Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2010, 01:06 PM   #1
Jsick7x
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 48
Scanning for steam license updates

I just purchased Arma 2 Operation Arrowhead. After my purchase I clicked to install the game and it says, "Scanning for steam license updates" I waited for 20 minutes.. with the message still up so I restarted steam and when I go to install the game again I cannot find it !
Jsick7x is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:16 PM   #2
laxaddict992
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
same thing is happening to me with the same game!
laxaddict992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 05:34 PM   #3
Wh1plashed
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Just had this happen to the STALKER pack
Wh1plashed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 05:54 PM   #4
B33 ENN
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 4893
Posts: 5,770
Be patient, it most likely caused by the overwhelming demand, so the system is having to "catch-up" with sales and apply licenses - it's just delayed.

As long as in your "Licenses+Subscriptions" box it lists the game, you have your copy.

Besides that, if you have a confirmation of the trasaction, then it will appear eventually.
B33 ENN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:49 PM   #5
Arthor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 215
This happened to me on Lunar Flight. So far and hour and still watching the Steam box, "Scanning for steam license updates"
Arthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:02 PM   #6
The-Terryer
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
This is due to an overload in Steam's servers. They purchase the Licensing key from the developer, then place it into your account. Unfortunately, with the high number of people purchasing games, it overloads the servers, and they lock up.
The-Terryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:55 PM   #7
cpuinfo
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
this happened to me buying starbound. i cancelled it, restarted steam, and the game was in my library.
cpuinfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.