Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Chaser

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2010, 04:39 PM   #1
yincision
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 1
Posts: 26
Question Steam version patched?

Is the Steam version patched? This was asked in another thread but not answered.

Thanks.
yincision is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 06:07 PM   #2
MADDOGGE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 11740
Posts: 26,212
The title screen say version 1.50
MADDOGGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 06:15 PM   #3
jnfenrir
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 169
Just bought it and can confirm that it is in fact version 1.50, as stated on the title screen.
jnfenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 06:53 PM   #4
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 707
Posts: 3,475
Does it come with the Dedicated Server tools and Worldstudio in steam, or do we have to install/download them separately?
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 08:24 PM   #5
Damien_Azreal
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 34
Posts: 243
What about widescreen support?
Damien_Azreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 09:02 PM   #6
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 707
Posts: 3,475
Game had it to begin with I believe. If it doesn't detect it, you can force it in the config file in the game's save directory.
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 11:22 PM   #7
jnfenrir
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saijin_Naib View Post
Does it come with the Dedicated Server tools and Worldstudio in steam, or do we have to install/download them separately?
Neither are included.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien_Azreal View Post
What about widescreen support?
Running at 1920x1080 here, no problems.

Last edited by jnfenrir: 07-16-2010 at 11:59 PM.
jnfenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 11:39 PM   #8
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 707
Posts: 3,475
Frig. Well, I know the dedicated server files are stand-alone so that won't be an issue.

Can you/have you tried WorldStudio 2000 with the Steam Version of Chaser? If it works, I'll probably get the Steam copy.
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:16 AM   #9
jnfenrir
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saijin_Naib View Post
Frig. Well, I know the dedicated server files are stand-alone so that won't be an issue.

Can you/have you tried WorldStudio 2000 with the Steam Version of Chaser? If it works, I'll probably get the Steam copy.
I just installed WorldStudio 2000 and it seems to work. It automatically found the game textures when I opened the Texture window anyway, and when I uninstalled it, I noticed it was removing some files from the steamapps directory. I have absolutely no prior experience with the game or this editor, so I can't say for sure if it works 100%, but it looks like a go as far as I can tell.

On a side note, it seems like a nice editor. Reminds me a lot of Worldcraft/Hammer, which works with the Steam version of Half-Life 1.
jnfenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:37 AM   #10
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 707
Posts: 3,475
It is incredibly easy to use (or at least I think so), when compared to something like Quark. I'm working on a level (have been) that I put off but may pick up again.

Alright, looks like I'm adding Chaser to my Steam account

Can you check Multiplayer and see if you see any servers on Internet (not LAN)?

Last edited by Saijin_Naib: 07-17-2010 at 12:48 AM.
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 01:43 AM   #11
jnfenrir
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 169
Yep, I'm seeing about half a dozen servers up at the moment (I'm in Arizona, USA), but the lowest ping from here is 180. Still, it's pretty cool to see some public activity for this game this long after the fact!

By the way, would you mind posting here to let everyone know if WorldStudio works 100% with the Steam version when you try it out?

Last edited by jnfenrir: 07-17-2010 at 01:47 AM.
jnfenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 02:49 AM   #12
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 707
Posts: 3,475
Please do. If it does, I'll set about working on my map again.
Would anyone be interested in play-testing it?

Unfortunately, Chaser does not have provisions for auto-downloading content from a game server, so the file has to be statically posted somewhere and the client must always get the version of the file to match the server's on their own. Obnoxious :| But hey, small limitation.
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 07:10 AM   #13
Damien_Azreal
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 34
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saijin_Naib View Post
Game had it to begin with I believe. If it doesn't detect it, you can force it in the config file in the game's save directory.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnfenrir View Post

Running at 1920x1080 here, no problems.
Awesome.
Damien_Azreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Chaser


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.