Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series > Fallout 3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 12:42 PM   #1
Stoop!d Monkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 143
Posts: 118
Lightbulb How to fixfallout 3 freezing and crashing (100% WORKS, SEE COMMENTS)

Open up the fallout.ini file in: My Documents\My Games\Fallout3
Find the line:

bUseThreadedAI=0

change it to:

bUseThreadedAI=1

Add another line after it and insert:

iNumHWThreads=2

This will limit the game to 2 cores and prevent the engine bug from causing the game to freeze.

*If the game still crashes write this iNumHWThreads=1

EnJoY!!!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Proof that it works:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strike_You View Post
You are the man ..... + Rep

I crashed everyt ime I went into a small house until I did this fix.

Windows 7 64 bit, Core I7 930 btw
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianWolf View Post
could an Admin please sticky this? This actually works. I tried it out, and it has not crashed once. Considering how much people crash, it is a very useful piece of info.



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Crusher View Post
I had been looking for a fix to this freezing issue for weeks. I finally gave up and started playing other games. Recently found this post. It is very easy to edit the file, and the game runs awesomely. Thank you very much for the post and I hope other people find your fix.

Crusher
MacBook Pro 15" Core i7
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Steam's Fallout3 GOTY
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfcoala View Post
This fix works for me in Vista too ^^

sweet

Last edited by Stoop!d Monkey: 12-09-2011 at 07:32 AM.
Stoop!d Monkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 12:48 PM   #2
Strike_You
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 112
Posts: 680
You are the man ..... + Rep

I crashed everyt ime I went into a small house until I did this fix.

Windows 7 64 bit, Core I7 930 btw

Last edited by Strike_You: 07-09-2010 at 12:48 PM.
Strike_You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 02:12 PM   #3
Stoop!d Monkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 143
Posts: 118
you're welcome
Stoop!d Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 03:52 PM   #4
RussianWolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 94
Posts: 520
Thank you so much. I've been looking for a fix forever. Would it work for vista 64bit?
RussianWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 08:18 PM   #5
RussianWolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 94
Posts: 520
could an Admin please sticky this? This actually works. I tried it out, and it has not crashed once. Considering how much people crash, it is a very useful piece of info.
RussianWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 12:46 PM   #6
Strike_You
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 112
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianWolf View Post
Thank you so much. I've been looking for a fix forever. Would it work for vista 64bit?
Yes, worked on my friends rig (Vista 64bit)
Strike_You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 12:28 AM   #7
Stoop!d Monkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 143
Posts: 118
I'm glad that I solved your problems, but there is one thing annoying.
there are about 450 views and 4 comments - PLEASE COMMENT
Stoop!d Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 05:08 PM   #8
Jito463
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Reputation: 213
Posts: 2,268
Maybe, just maybe, not everyone has something to say. After all...

A) You're not the only one to have posted this

B) You're not the first one to have posted this

C) Maybe some of the people viewing this, didn't need the fix
Jito463 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 09:44 AM   #9
tyce
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 4
Posts: 85
this works. pls sticky. kept freezing and i have win7 64bit ultimate with core i7. it was almost impossible to play. thank you genius monkey.
tyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 09:29 PM   #10
The Crusher
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up THIS WORKS!!!

I had been looking for a fix to this freezing issue for weeks. I finally gave up and started playing other games. Recently found this post. It is very easy to edit the file, and the game runs awesomely. Thank you very much for the post and I hope other people find your fix.

Crusher
MacBook Pro 15" Core i7
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Steam's Fallout3 GOTY
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:35 AM   #11
Stoop!d Monkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 143
Posts: 118
NP! I'm gald that I could help! EnJoY this awsome game!
Stoop!d Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:27 PM   #12
GoldenShadow
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 125
Posts: 1,414
Will this fix work on Oblivion since its the same engine? I have been playing that recently for the first time (on sale) and it crashes to desktop a lot.
GoldenShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 10:52 PM   #13
ErrantConstruct
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 53
Hmmm, when I went to fix this in mine the changes had already been made and it was still giving me framerate stutters and crashes. I guess its outrageous of me to expect a game I pay for to work reasonable well rather than be plagued by constant game crashes. I can't even get past the birthday party when starting a new game.
ErrantConstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 05:31 AM   #14
Chris_Ihao
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hmm. When I had the exact same problems with FO3 crashing on my Win7 64-bit GTX280 setup, it actually turned out to be the gpu overheating with the stock cooler.

It was really difficult to pinpoint as it didnt happen in other games. I eventually installed a custom cooler, even overclocked the 280 quite a bit, and never had any freezing or crashing again.

Perhaps this fix of some reason additionally creates a lower load on the gpu, giving a greater margin before it goes poof? Just an observation.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:00 AM   #15
Stoop!d Monkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 143
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenShadow View Post
Will this fix work on Oblivion since its the same engine? I have been playing that recently for the first time (on sale) and it crashes to desktop a lot.
You can try...
Stoop!d Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series > Fallout 3


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.