Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam for Mac > Source games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 09:45 PM   #1
jwensley2
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Mouse acceleration

Does anyone else find the mouse acceleration in TF2 really bad?

Does anyone know if you can disable mouse acceleration? I'd prefer to only disable it in game but if there is a way to disable it system wide that may do.
jwensley2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 09:51 PM   #2
nano....
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 40
Posts: 672
http://www.usboverdrive.com/USBOverdrive/News.html

This has been useful. It's all gone, thanks to it.
nano.... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 09:51 PM   #3
temion
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 17
Posts: 373
I came to post about this exact same thing. Don't have this problem on bootcamp. Mouse sensitivity doesn't fix anything, once you move the mouse fast your guy does like a 360 before you know what the heck is going on.
temion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:14 PM   #4
NalgasDLemur
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 12
Posts: 289
I was also just thinking the same thing. After getting used to playing TF2 in Windows for so long, it's nearly unplayable on my MacBook. Not because it runs badly, because it surprisingly isn't too bad, but because I can't aim worth crap because of the mouse acceleration. Definitely time to reinstall USB Overdrive. I used to use it way back in the day on my iBook, and it was very handy to have around for fixing stuff like that or setting up gamepads and things like that.
NalgasDLemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:18 PM   #5
Spanish
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Isn't there an option to smooth out mouse movement in the options? Worked for me and it totally fixed the horrible mac acceleration, but it'll only apply it in game. Wish SC2 had the same option.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:48 PM   #6
nano....
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 40
Posts: 672
Yeah, Mouse Accel pretty much destroys your ability to reliably aim, as the same distance moved can have different effects on your crosshair.

This isn't helped by OS X's pretty aggressive acceleration curves.
nano.... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 12:12 AM   #7
LaustinSpayce
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
Here's a handy program to customise and/or remove the mouse acceleration in OS X.
LaustinSpayce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 02:11 AM   #8
cheeseus
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 24
Posts: 392
You can disable it permanently through the console of osx (dont remember what its called on osx).

To find out the command: google is your friend.

But really, how is it possible that macs don't have a gui way to take the acceleration away, really, I just can't believe it...
cheeseus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 02:13 AM   #9
Genexi2
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 4
Posts: 273
On the same subject of mice, does anyone have an idea on how to disable Steam Cloud on OSX? Gets annoying since I always have to change the mouse sensitivity and keyboard binds every time I swap between my Mac & PC to play on.
Genexi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 02:13 AM   #10
Roid-o-tron
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hey, I won't kill you if you abuse radar to complain about this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 03:32 AM   #11
nano....
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 40
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeseus View Post
You can disable it permanently through the console of osx (dont remember what its called on osx).

To find out the command: google is your friend.

But really, how is it possible that macs don't have a gui way to take the acceleration away, really, I just can't believe it...
there was a defaults command to remove it, but I tried it and it had no impact in Snow Leopard.

The Preference Pane also does not work 100% in Snow Leopard, tested.

Last edited by nano....: 06-11-2010 at 03:35 AM.
nano.... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 03:48 AM   #12
TheSomian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 15
Posts: 402
I wish, Valve would come up with a solution that we don't have to fiddle around with the system config and valve simply reads out the mouse data directly from the hardware or something.
TheSomian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam for Mac > Source games


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2015, All Rights Reserved.