parses the options i want it to have.
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 04:44 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #8
JoeR
 
JoeR's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 207
Posts: 185
Gotcha. Cool. Yeah - this does suck, so I just fixed it.

After tonight's patch (half an hour from now I hope?) you should be able to do:

Code:
steam://run/66666//-Launch+Option=Woo%20Bar
And that will launch 66666 in the default language with the option string of "-Launch Option=Woo Bar"

Couple of points to note:
The args you want to send need to be url encoded. We will accept the + for space as well as %20. This means you need to use %2B if you actually need a '+'.

Finally, take special note of the // between the appid and the options. This slot was already reserved for specifying a language - but I made sure that // would be accepted and remain leaving that value to the default.

Joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by gitano View Post
...as well, opens the game fine, but never parses the options i want it to have.
JoeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:53 PM   #9
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Heya!

Wow...u guys rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeR
steam://run/66666//-Launch+Option=Woo%20Bar
So, i take it that

Code:
steam://run/66666//-OptionWithoutSpaces=OptionArgumentWithoutSpaces
will do the trick after the update?

Cool stuff

greetz,
gitano

Last edited by gitano: 05-14-2010 at 05:56 PM.
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 08:33 PM   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #10
JoeR
 
JoeR's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 207
Posts: 185
Yes, if not, please send me a Private Message with exactly the URL you tried and I'll debug it on my side.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gitano View Post
Heya!

Wow...u guys rock
Code:
steam://run/66666//-OptionWithoutSpaces=OptionArgumentWithoutSpaces
will do the trick after the update?

Cool stuff

greetz,
gitano
JoeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 04:06 AM   #11
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Hey,

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeR View Post
Yes, if not, please send me a Private Message with exactly the URL you tried and I'll debug it on my side.
No, still does not work. Sent You a PM.

greetz,
gitano
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:17 AM   #12
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by gitano View Post
Heya,

Just curious, but have the Steam.exe commandline switches not been integrated in the Mac version?

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w..._.28Windows.29

These came always quite handy (long time wine user, here ), at the moment i am trying to launch a mod through Steam with these options:

Code:
/Applications/Games/Steam.app/Contents/MacOS/osx32/steam -applaunch "AppID" "AppOptions"
Which just launches Steam, but does nothing else. Or am i doing something wrong/ something in the switches has changed?

Thanks in advance!

greetz,
gitano
Ok, i might have missed something trying this yesterday, but somehow the -applaunch switch seems to be implemented again or maybe never has been missing at all, as i just launched Steam with:

Code:
open /Applications/Games/Steam.app --args -applaunch AppID -AppIDCustomArgs
Note: this launches game with AppID just fine, but interestingly only if i have quit Steam before/ am launching Steam for the first time. When i try to launch the game with AppID again after Steam itself is running, it does nothing but putting the main Steam window into the foreground.

Still does not parse any custom game arguments with -AppIDCustomArgs, though.

greetz,
gitano
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 06:19 AM   #13
gitano
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 1
Posts: 83
Ok,

just to avoid confusion, the newly implemented switches by JoeR

Code:
open steam://run/66666//-Launch+Option=Woo%20Bar
as well as

Code:
open /Applications/Games/Steam.app --args -applaunch AppID -AppIDCustomArgs
work very well for Source games, e.g. Portal. The latter command though just works for the very first startup of Steam, as described above.

Example for the first launch option:

Code:
open steam://run/400//-window+-console
This launches Portal in windowed mode with the console enabled just fine, which is pretty cool


@JoeR: The game i am currently testing though won't eat it's options either way, i'll leave it at this here now, everything else via PM.

greetz,
gitano
gitano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam for Mac > Steam


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.