Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2010, 01:44 PM   #1
Geowil
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 27
Posts: 1,629
FO3:GOTY & Xfire

How can I get Xfire to read my GOTY version? The required exe file isn't in the game directory....
Geowil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 03:08 PM   #2
lookandroll
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 62
umm this is STEAM forums
lookandroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 04:03 PM   #3
Geowil
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 27
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by lookandroll View Post
umm this is STEAM forums
and I realize that lol, but thought someone out of the few thousand people who bought the game might have found a way to get it on xfire.
Geowil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 09:36 PM   #4
ArcAngel33
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 30
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geowil View Post
and I realize that lol, but thought someone out of the few thousand people who bought the game might have found a way to get it on xfire.
In case others want to solve this for FO3 or any xfire game, go under the Games tab in XFire, go to the Fallout 3 entry and change automatically detect to manual detect, locate your Fallout 3 folder and EXE under the steam folder and apply.
ArcAngel33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 10:05 AM   #5
Geowil
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 27
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcAngel33 View Post
In case others want to solve this for FO3 or any xfire game, go under the Games tab in XFire, go to the Fallout 3 entry and change automatically detect to manual detect, locate your Fallout 3 folder and EXE under the steam folder and apply.
What exe? All I have is one named launcher.exe and that's not the exe its looking for.
Geowil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 07:21 PM   #6
Universe_JDJ
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 4
Posts: 66
Manually point it to <STEAM_DIRECTORY>\steamapps\common\fallout 3 goty\FalloutLauncher.exe and it *should* work.

Else, you can edit the detection code in xfire_games.ini. (But these changes will be lost when a new games update arrives.)
Universe_JDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 05:00 AM   #7
xayu
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 311
Posts: 595
Auto detect worked for me, sometimes with the Steam stuff you have to run the game once before it puts in the registry entry that xfire detects.
xayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.