Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2010, 05:30 AM   #1
Magmamaster
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match

Here's the complete compiling window


Code:
** Executing...
** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\synergy\synergy" "C:\Users\Ignis\Documents\Area 51\Maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.vmf"

Valve Software - vbsp.exe (May  7 2010)
4 threads
materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\synergy\synergy\materials
Loading C:\Users\Ignis\Documents\Area 51\Maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.vmf
Could not locate 'GameData' key in c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\magmamaster\synergy\synergy\gameinfo.txt
Patching WVT material: maps/syn_st_whiskey_outpost2/dev/dev_blendmeasure_wvt_patch
fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)

FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (436.9 936.3 131.1)
Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID 
Leaf 1 contents: 
viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID 
This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID 
Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID 
Candidate brush IDs: Brush 3309: 


FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (441.5 926.7 174.6)
Leaf 0 contents: 
Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID 
viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID 
This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID 
Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID 
Candidate brush IDs: Brush 3309: 


FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (698.7 918.8 181.5)
Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID 
Leaf 1 contents: 
viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID 
This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID 
Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID 
Candidate brush IDs: Brush 3325: 


FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (698.9 930.4 176.0)
Leaf 0 contents: 
Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID 
viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID 
This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID 
Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID 
Candidate brush IDs: Brush 3325: 


FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (709.9 944.0 136.6)
Leaf 0 contents: 
Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID 
viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID 
This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID 
Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID 
Candidate brush IDs: Brush 3325: 


FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (743.8 915.8 176.0)
Leaf 0 contents: 
Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID 
viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID 
This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID 
Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID 
Candidate brush IDs: Brush 3325: 

Processing areas...done (0)
Building Faces...done (0)
FixTjuncs...
PruneNodes...
WriteBSP...
done (0)
writing C:\Users\Ignis\Documents\Area 51\Maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.prt...Building visibility clusters...
done (0)
Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
   skybox/sky_ep02_01_hdr*.vmt
 ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
   skybox/sky_ep02_01_hdr*.vmt
 ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
Finding displacement neighbors...
Found a displacement edge abutting multiple other edges.
Finding lightmap sample positions...
Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Building Physics collision data...
Displacement 29 has bad geometry near 1088.00 -512.00 -360.63
Can't compile displacement physics, exiting.  Texture is NATURE/BLENDCLIFFGRASS001A


** Executing...
** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\synergy\synergy" "C:\Users\Ignis\Documents\Area 51\Maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2"

Valve Software - vvis.exe (May  7 2010)
4 threads
reading c:\users\ignis\documents\area 51\maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.bsp
Error opening c:\users\ignis\documents\area 51\maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.bsp

** Executing...
** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
** Parameters:  -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\synergy\synergy" "C:\Users\Ignis\Documents\Area 51\Maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2"

Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (May  7 2010)

      Valve Radiosity Simulator     
4 threads
[Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
[48 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

Loading c:\users\ignis\documents\area 51\maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.bsp
Error opening c:\users\ignis\documents\area 51\maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.bsp

** Executing...
** Command: Copy File
** Parameters: "C:\Users\Ignis\Documents\Area 51\Maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\magmamaster\synergy\synergy\maps\syn_ST_Whiskey_outpost2.bsp"

The command failed. Windows reported the error:
  "Het systeem kan het opgegeven bestand niet vinden."
If i load the point file, it doesnt show a gap: the red line just goes straight trough the brushes...

i even made an entire box around the map, but even that didnt help....

Ps "het systeem kan het opgegeven bestand niet vinden" is dutch for "the system cannot find the file specified" im from belgium
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:10 AM   #2
zombie@computer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 416
Posts: 908
http://www.interlopers.net/errors

post your compile log there
zombie@computer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 01:52 PM   #3
Punishment
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 355
Posts: 4,561
The only things that will seal a map are world brushes and skybox brushes. All other entities, displacements, props, and brushes will not. If fixing your leak doesn't get rid of the "FindPortalside" errors, it may be because you have a very large brush in your map. If you do, clip it into smaller pieces.
Punishment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:38 PM   #4
SplatterPanda
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie@computer View Post
http://www.interlopers.net/errors

post your compile log there
we can help too, thanx.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punishment View Post
The only things that will seal a map are world brushes and skybox brushes. All other entities, displacements, props, and brushes will not. If fixing your leak doesn't get rid of the "FindPortalside" errors, it may be because you have a very large brush in your map. If you do, clip it into smaller pieces.
i don't see a leak, though.

most likely you've got an areaportal (or more than one) that can be accessed from two sides. does the pointfile intersect any of your areaportals? you likely need to add more to seal the different areas better.

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w...talLeakFig.jpg

Last edited by SplatterPanda: 06-11-2010 at 04:41 PM.
SplatterPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:43 PM   #5
Punishment
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 355
Posts: 4,561
I assumed he had a leak because he had a pointfile. If not, the next most likely culprit is usually large brushes.
Punishment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:18 PM   #6
SplatterPanda
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punishment View Post
I assumed he had a leak because he had a pointfile. If not, the next most likely culprit is usually large brushes.
@ punishment: sorry, didn't mean to seem that i was jumping down yur throat, though it looked like maybe i was when i read it later. apologies.

but un-sealed areaportals will generate a pointfile as well.
SplatterPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:30 PM   #7
cfoust
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,143
Did you do what the error message told you to do? open Hammer, go to the coordinates 436.9 936.3 131.1, and look for brush number 3309. Either this is a really big brush, or it is invalid. Check for errors in your map by pressing alt-P.
cfoust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:59 PM   #8
DeathNimrod
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 188
Mine doesn't have a point file
DeathNimrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:37 PM   #9
Punishment
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 355
Posts: 4,561
If there's no pointfile, then the culprit is usually an extremely large brush in your map. If there is such a brush, find it and clip it into smaller brushes.
Punishment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:46 PM   #10
Explosive_Lemon
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 164
Posts: 1,244
Do you see where are the Cordon Tools are ? There are 3 buttons : 2 for the cube method with the hazard sign, and a third one with an R in a red circle. Disable that if it is on
Explosive_Lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:42 PM   #11
marnamai
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 11
Posts: 73
I could be caused by an areaportal touching more than 2 area's or an areaportal that clips with a water brush.

Last edited by marnamai: 12-20-2012 at 02:54 AM.
marnamai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.