Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2010, 05:36 AM   #1
Kanden95
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 310
Posts: 1,870
Grand Theft Auto San Andreas Full HD

Hi. I bought the Steam Version of this game today and my question is how I can start this game in 1920x1080. I can´t get it to work. And the colors and so on are really weird in the game too.
Kanden95 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 07:11 AM   #2
PC_H00LIGAN
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 16
when i try to up the resolution from 800x600 it automatically resets it back to 800x600.
PC_H00LIGAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 07:46 AM   #3
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by PC_H00LIGAN View Post
when i try to up the resolution from 800x600 it automatically resets it back to 800x600.
it took me a few minutes to figure it out but you have to select the res you want to use and then hit enter.

it sucks that the highest it will go to is 1680x1050 but tbh it doesnt bother me too bad. I can deal with the tiny black bars on the sides just fine plus the game is so ugly and outdated looking that 1920x1080 isnt going to look any better.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:09 AM   #4
Kanden95
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 310
Posts: 1,870
Okay and why does my game look like this?

http://s10.directupload.net/file/d/2...au3y6t_png.htm
Kanden95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:35 AM   #5
anye123
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1298
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanden95 View Post
Okay and why does my game look like this?

http://s10.directupload.net/file/d/2...au3y6t_png.htm
Look like what? Looks pretty normal to me. If you mean the colours on the textures, that's because you're playing at a high resolution - they'd look a lot better at a smaller res.
anye123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:50 AM   #6
Kanden95
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 310
Posts: 1,870
Really?
Kanden95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 10:40 AM   #7
Samba Pa Ti
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Reputation: 84
Posts: 2,396
yeah the games ancient and was designed to be played on xbox1 and ps2, upscaled textures are gonna look like crap at full hd res.
Samba Pa Ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 12:29 PM   #8
THU31
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 26
Do you have any idea what you're saying?

I have the retail version and it looks nothing like that, it looks great (sharpness, colors) even in Full HD.


That screenshot looks like the game is running in 16-bit mode or something. Are you sure you chose a resolution with 32-bit colors? It should say 1680x1050x32 or something.
THU31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 02:17 PM   #9
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by THU31 View Post
Do you have any idea what you're saying?

I have the retail version and it looks nothing like that, it looks great (sharpness, colors) even in Full HD.


That screenshot looks like the game is running in 16-bit mode or something. Are you sure you chose a resolution with 32-bit colors? It should say 1680x1050x32 or something.
I agree that it does look like 16bit there but it most certainly does not look great even in 32bit. the game looks like absolute garbage compared to other games released in 2005. and how are you running full HD since the games max res is 1680x1050?
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 02:31 PM   #10
THU31
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 26
Patch 1.01 and version 2.0 support HD resolutions.


It depends on what you mean by great. I've spent 3.5 years constantly playing this game, and not once did I complain about the graphics. Sure they were outdated, but it never mattered. The map was awesome, and everyting was sharp with beautiful colors, no unnecessary filters like in most newer games (blur, dof, bloom and God knows what else).
THU31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 02:50 PM   #11
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by THU31 View Post
Patch 1.01 and version 2.0 support HD resolutions.


It depends on what you mean by great. I've spent 3.5 years constantly playing this game, and not once did I complain about the graphics. Sure they were outdated, but it never mattered. The map was awesome, and everyting was sharp with beautiful colors, no unnecessary filters like in most newer games (blur, dof, bloom and God knows what else).
well the Steam version is 3.00 and there is no option to go above 1680x1050 so please explain how you can. if you think this game is sharp and has beautiful colors I would hate to see what you consider bad looking.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 03:01 PM   #12
THU31
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 26
I said I had the retail version.

Bad looking? GTA IV console versions (or PC version with definition off). And even with definition on, bloom makes the game look washed out, colors simply suck. Everything else rocks though.

You can say a lot about San Andreas, but you can't say it's not colorful. Just look at the screens at Steam store. Realistic graphics can't be that colorful, because it's not how the world looks (a pity).

And I didn't mean the textures are sharp, but the overall picture is, and that's what I like.
THU31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 03:05 PM   #13
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
I wonder why the retail version would have 1920x1080 support but not the Steam version?
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 03:21 PM   #14
haroof
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 17
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
I wonder why the retail version would have 1920x1080 support but not the Steam version?
I'd like to know the same thing.

That makes no sense to me considering the Steam version is 3.0, a seemingly newer version than the one that supported 1080p reso.
haroof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 03:30 PM   #15
THU31
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 26
Patch 1.01 notes:

- Added support for 720p and 1080i HDTV resolutions (may also do 1080p, not sure).

I can make a menu screenshot if you like. GTA III and VC also support Full HD resolutions, so I'm curious why there are problems with SA.


I also remember when I downloaded the Snow Andreas mod I could only set 1680x1050. It used the v1.00 executable.
THU31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.