Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Modern Warfare

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 02:46 PM   #1
RockPaperNinja
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 301
Call of Duty 4: key code not valid?

I bought COD4: Modern Warfare when it first came out, and played it quite a bit. I reinstalled it on my newer computer today, but when I try to connect online to a server it says "Key code is not valid" When I go into the multiplayer options, the CD key space is empty and I have no code to input.. so where do I get the CD key?

Also, when I open COD4 via the desktop shortcut, it doesnt open but the small opening window flashes every few seconds. Shutting down the process was the only way to stop it.
RockPaperNinja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:49 PM   #2
TruSkill
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 129
Usually steam has a option when you right click on the game in the games library that says "View Game CD Key". See if you find it there.
TruSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:50 PM   #3
RockPaperNinja
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 301
Nope, definately not there.

I also already tried veryfing the integrity cache or whatever.
RockPaperNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:52 PM   #4
TruSkill
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 129
It is a steam copy right, not a retail one?
TruSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:55 PM   #5
RockPaperNinja
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 301
Yes, its a steam copy
RockPaperNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:57 PM   #6
Michaeloohra
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 295
Posts: 1,872
if it's a steam copy, launch for the Steam interface Program. After that the desktop link should work. If not Copy the Key (also found in the Steam Program interface), and enter in while in game (after being launched from the desktop).


I dunno why but Steam made it so that when you launch from their program it works, but the shortcut (A.K.A Desktop Icon) Does not pre-populate the In-game Key... Weird I know...
Michaeloohra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:57 PM   #7
TruSkill
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 129
Well it it's a steam copy you could always give steam support a ring, they should have your CD key on record.
TruSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:08 PM   #8
RockPaperNinja
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 301
Where is this "steam interface program"?
RockPaperNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:23 PM   #9
Michaeloohra
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 295
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockPaperNinja View Post
Where is this "steam interface program"?
when you hit the steam icon your desktop the program that comes up lol. Sorry, when I say "Launch Steam" people tend to ask "why?". As they are trying to play CoD:MW1, 'a non-steam game, sold on steam' lol So Im sorry for the misunderstanding.

anyway launch Steam (the Steam program that lets you see friends, games, store, etc.

Then launch MW1 MULTIPLAYER (it will prompt you to choose SP or MP)

Then after you play a round or 2, if the game still doesn't work You'll have to enter the key yourself. It's found in the Steam program. Click on MW1 in your library, then over to the far right middle of the screen you'll see something about a key. It is in there

Hope I helped not hendered. Sorry I'll say launch Steam for now on, but still I get "WTF messages" lol.
Michaeloohra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:25 PM   #10
Michaeloohra
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 295
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockPaperNinja View Post
Where is this "steam interface program"?

hey thanks for the Rep BTW I Rep'ed back
Michaeloohra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:28 PM   #11
RockPaperNinja
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 301
alright thanks ill look
RockPaperNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:31 PM   #12
NaOHSpree
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 715
Posts: 3,890
Start > Search for regedit if you're in Vista/7

Start > Run... > regedit if you're in XP

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > ACTIVISION > CALL OF DUTY 4

Look for the "codkey", it should show your key there.

Once i formatted my PC and had to do the Level 55 "hack" since i didn't want to start all over again and i accidentally did not copied my old key back, i just went to regedit, deleted the key you need to use for the "hack" and next time i opened the game, it automatically put my old key, so Steam probably has it in record as TruSkill said.
NaOHSpree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:32 PM   #13
Michaeloohra
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 295
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockPaperNinja View Post
alright thanks ill look
No problem
Michaeloohra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:45 PM   #14
RockPaperNinja
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by NaOHSpree View Post
Start > Search for regedit if you're in Vista/7

Start > Run... > regedit if you're in XP

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > ACTIVISION > CALL OF DUTY 4

Look for the "codkey", it should show your key there.

Once i formatted my PC and had to do the Level 55 "hack" since i didn't want to start all over again and i accidentally did not copied my old key back, i just went to regedit, deleted the key you need to use for the "hack" and next time i opened the game, it automatically put my old key, so Steam probably has it in record as TruSkill said.

When i use the registry editor there is no call of duty 4 folder under activision, only prototype..
RockPaperNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:50 PM   #15
Brusilov
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 42
Posts: 1,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaeloohra View Post
It's found in the Steam program. Click on MW1 in your library, then over to the far right middle of the screen you'll see something about a key. It is in there
Do you mean the Games Library screen?

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...y_20100727.jpg

I can't see anything about a CD-key.

In-game I get this screen (Options)

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...3-48-09-93.jpg

I can play MP - I bought the game off Steam and have never been asked to input a key. As you can see there is no key entered either.
Brusilov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Modern Warfare


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.