Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2010, 11:51 AM   #1
Cinska polivka
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Portal - Windows 2000 - Crash

Hi, Today I downloaded Portal from steam via steam client. Everything seems well. I started game and play normal. But after 15minutes my computer automatically restarted. I tried again... and again error. Then I turn off cosnole ... still after 15-20mins got this error: http://mach37.over.cz/files/DSC00037.JPG

I started portal again. Now it was only 3minutes to crash and again that image posted above.

Anyone know how to fix it?
Is this hardware error?

Windows 2000 Professional SP4
2GB RAM
800Mhz processor (it is 1.6ghz but it work only 1 core)
128MB Graphics

Sorry, for my english. Thanks.
 
Old 05-16-2010, 11:53 AM   #2
Elstabo
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 30
Posts: 253
To Be honest your whole system is prop struggling to run any part of the game suprised you got 3 min out of it never mind 15. Sorry the only fix i reckon is a new rig as your board must be prity old to be running a 1.6ghz single core.
Elstabo is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 11:58 AM   #3
StingingVelvet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 264
Posts: 4,797
I doubt that meets the minimum requirements.
StingingVelvet is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:03 PM   #4
{BiC}Zeus
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 74
Posts: 640
I think your computer is dying, and Portal is just exacerbating the condition.
{BiC}Zeus is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:19 PM   #5
JoeTheZombieKid
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 84
Posts: 607
Of course it's a hardware error. You're PC is REALLY old.
JoeTheZombieKid is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:38 PM   #6
Elirane
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 73
Posts: 183
What's next, people complaining about Windows 98 compatibility?
Elirane is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:46 PM   #7
Nisseman
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 131
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elirane View Post
What's next, people complaining about Windows 98 compatibility?
Whaah Crysis wont work on windows 3.11 FIX NAO!!!
Nisseman is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:47 PM   #8
dobby985
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Windows 2000 is not supported anymore.
 
Old 05-16-2010, 12:58 PM   #9
generic
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Reputation: 275
Posts: 4,692
Your processor is old and there isn't enough information on your graphics card. But Windows 2000 is supported and you have enough RAM (the recommended is 1GB). We need more information on your CPU and graphics card. You can download the CPU-Z program and use it to get more details and see if you can upgrade your system. Take a screenshot (alt + print screen) of each screen and upload the images to TinyPic

Also, your CPU speed is 1.6 GHz, not 800MHz. Having half the cores does not mean you run at half speed. The clock speed is not added in dual/quad core CPUs. But why is your CPU only running one core?

Another thing is that an outdated system should not crash unless there is a problem. Your computer might be overheating trying to run the game. The most common cause is dust building up inside the heatsinks and fans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dobby985 View Post
Windows 2000 is not supported anymore.
It is still supported. It is listed on Portal's system requirements and there was a Steam update a few weeks ago for Win2000.
generic is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 01:04 PM   #10
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by generic View Post

It is still supported. It is listed on Portal's system requirements and there was a Steam update a few weeks ago for Win2000.
Support for Win2k is going to be dropped in upcoming months.

__________________
Having issues? Check Steam Support website. My Steam Community profile.
AciD is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 04:18 PM   #11
Catch_ME
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 57
Posts: 2,514
1 core? Do you have a dual core?

If it is 800Mhz, check your bios and see if the multiplier or Front side bus settings work correctly.

Or you make need to update your bios in order to get your CPU in line.


I think your issue is that your CPU isn't working as it should because of your bios. Maybe there is an instruction that isn't understood or something.

Fix your CPU issue first. Remember, Bios update or Front side bus and CPU multiplier. Do one of these two.
Catch_ME is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 04:47 PM   #12
pizzahut
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 1152
Posts: 4,719
Check if your system matches the minimum system requirements, especially CPU and graphics card. These can be found on this page.
Quote:
Minimum: 1.7 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX® 8.1 level Graphics Card (Requires support for SSE), Windows® Vista/XP/2000, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection
(Isn't SSE a CPU thing? )
You can use Start -> Run -> dxdiag or download GPU-Z to find out the name of your CPU and graphics card.
Alternatively you can try one of these websites:
http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/CYRI/
http://www.yougamers.com/gameometer/10201/
pizzahut is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 05:08 PM   #13
ChaosBahamut
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2005
Reputation: 337
Posts: 2,356
You need to ditch that clunker and get a new PC.

And don't bother keeping any part of your current PC for the hopes of transferring it to an new computer. Completely incompatible.
ChaosBahamut is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 07:52 PM   #14
CaptainSoda
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 28
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingingVelvet View Post
I doubt that meets the minimum requirements.
hey ur messin wit da wrng gangstr, giv him constrct cricism

Instead of telling him that he doesn't meet the minimum requirements, tell him to upgrade his computer.

And I'm gonna guess your polish so using mah handy dandy translator :Zamiast opowiadają go, że nie spełniają minimalne wymagania, aby unowocześnić powiedz mu jego komputer.
CaptainSoda is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 09:01 PM   #15
StingingVelvet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 264
Posts: 4,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainSoda View Post
hey ur messin wit da wrng gangstr, giv him constrct cricism

Instead of telling him that he doesn't meet the minimum requirements, tell him to upgrade his computer.

And I'm gonna guess your polish so using mah handy dandy translator :Zamiast opowiadają go, że nie spełniają minimalne wymagania, aby unowocześnić powiedz mu jego komputer.
Okay then.

Telling someone to upgrade is a little more condescending than just saying they don't meet the requirements, if you ask me.
StingingVelvet is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.