Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike: Source

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2010, 02:19 PM   #1
mPacman
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
cl_cmdrate and cl_updaterate

Quote:
You should also set your cl_cmdrate to your average FPS (Because this is what tells your computer how many times per second to update your position and actions on the server, and you can’t actually do more than your FPS anyway so having this faster will only clog your bandwidth). Set your cl_updaterate (How many updates you want per second from the server) to as high as possible (max 101) without getting choke.
This is currently on This Topic and I want to know if anyone here would disagree. Some sites say the cl_cmdrate should be 101, but I don't understand why Can anyone tell my why you would set the rate higher than your FPS?

Last edited by mPacman: 09-19-2010 at 08:01 AM. Reason: Fixing expired link
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 06:15 PM   #2
uodii
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 34
Posts: 448
In all honesty, I really dont think anybody knows how to truly set this value. The netcode is so screwy that what works best for one person may not necessarily work well for another. I think you should just test various values on your own. If you arent getting any choke/lag and your shots seem like they are registering, then you should be golden, otherwise, keep testing various values.

I've always been told in the past that both cmdrate and updaterate should be set to the tickrate of the server you are playing in. I've also been told that you get the best registration if your machine gets 100+ fps and your ping is as low as possible. I dont know for sure, but this laptop only gets 50-75fps (depending on the map) and my ping in most servers is 60ms and I typically dont have issues with lag/registration.
uodii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:06 PM   #3
spooksmagee
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2005
Reputation: 2068
Posts: 3,216
I think the accepted wisdom is to set both values to 100. Even if you don't pull a constant 100 fps, having the cmdrate at 100 means that you've covered your bases for 100 and every value below it.

Not to mention, it's hard to pin down "average fps" in CS:S anyway, since so many people have fluctuating framerates as it is. Well, unless you play with v-sync, which I personally can't stand.
spooksmagee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:38 PM   #4
SKiLLY2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 348
Posts: 2,490
Your cmdrate will always be the same as your fps (max 100 though). If your fps drops, your cmdrate drops too. Your cmdrate doesn't stay at 100 so setting it at anything lower is pointless.

Set it to 100/101 and just leave it there.
SKiLLY2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 01:08 AM   #5
polka
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 552
Posts: 8,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKiLLY2 View Post
Your cmdrate will always be the same as your fps (max 100 though). If your fps drops, your cmdrate drops too. Your cmdrate doesn't stay at 100 so setting it at anything lower is pointless.

Set it to 100/101 and just leave it there.
this^^
cl_cmdrate is capped by your fps at any moment, you can check this with net_graph 3,(or net_graph 1 for the beta).
polka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike: Source


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.