Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2010, 03:48 PM   #31
FaintDeftone
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 26
Yeah, it crashes on me too when I get to the mission briefing screen.
FaintDeftone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 03:48 PM   #32
Stainedarmour
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
We all do it looks like
Stainedarmour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 03:48 PM   #33
Iamerror37
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 47
Posts: 561
Same here, only mine happens during loading :/
Iamerror37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 03:55 PM   #34
Iamerror37
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 47
Posts: 561
bump, I won't let this die!
Iamerror37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:02 PM   #35
juicyjames
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 77
Posts: 814
Crashes to desktop for me, too. Turning the graphics all the way up and down, turning on multicore on and off, and verifying game cache files all did not help.
juicyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:02 PM   #36
SirckHolmes
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 81
Posts: 593
All right, well, as far as I can tell, mine was due to an incomplete game file that couldn't be rectified by verifying the cache.

So, I'm joining in the stampede of downloads to see if maybe my game was missing something before.

I uninstalled the game and am in the process of reinstalling it. When it's done, I'll let you know if it worked if a fix hasn't been found before that.
SirckHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:02 PM   #37
E-104 Epsilon
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 39
Posts: 629
Update: Updated my drivers and toyed around with all the settings and tried every combination I could make. Double checking through my specs, at first glance I thought I did not meet the graphics card requirement but I when I tried updating my drivers it crashed when I tried installing the X600 drivers, and found out the appropriate drivers I should be using are the X1050, which means my card meets requirements.

Now that my drivers are in proper order, I still get the same problem, and can't play.

Complete Specs:

Operating System
- MS Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit
CPU
- Intel Pentium D 940
Presler 65nm Technology
RAM
- 3.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 265MHz (4-4-4-12)
Motherboard
- Dell Inc. 0HJ054 (Microprocessor)
Graphics
- DELL 1907FP @ 1280x1024
- 128MB ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series (ATI)
- ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series Secondary (ATI)
Hard Drives
- 244GB Western Digital WDC WD2500JS-75NCB3 ATA Device (IDE) 40 °C
Optical Drives
- HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B ATA Device
- TSSTcorp DVD-ROM TS-H352C ATA Device
Audio
- High Definition Audio Device
E-104 Epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:06 PM   #38
SirckHolmes
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 81
Posts: 593
Have you guys checked your Alien Swarm GCFs? When I did, it said that there was "No cache found" or some such thing right on the folder. If you guys have the same problem, then I think I have a solution.
SirckHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:10 PM   #39
Iamerror37
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 47
Posts: 561
I just got an update to Alien Swarm and Offline Practice works now. Going to test co-op.
Iamerror37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:11 PM   #40
E-104 Epsilon
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 39
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirckHolmes View Post
Have you guys checked your Alien Swarm GCFs? When I did, it said that there was "No cache found" or some such thing right on the folder. If you guys have the same problem, then I think I have a solution.
Alien Swarm uses NCFs, not GCFs. I have accessed them and browsed the files and all the files are there, the game just hangs on loading then crashes to desktop with no error messages. Validating game files did not help either.
E-104 Epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:12 PM   #41
SirckHolmes
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 81
Posts: 593
Oh. Okay then. That might explain why I didn't have any.
SirckHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:13 PM   #42
GameHog9
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 205
Same here, game freezes at the loadout screen in offline mode, crashes when i change the video settings in online mode.

Running on a Laptop with an:

AMD Athlon X64 2.3GHz
4GBs DDR2
Mobility Radeon (HD 4200 I think)
GameHog9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:14 PM   #43
E-104 Epsilon
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 39
Posts: 629
I'm going to try testing a few things, if I get any different results I'll post them.
E-104 Epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:23 PM   #44
bmac51111
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 77
man 4 of my friends are able to play bs h8 i spent 1hr downloading then cant even play bc crashes when i try and join a server loads like everyone says then goes to desktop hope vavle fixes the problem soon
bmac51111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 04:25 PM   #45
Jeans44
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 56
Posts: 681
Hey with those modding tools the game comes with maybe someone can release a mod that makes the game actually work.
Jeans44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.