Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 07:50 AM   #1
Nicolaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 124
Problem with graphics (GTA 4)

Hi everyone!

I bought GTA 4 yesterday and gave it a try. I could play without problems but the only problem i got is when i entered in the game. Cinematics are a little laggy and the game as well. When i am in a car it's worse. I drive and when i go fast (like the mission where you must stop a guy and pursue him in car) i got a lot of lag.

I was able to do the mission but man... every 5 seconds there as a kind of freeze screen for 2 seconds and boom game unfroze 25 yards further and froze 5 seconds later to do the exact dame thing over and over. Almost killed myself 3 times by crashing my car.

So where does that big lag comes from? I have all the drivers for my video card, flash, etc all updated.

My computer itself is able to run this game on MAX and the game itself but the graphics on max. I tryed to put the graphics down but didn't change at all.

My computer is something like this (sorry not at home right now):

Intel quad core 3 ghz+
4 gig memory
ATI Radeon HD 5750
Windows 7 64 bit

Please help me because i like how the game works from now and want to test multiplayer tonight but i can't imagine the lag i will have :S

Last edited by Nicolaz: 06-01-2010 at 11:51 AM.
Nicolaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 10:06 AM   #2
Nicolaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 124
Please someone help me...
Nicolaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 11:49 AM   #3
Nicolaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 124
Sorry, a little mistake. It's ATI 5750 not 5550. What would be the best thing i should do to be able to play without any lag of some sort? Thanks in advance.
Nicolaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 11:50 AM   #4
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolaz View Post
My computer itself is able to run this game on MAX and the game itself but the graphics on max. I tryed to put the graphics down but didn't change at all.

My computer is something like this (sorry not at home right now):

Intel quad core 3 ghz+
4 gig memory
ATI Radeon HD 5550
Windows 7 64 bit
GTA4 is a pretty demanding game. I barely manage 50FPS with maxed out settings on my setup (i7 860 @ 4.0, 4GB RAM, ATI 5870). Your quad core @ 3GHz will get things going but your video card is somewhat on the weak side. According to AMD's website, the 5550 is listed as a "low profile graphics card for small form factor PC's". I would not expect amazing gaming performance with your video card...

Last edited by NitrousX: 06-01-2010 at 01:14 PM.
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 11:51 AM   #5
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolaz View Post
Sorry, a little mistake. It's ATI 5750 not 5550. What would be the best thing i should do to be able to play without any lag of some sort? Thanks in advance.
What resolution are you playing at? The 5750 shines at resolutions of 1680x1050 and below. If you running at anything above that, you are really pushing it. I have also found that if you lower the view distance and vehicle density to say 50%, your performance will dramatically increase.

Last edited by NitrousX: 06-01-2010 at 11:55 AM.
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:05 PM   #6
Nicolaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 124
I don't remember the resolution because prsently i'm at works so i can't check. As soon as i come back home i will check this out. Will try to change the resolution if needed and also the density (but i'm not sure where to find that in the menu tough).

All in all, thanks a lot for helping me, if you have anything that could help me please tell me.

As i said, i use the auto-configure (default) confoguration for my graphics and it's says 700mb of 1000mb used in green in the menu if it's says anything to you.

Last edited by Nicolaz: 06-01-2010 at 12:41 PM.
Nicolaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:40 PM   #7
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolaz View Post
I don't remember the resolution because prsently i'm at works so i can't check. As soon as i come back home i will check this out. Will try to change the resolution if needed and also the density (but i'm not sure where to find that in the menu tough).

All in all, thanks a lot for helping me, if you have anything that could help me please tell me.

As i said, i use the auto-configure (default) confoguration for my graphics and it's says 700mb or 1000mb used in green in the menu if it's says anything to you.
It's found under the "graphics" section in the main menu. For your setup, I recommend setting everything to "medium" with the exception of view distance, draw distance, vehicle density, and shadow density set to 30%. Also make sure to disable VSYNC as it caps your FPS. Hope this helps.

Last edited by NitrousX: 06-01-2010 at 12:47 PM.
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:44 PM   #8
cool_recep
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 3
Posts: 167
Dude, next time before you buy a graphics card take your time and do a lil bit search.

Your 5550 is, as said above, a low profile card and it is not designed to play games.

I don't understand why you complain. "What you pay is what you get!"

and BTW there is a huge difference between 5550 and 5750

check this:

5550
5750
5870
5970


The higher the second number is, the more performance you get. Easy, isn't it?

I highly doubt that your system is a branded PC. If not you are overcharged. And I think, for you, graphics card's performance is up to its memory, right?

Last edited by cool_recep: 06-01-2010 at 12:48 PM.
cool_recep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:46 PM   #9
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool_recep View Post
Dude, next time before you buy a graphics card take your time and do a lil bit search.

Your 5550 is, as said above, a low profile card and it is not designed to play games.

I don't understand why you complain. "What you pay is what you get!"

and BTW there is a huge difference between 5550 and 5750

check this:

5550
5750
5870
5970


The higher the second number is, the more performance you get. Easy, isn't it?
It was a typo, Nicolaz actually owns a 5750.
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:53 PM   #10
Nicolaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 124
Thanks a lot NitrousX. Really good help. I will try this out tonight! +rep for helping me! Really appreciated!

Will post result after my testing.
Nicolaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 01:16 PM   #11
H2OVapour
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by NitrousX View Post
It's found under the "graphics" section in the main menu. For your setup, I recommend setting everything to "medium" with the exception of view distance, draw distance, vehicle density, and shadow density set to 30%. Also make sure to disable VSYNC as it caps your FPS. Hope this helps.
Actually, disabling V-Sync in GTA 4 usually results in the exact problem Nicolaz said that he had with uneven frame rates. I also have a 5750 card and I dare say that is it not the graphicscard that does this. At least not if ATI-driver 10.4 is used.
H2OVapour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 01:20 PM   #12
Nicolaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 124
Actually i use 10.5 drivers. And i don't know the exact frame rate i got in-game. I just see the screen lagging a lot.
Nicolaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 01:24 PM   #13
H2OVapour
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 114
You might want to have texture quality set to medium. Even though Your graphicscard can handle higher Your machine might not be able to stream enough data from, among things, the harddrive for the game to run smooth.
H2OVapour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.