Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2010, 03:48 PM   #1
UnknownPredator
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry Cant play on any of my steam games


I cant play any steam games and Ive been trying to fix.

It first started with Css, Now others...

I re-downloaded Game I tried -dxlevel and resolution thing...

Ive tried defrag and verify game integrity..

Nothing works.. Please help!

Last edited by UnknownPredator: 06-02-2010 at 03:49 PM. Reason: Spaceing
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:04 PM   #2
iplop
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
A little detail on the nature of your problem would be useful.
(You know: screenshots; error messages; and the like.)
iplop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:12 PM   #3
UnknownPredator
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Theirs no error messages but I click on play it says Starting up Game then it goes to desktop... All games
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #4
iplop
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
I can't give you the exact steps if you're using XP but if you have Vista/Win7 here's what to do:
Go to: Control Panel-->Administrative Tools-->Event Viewer

On the left hand side you will see "Windows Logs" click that and then go to "Applications"

With this window open, try to play a steam game. Go back to that window after the game crashes and see if it created any new error logs. (you may need to press F5 with the window selected to refresh the list)
http://imgur.com/XXDcA.png
Post the error.

Edit_1:
If no error log is made, that means there's a problem with your system. Try playing a non-Steam 3D game to confirm.

Last edited by iplop: 06-02-2010 at 05:36 PM.
iplop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:59 PM   #5
Tenkari
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 602
or steam became corrupt and you might have to reinstall steam.
Tenkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:43 AM   #6
h1fra
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same here!
already reinstall everthing, no change !
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 12:53 PM   #7
iplop
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Mind posting the error log under Administrative tools?

It seems like I had a similar problem back when I ran steam with XP SP_2 but I can't remember the fix I used.
(that was 3 or so years ago)
iplop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 03:12 PM   #8
Vortimous
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 57
I just updated my operating system from vista 64 to windows 7 64. Upon reinstalling steam, all my games refuse to launch. Before windows 7, I was playing TF2, plants vs zombies, sniper elite, aliens vs predator, defense grid and LFD and LFD 2 and Splinter cell conviction. After updateing, I reinstalled Splinter cell, plants vs zomibies, defense grid and sniper elite. None of them will launch. THey are updated through steam and say ready to play, but when I hit play, the load icon appears and nothing... it just pauses and nothing launches. I have reinstalled steam 3 or 4 times now... This last time, I just installed, I just downloaded plants vs zombies..thinking an easy game to DL and play and lets see if I still have this problem.... and yes, I do. I have tried setting adm controls for steam, nothing works... I can logg into steam, but cant run any games...


Upon following your advice of the event log... here are the details of the error I am getting... Does anyone know how to fix this??

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 6/3/2010 5:08:15 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Scott-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: iexplore.exe, version: 8.0.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bc69e
Faulting module name: SXS.DLL, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb19
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00001935
Faulting process id: 0xfec
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb036941623698
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\SXS.DLL
Report Id: 816bad10-6f5c-11df-a7c6-00038a000015
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-06-03T22:08:15.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>1326</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Scott-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>iexplore.exe</Data>
<Data>8.0.7600.16385</Data>
<Data>4a5bc69e</Data>
<Data>SXS.DLL</Data>
<Data>6.1.7600.16385</Data>
<Data>4a5bdb19</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00001935</Data>
<Data>fec</Data>
<Data>01cb036941623698</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\system32\SXS.DLL</Data>
<Data>816bad10-6f5c-11df-a7c6-00038a000015</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>


It seems its a Windows Explorer error.... but windows is up to date... Any ideas??? Thanks

Vort
Vortimous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 06:00 PM   #9
Tenkari
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 602
try finding the actual exe for the games and run them through the steam folder in compatibility mode for XP and see if that works.
Tenkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 06:43 PM   #10
Vortimous
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 57
Tried that, it errors saying cant load steam.dll if I try to run the exe in compatability mod with Xp service pack 3
Vortimous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 08:55 PM   #11
iplop
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortimous View Post
I just updated my operating system from vista 64 to windows 7 64. Upon reinstalling steam, all my games refuse to launch. Before windows 7, I was playing TF2, plants vs zombies, sniper elite, aliens vs predator, defense grid and LFD and LFD 2 and Splinter cell conviction. After updateing, I reinstalled Splinter cell, plants vs zomibies, defense grid and sniper elite. None of them will launch. THey are updated through steam and say ready to play, but when I hit play, the load icon appears and nothing... it just pauses and nothing launches. I have reinstalled steam 3 or 4 times now... This last time, I just installed, I just downloaded plants vs zombies..thinking an easy game to DL and play and lets see if I still have this problem.... and yes, I do. I have tried setting adm controls for steam, nothing works... I can logg into steam, but cant run any games...


Upon following your advice of the event log... here are the details of the error I am getting... Does anyone know how to fix this??

