Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Flat Out series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 12:55 PM   #1
SquallLeonE
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 21
Crashes on startup

Can't find anything about this. Bought Flatout UC today for $2, and the game crashes during the first loading screen, before I even get to the main menu. GFWL(Games for Windows Live) works ingame and I'm able to access it and whatnot up until it crashes, so I doubt it's related to the crash. No error messages come up. Here are my system specs:

Windows XP SP3
Radeon HD 4350
2GB Ram
AMD Sempron 1.8GHz
SquallLeonE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:51 PM   #2
SquallLeonE
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 21
Fixed, kind of.

For some reason, it will not let me play the game when signed in as administrator. But if I log off of Windows XP and sign in as a guest, it will let me play the game. This is also the exact same case with three other games I own: Defense Grid, Stalker:SoC, and Shatter(which I also just bought). When I launched Flatout and Shatter, it told me that I needed to be signed in as administrator to get it to work or something, but they both launched fine.

This is a hassle, and it seems that I'm the only person on the internet who has this problem. If anyone knows a solution to this, please let me know!!

Also, Flatout runs at about 20~ FPS without adjusting ingame settings, which is fine for me.
SquallLeonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:07 AM   #3
dfbongwater
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
this is happening for me as well. i dont even get the launcher options it just crashes to desktop
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:25 AM   #4
Zefar
 
Zefar's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 4310
Posts: 28,121
C:\Steam\steamapps\common\flatout ultimate carnage\support

Head to that folder and manually install that Xliveredist thing. That made it work for me. If you have Windows live installed already I'm not sure what to do.

__________________
Information on VAC and our Steam forum rules. Please follow the rules, it ain't hard.
Zefar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:39 AM   #5
dfbongwater
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zefar View Post
C:\Steam\steamapps\common\flatout ultimate carnage\support

Head to that folder and manually install that Xliveredist thing. That made it work for me. If you have Windows live installed already I'm not sure what to do.
This appears to have solved the issue.. good work .
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 09:14 AM   #6
finchy86
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zefar View Post
C:\Steam\steamapps\common\flatout ultimate carnage\support

Head to that folder and manually install that Xliveredist thing. That made it work for me. If you have Windows live installed already I'm not sure what to do.
worked for me too, thanks!
finchy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Flat Out series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.