Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
ltcarroll
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Video lag?

Heres my specs
Operating System:
Windows 7 64bit
CPU Type:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
CPU Speed (GHz):
2.683
System Memory (GB):
5.991
Video Card Model:
NVIDIA GeForce9800 GT
Video Card Driver:
nvd3dum.dll
Desktop Resolution:
1600x900
Hard Disk Size (GB):
931.511
Hard Disk Free Space (GB):
471.784
Ram:
6gb tri-channel
________________________________________________
I have played many games on there highest setting even cryis with no LAG...but i am forced to run this game on LOW and i still get lag when ever a group of things attack me or if to much happens at much....any ideas?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 03:45 PM   #2
_jema987
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 66
Posts: 398
Yes, while I think you should be able to do a little better than the lowest settings consider that a 8800GT (same as your 9800GT) is the minimum requirement card for this game. And this is one power hungry game.
That said make sure you are running the game in DX9 mode. I had a 8800GT until a few months ago and while it could run games in DX10 on paper I found that enabling it just killed performance.
_jema987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 05:09 PM   #3
General Jameson
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 706
Posts: 2,031
What version of the Nvidia display driver do you have installed? The most current is 257.21 and can be obtained here. http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

I was able to play at medium settings when I had my 9800GT at 1680x1050. Do not expect to get 60+fps, but it would be very playable. I am on Phenom II X4 965, 8gb DDR3 1333mhz

Also _jema987 9800gt=55nm and tri SLI on some, 8800GT=65nm only 2-way SLI, may not of been the case when first released because of rebranding but, seems that all new 9800GT's are of the 55nm production, SLI capabalities still vary by card manufacturer.
General Jameson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 02:16 AM   #4
ltcarroll
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
ya i run it on DX9 but still choppy and i just updated my driver but still i cant play it without the lag...i reinstalled but still problem....i was really looking forward to this game but now..its just a pain. anyone have a idea that might fix it?

Last edited by ltcarroll: 07-10-2010 at 02:23 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 04:30 AM   #5
JKflipflop
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 66
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltcarroll View Post
ya i run it on DX9 but still choppy and i just updated my driver but still i cant play it without the lag...i reinstalled but still problem....i was really looking forward to this game but now..its just a pain. anyone have a idea that might fix it?
it's just a very demanding game. Like the man said before, your hadware is at the minimum end of the spectrum to just make the game function.

I've got 2 GTX470's in SLi and I get around 40 FPS average @ 1080p. Very demanding game.
JKflipflop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 12:01 PM   #6
ltcarroll
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
So?

so what should i do...should i just upgrade my g-card? or is my system just out of date?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 12:28 PM   #7
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKflipflop View Post
it's just a very demanding game. Like the man said before, your hadware is at the minimum end of the spectrum to just make the game function.

I've got 2 GTX470's in SLi and I get around 40 FPS average @ 1080p. Very demanding game.
yeah but your probably have very high DX11, tessellation, advanced dof and/or maybe even 4x AA on. I can run it just fine on at 1920x1080 on DX10 high and AAA with just a single gtx260. the framerate is pretty low but it doesnt really feel laggy much like Crysis is fine around 30-40fps.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 12:43 PM   #8
_jema987
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 66
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltcarroll View Post
so what should i do...should i just upgrade my g-card? or is my system just out of date?
The rest of the system is fine IMO but a more powerful gfxcard would do you good. I'm very happy with my 5850 but if you want to stick with nVidia the new 460 seems like a good card. For a dedicated gaming system I'd be hesitant to get anything less powerful than either of those cards.

Edit: Confusion on model numbers, as trek554 pointed out, I meant the GTX 460.

Last edited by _jema987: 07-10-2010 at 01:43 PM. Reason: The error of my ways.
_jema987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 12:56 PM   #9
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltcarroll View Post
so what should i do...should i just upgrade my g-card? or is my system just out of date?
I hope you are not really that clueless about your current hardware. your system is VERY high end except for your graphics card. your cpu can handle any graphics card upgrade that you desire. I would certainly overclock your cpu if you go with a very high end gpu just to make sure you get the most out of all your games.

do NOT get a gtx465 because they have all the power consumption and heat of the gtx470 while performing worse. the cheaper gtx460 cards are now showing up at retailers and will be available on July 12. many of them are already factory overclocked by 15-20% and even stock gtx460 1gb will easily match or beat a gtx465. the gtx460 will use much less power too since its a new chip and not just a huge gf100 with parts disabled. I would stay away from the 192bit 768mb gtx460 though as thats just not enough memory bandwidth for a card like that and is not worth the savings over the 1gb model.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:42 PM   #10
Kyzar58
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Trek is right.

Your graphics card is definitely crippling the rest of your system. If you put high-end card in there I would probably come to your house and steal your computer out of jealousy...

lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 01:34 PM   #11
Gavman666
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 27
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltcarroll View Post
Heres my specs
Operating System:
Windows 7 64bit
CPU Type:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
CPU Speed (GHz):
2.683
System Memory (GB):
5.991
Video Card Model:
NVIDIA GeForce9800 GT
Video Card Driver:
nvd3dum.dll
Desktop Resolution:
1600x900
Hard Disk Size (GB):
931.511
Hard Disk Free Space (GB):
471.784
Ram:
6gb tri-channel
________________________________________________
I have played many games on there highest setting even cryis with no LAG...but i am forced to run this game on LOW and i still get lag when ever a group of things attack me or if to much happens at much....any ideas?
Upgrade the graphics.
I have a 920 and 6gb ram, and my upgraded graphics works fine. I have 2 GTX465s in SLI and can run it at roughly 50-55fps at 1680x1050.
I also overclocked my 920 to 4ghz though.
But right now i would recommend a gtx460, low price and would give you a noticable boost.
Gavman666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.