Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2010, 01:11 PM   #1
Noah2315
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 24
Posts: 229
San Andreas Multiplayer STEAM installation instructions

Hi guys. SA-MP is a mod for San Andreas that allows multiplayer. The version out now does NOT support Steam.
That can be worked around. Just follow these steps.

1. Go to http://www.sa-mp.com/download.php and download the client.
2. Go to http://www.freeinfosociety.com/site.php?postnum=867 to download a 1.0 SA EXE.
3. Open up the file from step 2 and get out the EXE and put it in C:/Program Files/Valve/Steam/Steamapps/Common/GrandtheftautoSanAndreas (Make sure you rename the EXE that originally came with steam before putting this one in there. I name the steam one GTA-SA(steam) just so I don't get them mixed up).
4. Run the client you got from SA-MP.com
It will ask you where to install... Install to C:/Program Files/Valve/Steam/Steamapps/Common/GrandtheftautoSanAndreas
5. MAKE SURE THE EXE THAT CAME WITH STEAM IS RENAMED SOMETHING ELSE AND THE ONE YOU DOWNLOADED IS GTA-SA. Also do not run it through steam.
6. Now open up 'samp' in your San Andreas files and it will ask you where you installed it (see # 3) Create a username and when you try and join a server it will ask for password. Dont mind that, just hit connect and boom. Profit.
7. YOU CANNOT PLAY THE REGULAR SAN ANDREAS THROUGH STEAM WITH THE EXE YOU DOWNLOADED. YOU MUST RENAME THE EXE YOU DOWNLOADED TO SOMETHING LIKE GTA-SA (mp) AND THEN RENAME THE EXE YOU GOT FROM STEAM BACK TO GTA-SA.
8. Have fun
(Note: Once you get in game and at the menu and stuff in GTA, you must press RETURN, default key, ENTER to select a button, not click).

IF ALL ELSE FAILS WHEN YOU TRY TO INSTALL AND IT WONT LET YOU, THE BUTTON STAYS GREY AND YOU'VE DONE EVERYTHING RIGHT, RUN THE CLIENT AS ADMINISTRATOR.

There ya go.
Post feedback and/or questions below.
Thank you.
-Noah

Last edited by Noah2315: 07-03-2010 at 08:11 PM.
Noah2315 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 01:25 PM   #2
Dragunovhun
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 413
Posts: 1,515
Why don't you just name the 1.0 exe something else so you don't have to swap them around? (iirc you don't even have to do that since one has an underscore while the other has a dash)
Dragunovhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 01:41 PM   #3
Noah2315
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 24
Posts: 229
Yea I guess that works. But the samp file thingy might try and run the steam exe instead of the 1.0
Noah2315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 01:59 PM   #4
Dragunovhun
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 413
Posts: 1,515
It asks you where your exe is, if you point it towards the correct one then surely it'll just stick with that?
Dragunovhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 02:15 PM   #5
Noah2315
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 24
Posts: 229
Probably.
But I just do it the way I do it to avoid any possible conflicts and it works just fine.

Last edited by Noah2315: 07-03-2010 at 04:09 PM.
Noah2315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:24 PM   #6
Cooldog344
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 61
Thanks dude, I bought the game yesterday just for the online RP .. This really helped me out.

+1 Rep
Cooldog344 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 01:09 PM   #7
Noah2315
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 24
Posts: 229
Np.
Make sure you guys also hit the internet tab in the samp application. I forget that all the time.
Just a reminder...
Noah2315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 01:38 PM   #8
g0bbybobby
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
thank god! I also bought this just for MP as I heard it was amazing, thought it came with the game! Then found out mode not steam version supported like NOOOOOOO! will try this later, want to play JC2 first.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 01:47 PM   #9
daemn
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 86
Posts: 124
9. Add a shortcut to SAMP so you still get Steam Overlay.
10. Get graphics/texture/effects/view distance/weather improvements.
daemn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 04:07 PM   #10
Noah2315
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 24
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by daemn View Post
9. Add a shortcut to SAMP so you still get Steam Overlay.
10. Get graphics/texture/effects/view distance/weather improvements.
Yep very useful. But optional. I had a effect mod and all it did was crash me all the time >:-(
Noah2315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 02:45 AM   #11
g0bbybobby
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Does not work. Run the installer as admin and naviagate the install location to GTASA in my steamaapps folder and its grayed out, can't install. Running Windows Vista my steam folder is slighly different, no Valve? It never added Valve folder. C:/Program Files/Steam/Steamapps/Common/GrandtheftautoSanAndreas
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 05:52 AM   #12
RedDragon513
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0bbybobby View Post
Does not work. Run the installer as admin and naviagate the install location to GTASA in my steamaapps folder and its grayed out, can't install. Running Windows Vista my steam folder is slighly different, no Valve? It never added Valve folder. C:/Program Files/Steam/Steamapps/Common/GrandtheftautoSanAndreas
The SAMP Installer checks if the "gta_sa.exe" ("_" not "-") exists.
RedDragon513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 06:21 AM   #13
Creamer^
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 43
Posts: 480
This works, great guide! Awesome.
Creamer^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 08:47 PM   #14
sooshi
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
When I join a server, GTA loads then crashes.....
sooshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 03:09 PM   #15
Replicators
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 33
Posts: 214
Multi Theft Auto is better IMO!
Replicators is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.