Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Half-Life 2: Episode Two

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2010, 06:09 PM   #1
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Blue Screen

Although I don't actually see the blue screen, it goes black and 'repeats' the audio, it says on start up it was a blue screen.

It was fine up till the zombie part, it froze when I got to the first zombies then again after getting in the building after that part, so I figured it wasn't an 1 time error.

I am running Windows vista, dx10, card 3 gigs ram, duo 2 core cpu.

Here is the code windows gives me:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 100000ea
BCP1: 88E19428
BCP2: 00000000
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6001
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini052810-02.dmp
C:\Users\*user account name*\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-50435-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\*user account name*\AppData\Local\Temp\WERC908.tmp.version.txt

I am not sure if it is only Ep2 but I played HL2/Ep1 on a different computer so I don't have those on this one.
TheJuggla111 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:02 PM   #2
webbdogg
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 135
post whats in C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini052810-02.dmp
webbdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:10 PM   #3
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Accesses is denied, however I copied it out of the folder to my desktop opened it with word pad, it is some words but mostly weird symbols, is there a program I can get to properly read it?

Also note I did however play and beat Portal(same engine correct?) with no errors/blue screens on this computer.

It does 'blue screen' on Ep 1 as well, but I tried portal again and it works fine.

Last edited by TheJuggla111: 05-28-2010 at 07:33 PM.
TheJuggla111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:26 PM   #4
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1452
Posts: 10,727
Try verifying the game cache files in your Steam Library.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:59 PM   #5
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorpie View Post
Try verifying the game cache files in your Steam Library.
Nope didn't work
TheJuggla111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:18 PM   #6
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.12.0002.633 X86
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Loading Dump File [C:\Users\*Account Name*\Desktop\Mini052810-02.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

Symbol search path is: *** Invalid ***
************************************************** **************************
* Symbol loading may be unreliable without a symbol search path. *
* Use .symfix to have the debugger choose a symbol path. *
* After setting your symbol path, use .reload to refresh symbol locations. *
************************************************** **************************
Executable search path is:
************************************************** *******************
* Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
* *
* The Symbol Path can be set by: *
* using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
* using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
* using .sympath and .sympath+ *
************************************************** *******************
Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\ntkrnlpa.exe, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntkrnlpa.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntkrnlpa.exe
Windows Server 2008/Windows Vista Kernel Version 6001 (Service Pack 1) MP (2 procs) Free x86 compatible
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS Personal
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0x82208000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x8231fc70
Debug session time: Fri May 28 17:54:43.721 2010 (UTC - 7:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:09:18.109
************************************************** *******************
* Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
* *
* The Symbol Path can be set by: *
* using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
* using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
* using .sympath and .sympath+ *
************************************************** *******************
Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\ntkrnlpa.exe, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntkrnlpa.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntkrnlpa.exe
Loading Kernel Symbols
.................................................. .............
.................................................. ..............
........................
Loading User Symbols
Loading unloaded module list
....
Unable to load image \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\dxgkrnl.sys, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for dxgkrnl.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for dxgkrnl.sys
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 100000EA, {88e19428, 0, 0, 0}

*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for atikmdag.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for atikmdag.sys
***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
************************************************** ***********************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
*** ***
************************************************** ***********************
Probably caused by : dxgkrnl.sys ( dxgkrnl+15b60 )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

Last edited by TheJuggla111: 05-28-2010 at 09:20 PM. Reason: DMP FILE
TheJuggla111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 11:08 PM   #7
.n.ty|e$
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 329
Posts: 2,614
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&s...AAAqgQFT9ANNyc
.n.ty|e$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 11:59 PM   #8
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by .n.ty|e$ View Post

I don't get what I am suppose to do? I used windows update to do all my drivers and stuff.
TheJuggla111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 06:48 AM   #9
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1452
Posts: 10,727
Windows update updates Windows. It doesn't update your graphics drivers or anything else. Try updating your video drivers from the vendor's website.


As far as the MDMP file, the WARNING and ERROR messages seem to be related to atikmdag.sys and ntkrnlpa.exe. I found this doing a google search.

If updating your drivers or the suggestions in that link don't help, you can search on the two different file names to see if you can get any other suggestions, or contact Support.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 07:17 AM   #10
vandoo99999
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 144
Posts: 467
Get sp2.
vandoo99999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 07:30 AM   #11
alexrdh
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Last year I had some BSOD's playing games and the reason was because of my RAM.
Make sure your RAM sticks aren't partly disconnected or super dusty.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 10:24 AM   #12
ChosenOne54
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 798
Posts: 1,022
Maybe you could try re-downloading the game? Sorry, I'm not the best at solving these kinds of problems.
ChosenOne54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 05:24 PM   #13
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandoo99999 View Post
Get sp2.
Hmm I tried installing Sp2 it just goes to 50%(Instantly) then eventually freezes the computer. In safe mode windows update doesn't launch either.
TheJuggla111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 06:06 PM   #14
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1452
Posts: 10,727
In Safe Mode, only basic drivers are loaded. You can't connect to the internet. (Unless they changed that since XP.)

Do you have a firewall possibly interfering?

Does it actually freeze at 50%, or are you just impatient? (I'm impatient, too.) Can you try walking away for 5 minutes or something to see if the percentage increases?
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 07:02 PM   #15
TheJuggla111
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorpie View Post
In Safe Mode, only basic drivers are loaded. You can't connect to the internet. (Unless they changed that since XP.)

Do you have a firewall possibly interfering?

Does it actually freeze at 50%, or are you just impatient? (I'm impatient, too.) Can you try walking away for 5 minutes or something to see if the percentage increases?

It is already downloaded so I don't think internet matters, it doesn't even OPEN, regardless I tried it 'safe mode with networking' same problem.

It does freeze at 50%, AS SOON as I click to install it goes to 50% if I try doing anything then it freezes(even minizing it then bring it back up), I left it for almost 2 hours and still at 50%. Firewall is off and anti virus.
TheJuggla111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Half-Life 2: Episode Two


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.