Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2010, 05:58 PM   #31
dicul
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 218
Would you mind posting your specs?

I'll give that a try, since I actually haven't restarted my computer.

edit: Didn't work.

Last edited by dicul: 07-19-2010 at 06:10 PM.
dicul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:23 PM   #32
ajundra
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
You know, people do sleep from time to time.

I think this is the slowest download I've ever seen on steam. 40kb on a 25mb connection is ridiculous. But it's still in the range I had expected.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:26 PM   #33
silenthunter343
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Maybe they are taking a brake or maybe they are hideing. Who knows!! All i know is this sucks and i waited all day to play this.
silenthunter343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:28 PM   #34
dicul
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 218
Yeah, I just figured it's a Source game... surely it'll still be able to run on this old dog.

Alas, there's a high probability that our rigs are too crappy to play the game.
It was only a matter of time before Source got to this point, really.
dicul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:41 PM   #35
ajundra
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
download finished!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:44 PM   #36
dicul
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 218
How wonderful to know.
Learning the status of your download has solved all of our issues.
dicul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:45 PM   #37
Goofus Maximus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 2
Posts: 414
If it's true about AthlonXPs being under the minimum requirement, they need to give us a more informative error message than (null)!

I figured I was in minimum hardware range, since my AthlonXP 3000+ (overclocked) was in the same speed category as a P4 @ 3ghz... I think they needed a more detailed requirements listing!
Goofus Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:49 PM   #38
silenthunter343
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Hmmmmm i might have something Alien Swarm SDK was not installed.
silenthunter343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:51 PM   #39
Poor Yurik
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 21
Posts: 82
Whenever I game doesn't run on my rig, it is pretty much always because my CPU (Athlon XP 2600) lacks SSE2 instructions. I'm guessing that is the case with Alien Swarm, even though every other Source Engine game runs great on my computer (ATI Radeon 3850HD helps a lot)
Poor Yurik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:54 PM   #40
dicul
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthunter343 View Post
Hmmmmm i might have something Alien Swarm SDK was not installed.
I tried that and it didn't do anything but take up space.

Doesn't even start or give an error message or anything.
dicul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:58 PM   #41
Loonafication
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry folks, still downloading...

It might be a while before I can test any of the suggestions here.

I'll keep you guys posted.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:12 PM   #42
mu11etboyz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 192
Posts: 3,015
Same problem here.
mu11etboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:33 PM   #43
ajundra
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok folks, this might not solve your problem but it may help find the cause. The game runs fine on my Intel i7 but not on my old Athlon. I have Windows 7 on both machines.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:33 PM   #44
Nismu
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 770
ahh i really hope i dont have to danger my account(by asking someone else to get that achievment on my account ) to get the hat just because i have wrong processor on my computer -_- or be without it.
Nismu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:33 PM   #45
momomyster
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
DEVS HELP!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.