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 6/3/2010 5:08:15 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Scott-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: iexplore.exe, version: 8.0.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bc69e
Faulting module name: SXS.DLL, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb19
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00001935
Faulting process id: 0xfec
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb036941623698
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\SXS.DLL
Report Id: 816bad10-6f5c-11df-a7c6-00038a000015
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-06-03T22:08:15.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>1326</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Scott-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>iexplore.exe</Data>
<Data>8.0.7600.16385</Data>
<Data>4a5bc69e</Data>
<Data>SXS.DLL</Data>
<Data>6.1.7600.16385</Data>
<Data>4a5bdb19</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00001935</Data>
<Data>fec</Data>
<Data>01cb036941623698</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\system32\SXS.DLL</Data>
<Data>816bad10-6f5c-11df-a7c6-00038a000015</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>


It seems its a Windows Explorer error.... but windows is up to date... Any ideas??? Thanks

Vort
The problem is "SXS.DLL" which in turn is crashing Internet Explorer.
Info on the .DLL: http://www.processlibrary.com/en/dir...iles/sxs/23378
Question: Did you use the Win 7Upgrade or did you do a Clean Install? (this matters in identifying the exact cause)

Possible solutions without knowing which option you chose:
  • Go to C:/Windows/System32 and look for SXS.dll
    Make sure it is there.
  • I know this seems indirect but try updating/re-installing Internet explorer. Steam uses IE for allot of its internal browser functions.
  • Download Ccleaner and run a registry check. If you chose a Win7 Upgrade, there will be allot of junk registry entries on your system. One or two of those may be causing a conflict with Steam.
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
    (It's a great program but make sure you UnCheck the yahoo toolbar box while installing!)

---------------------------
After reading more about this error online:
It's most likely IE.

Edit_1:
--Just looked over the error log again. It's definitely IE, not Steam that's causing this. An Uninstall -->Restart -->Reinstall of Internet Explorer may be in order. (I'd still run that reg check though. There's a small chance that a reg conflict may be to blame.)

Last edited by iplop: 06-03-2010 at 08:59 PM.
iplop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 11:37 PM   #12
Vortimous
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 57
I did the upgrade... (only disk I had from buying new computer) I will try the things you suggested... but it is a major problem. Hopefully this will work. I have Windows 7 on my laptop and have steam installed with no problems.. but I am getting a world of problems with my PC now that windows 7 is on. The laptop came with windows 7 already installed, not an upgrade and I have no problems with IE or steam. MY PC is another story... 40% of the time I open IE, it errors with the cant find it and windows will contact you with a solution message. Usually just restarting the link it will work the second time.. but evey annoying. Its really bad when a download is linked to a page where it opens up another page to start the download.... it never works... sometimes even clciking the support button from steam will not bring me to the support page, I get that error... I usually have to open up an existing IE page (anything, espn, whatever) and then click on the support button for it to load... I will let you know

And thanks

Vort
Vortimous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 01:05 AM   #13
Dakillswitch
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I think I'm in the same boat as you are
I'm trying to start playing HL2 but all I get is this :

Fatal Error: Failed to load platform modules

I did all the updates and the 5 time install&uninstall thing
but all i get is this message and i can't play

Any help
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 08:19 AM   #14
Vortimous
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 57
After reading more about this error online:
It's most likely IE.

Edit_1:
--Just looked over the error log again. It's definitely IE, not Steam that's causing this. An Uninstall -->Restart -->Reinstall of Internet Explorer may be in order. (I'd still run that reg check though. There's a small chance that a reg conflict may be to blame.)[/QUOTE]

Could you give me detailed instructions for removing and reinstalling IE 8. I removed it, but then since i didnt have it, I could not access the internet. I thought that hitting windows update, that it would find that missing and reinstall. But it didnt, so I system resored and got IE back. In going to microsofts web to download the exe of IE, it wont let me download and install of it because it says I already have it. SO how do I uninstall and reinstall IE 8 so that we will see if it fixes the problems... I hate to say it, but I may just reformat... start over.

Which brings me to another question.... If I reformat and start clean, can I go straight to windows 7 with the upgrade disk? or do I have to reinstall windows vista and then upgrade to windows 7? Or will putting the windows 7 upgrade disk be enough to reinstall all of windows 7 from a fresh format???

Thanks for all the help....

Vort
Vortimous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 01:42 PM   #15
iplop
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortimous View Post
Could you give me detailed instructions for removing and reinstalling IE 8. I removed it, but then since i didnt have it, I could not access the internet. I thought that hitting windows update, that it would find that missing and reinstall. But it didnt, so I system resored and got IE back. In going to microsofts web to download the exe of IE, it wont let me download and install of it because it says I already have it. SO how do I uninstall and reinstall IE 8 so that we will see if it fixes the problems... I hate to say it, but I may just reformat... start over.

Which brings me to another question.... If I reformat and start clean, can I go straight to windows 7 with the upgrade disk? or do I have to reinstall windows vista and then upgrade to windows 7? Or will putting the windows 7 upgrade disk be enough to reinstall all of windows 7 from a fresh format???

Thanks for all the help....

Vort
Instructions:
  1. Download Google Chrome or FireFox as a secondary browser. (So that if something goes wrong you will still have access to the internet)
    http://www.google.com/chrome (I prefer this one -Slightly faster)
    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox...rom=getfirefox
  2. Download IE8 and run it
    64 bit: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    32 bit: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    (It took me an hour to find those damn files!)
  3. Run the reg check tool on Ccleaner to rule out any registry errors.

After IE8 is re-installed (for good measure):
Open IE8 and enter the "Tools" menu. Click Internet Options.
Go to the Advanced tab and click "Reset"
Inside the Reset internet Explorer dialog choose Reset.

Last edited by iplop: 06-04-2010 at 01:49 PM.
iplop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.